SA The Adelaide Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Croweater

walked onto the mall and there he was mic in hand
Mrs lost it,couldn't believe he was still doing it
We both remember him as kids being down the mall and the bloke hasn't aged a bit

There would be footage somewhere (not online) of our high school band shooting a 'film clip' in the city and we plugged one of our guitars into his amp and his sang 'Hound Dog' by Elvis while one of us played along with him

pretty embarrassing to think that was 16 years ago

View attachment 430437

Too much epicness in this pic

Pablo bwaaaaaaaaaaaa
Men in Black !!

It's missing the guy that does the weather on channel 7. I was like WTF when I first moved over. I was reading the Adelaide board during the trade period and someone on there brought him up and all the talk even on the Adelaide board was WTF.

Tim Noonan - I wish he would let 7 make him the permanent weatherman, I'd start watching the news again just for that!

Heading over for the ashes in the first week of December, any suggestions on come cool things to do? Alcohol and food related is a bonus
There's ridiculous amounts of things to do.

If you want to explore wineries etc I'd recommend McLarenVale. Lobethal beirhaus is a favourite in the hills too. As is Woodside cheese etc. There's so much. Hahndorf is a popular tourist option too.

If beach is your thing then the obvious tourist spot is Glenelg & Jetty Road. My secret spot is the bar area at the HogBreath overlooking JettyRd. I do like the henley beach precinct for lazy sunny arvos though & the henley beach surf lifesavers is a good spot for a bite & brew.

In the city, I like the vibe near Leigh Street/Peel Street. That side/part of town has a heap of fantastic eateries like Bread & Bone, Cos, PeelSt etc & a really great mix of cool bars like The Clever Little Tailor, BankStreetSocial, Maybe Mae, Udaberrie etc.

A few other fav places elsewhere are Baddog bar, 2KW, Harrys Bar, La Buvette, Hains & Co, MotherVine, Belgian Beer Cafe is always fun (expensive though) & if you don't end up at either the casino or the pancake kitchen at 6am at least once then you're doing it wrong :p

In terms of living like a local the the Hyde Park Tavern, Goodwood pub, Feathers Hotel, Earl of Leister, Coopers Alehouse, RobRoy are my go to's.

For other food places (of varying nicness) Andres Cucina, Jamies Italian, Assaggio (in Hyde Park), Jolleys Boathouse, The River Cafe, Nordburger, Burger Theory, Fancy Burger, Seans Kitchen... There's so many. Too many to list.

They usually have some bars/drinking areas set up over the bridge on the casino side. I'd recommend popping into one of those for a brew & soak up the test match atmosphere if you get a chance too.

Hope you have a great time! :thumbsu:

There's ridiculous amounts of things to do.

If you want to explore wineries etc I'd recommend McLarenVale. Lobethal beirhaus is a favourite in the hills too. As is Woodside cheese etc. There's so much. Hahndorf is a popular tourist option too.

If beach is your thing then the obvious tourist spot is Glenelg & Jetty Road. My secret spot is the bar area at the HogBreath overlooking JettyRd. I do like the henley beach precinct for lazy sunny arvos though & the henley beach surf lifesavers is a good spot for a bite & brew.

In the city, I like the vibe near Leigh Street/Peel Street. That side/part of town has a heap of fantastic eateries like Bread & Bone, Cos, PeelSt etc & a really great mix of cool bars like The Clever Little Tailor, BankStreetSocial, Maybe Mae, Udaberrie etc.

A few other fav places elsewhere are Baddog bar, 2KW, Harrys Bar, La Buvette, Hains & Co, MotherVine, Belgian Beer Cafe is always fun (expensive though) & if you don't end up at either the casino or the pancake kitchen at 6am at least once then you're doing it wrong :p

In terms of living like a local the the Hyde Park Tavern, Goodwood pub, Feathers Hotel, Earl of Leister, Coopers Alehouse, RobRoy are my go to's.

For other food places (of varying nicness) Andres Cucina, Jamies Italian, Assaggio (in Hyde Park), Jolleys Boathouse, The River Cafe, Nordburger, Burger Theory, Fancy Burger, Seans Kitchen... There's so many. Too many to list.

They usually have some bars/drinking areas set up over the bridge on the casino side. I'd recommend popping into one of those for a brew & soak up the test match atmosphere if you get a chance too.

Hope you have a great time! :thumbsu:
Cheers mate, greatly appreciated. I'am looking forward to it.

Me too. The Barmy Army are my favourite opposition supporters. Awesome sense of humour. I've had some really brilliant banter on the hill with them in past years.

Just hope we show up & don't drop our bundle like we have been.

Me too. The Barmy Army are my favourite opposition supporters. Awesome sense of humour. I've had some really brilliant banter on the hill with them in past years.

Just hope we show up & don't drop our bundle like we have been.

a few times we have ended up on the hill late in the day with the barmy army, always great fun

Cops do a sting at the Hilbank OTR - where motorists filling up got drug/alcohol tested and cars checked for defects.

OTR cop it for alllowing the sting on their site.

OTR offer $1.13 premium unleaded fuel at Hillbank between 11-3 today.

So I'm guessing otr don't own the land???
You can't do that on private property surely
Yeah good question. If they were waiting until people pulled off the street and into the servo before testing and checking cars, there might be some legality issues there. Sounds very odd if that's the case.

Cops do a sting at the Hilbank OTR - where motorists filling up got drug/alcohol tested and cars checked for defects.

OTR cop it for alllowing the sting on their site.

OTR offer $1.13 premium unleaded fuel at Hillbank between 11-3 today.

i had noticed that driving home few weeks ago but in the caltex across the road from the OTR

So I'm guessing otr don't own the land???
You can't do that on private property surely

Yeah good question. If they were waiting until people pulled off the street and into the servo before testing and checking cars, there might be some legality issues there. Sounds very odd if that's the case.

That's what I thought. The cops were definitely stinging people on the servo forecourt.

Just me or is Marion a shithole compared to TTP

Both are pretty average to be honest.

But at least TTP is getting a much needed upgrade around the Hoyts/Primo entrance.

https://www.westfield.com.au/teatreeplaza/development

Hoyts will (at long last) get a comprehensive upgrade (first one since it went from 6 to 9 screens in 1998 pretty much) - it will go to 12 screens and bring in Hoyts Lux (first in SA to get Lux). They've just made Salisbury all-recliner so it makes sense to make TTP their next upgrade while the precinct is getting upgraded.

The next stage is supposedly the connection of TTP to TT Plus (H&M reportedly committed to setting up shop in this extension), but given Westfield have on numerous occasions abandoned this connection I'll believe it when I see it.

Both are pretty average to be honest.

But at least TTP is getting a much needed upgrade around the Hoyts/Primo entrance.

https://www.westfield.com.au/teatreeplaza/development

Hoyts will (at long last) get a comprehensive upgrade (first one since it went from 6 to 9 screens in 1998 pretty much) - it will go to 12 screens and bring in Hoyts Lux (first in SA to get Lux). They've just made Salisbury all-recliner so it makes sense to make TTP their next upgrade while the precinct is getting upgraded.

The next stage is supposedly the connection of TTP to TT Plus (H&M reportedly committed to setting up shop in this extension), but given Westfield have on numerous occasions abandoned this connection I'll believe it when I see it.
Not sure the point in upgrading the amount of screens in Hoyts considering majority of the movies they air seem to get shown once or twice a day and I doubt that changes any time soon. There's been a few occasions where I've wanted to catch a movie at the expense of waiting to torrent it but they're generally after 8PM when they'll attract more people. Even Darwin is much better in this regard.

I can't even imagine TTP ever joining up the to TT+ they're quite spread apart as it is with the Kmart & Big W entrances and the closest link up they could possibly do is where the trucks unload at Woolies next to the car park. Doesn't seem plausible.

Marion however just seems like an out & out dump that's way too big for its own good but at least they have car parks...

I prefer Ingle Farm and Golden Grove in general as shopping centres and think Greenacres is single-handedly the worst place I've ever walked inside of.

Yeah whoops, but there was a Masters too!

Yep - a handful of episodes in the very beginning. A big wig beauty consultant who tried to get Marilyn boned from the hotel she was working at, then ended up inside for being in a hit and run. So not only was she a fish out of water, the girls loathed her for what she did to Marilyn.

Does Frank still work out on the mall ?

He'll do it forever, even after death they'll wheel him out weekend at bernies style.

I used to work with his brother Danny, whos the lead singer of a u2 cover band. Nice guy.