SA The Adelaide Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Croweater

Went to Gepps X trash n treasure for the first time in about 20 years I reckon
Wow has that changed
Its all veggies and fruit and is tiny

I can remember it being a massive garage sale and taking 3 hrs to walk around only once
WTF happened !?

Is there anything like this anymore?
Central markets is all food, Gepps X...food, brickwork gone, showgrounds....all food, down the port turned to shite.....is there any good markets/trash n treasure type things left?

We then drove to Blackwood markets as it had good reviews online
LOL...utter crapola
took longer to park (5 mins) than it did to walk around and look at a dozen stalls of old ladies selling doilies or cakes or something that was knitted

Surely gumtree hasn't killed off the great massive treasure markets???

Went to Gepps X trash n treasure for the first time in about 20 years I reckon
Wow has that changed
Its all veggies and fruit and is tiny

I can remember it being a massive garage sale and taking 3 hrs to walk around only once
WTF happened !?

Is there anything like this anymore?
Central markets is all food, Gepps X...food, brickwork gone, showgrounds....all food, down the port turned to shite.....is there any good markets/trash n treasure type things left?

We then drove to Blackwood markets as it had good reviews online
LOL...utter crapola
took longer to park (5 mins) than it did to walk around and look at a dozen stalls of old ladies selling doilies or cakes or something that was knitted

Surely gumtree hasn't killed off the great massive treasure markets???

You forgot the Junction Markets, which is now gone and replaced with a servo and Carls Jr restaurant.

Oh gosh the Port markets - you go there once every couple of years because it's exactly the same crap that's being flogged.

I think the days of a good trash and treasure are gone sadly - Gumtree and Cash Converters have killed them off. Why try and find a trailer (or a car with a tow bar and trailer), line up at 5:00am, and pay $20 to spend the morning standing at your stall where you might break even when you can throw it up on Gumtree for free and it's gone in an hour. Or why spend a morning trawling around a market on the off chance something might be there you want to pick up (and being slugged admission into said market too) when you can jump on Gumtree and look for only what you need - and have it in an hour.

You forgot the Junction Markets, which is now gone and replaced with a servo and Carls Jr restaurant.

Oh gosh the Port markets - you go there once every couple of years because it's exactly the same crap that's being flogged.

I think the days of a good trash and treasure are gone sadly - Gumtree and Cash Converters have killed them off. Why try and find a trailer (or a car with a tow bar and trailer), line up at 5:00am, and pay $20 to spend the morning standing at your stall where you might break even when you can throw it up on Gumtree for free and it's gone in an hour. Or why spend a morning trawling around a market on the off chance something might be there you want to pick up (and being slugged admission into said market too) when you can jump on Gumtree and look for only what you need - and have it in an hour.

sellers start to line up Saturday night at Gepps X to get the prime spot

37167538_1721278477989355_1519519593503129600_n.jpg

LOST: Jezabel, Cat, MORPHETT VALE 15/7/18
We live on Elizabeth road in Morphett Vale SA. She’s microchipped and desexed. Been missing for about 36 hours. She’s friendly and is wearing a blue collar. My number is 0407 397 732.

Mates cat , keep an eye out if your in the dirty souff

View attachment 528471

LOST: Jezabel, Cat, MORPHETT VALE 15/7/18
We live on Elizabeth road in Morphett Vale SA. She’s microchipped and desexed. Been missing for about 36 hours. She’s friendly and is wearing a blue collar. My number is 0407 397 732.

Mates cat , keep an eye out if your in the dirty souff
GreyCrow

I had a look up and down but didnt see any flat cats.

Might ask my cat man neighbour.

Elizabeth rd near Applecross ave ( my ollllld street )

Corner house
Big gum tree in yard. Have painted that place twice now.

Did not see anything on my walk but neither did I look out for it. Might have a walk along tomorrow

Corner house
Big gum tree in yard. Have painted that place twice now.

Did not see anything on my walk but neither did I look out for it. Might have a walk along tomorrow

Corner of Elizabeth and Applecross ?
Has to be eastern side surely , although i havent even laid eyes on that street for a good 20+years i cant recall any gum trees on the western corner.

my old place

number 8

Fullscreen capture 16072018 84856 PM.bmp.jpg

****en we moved out in 87 and they STILL have the same outdoor blinds , **** meeee

Corner of Elizabeth and Applecross ?
Has to be eastern side surely , although i havent even laid eyes on that street for a good 20+years i cant recall any gum trees on the western corner.
Yes corner of those.

IMG_20160121_174011.jpg

small world
Adelaide in a nutshell lol

Same fibro fence up the side too no doubt.
Lol we took that down 12-18 months ago .

That sounds terrible!

Sent from mTalk

It was ultimately for the best. The Brickworks was a shell of it's former self in it's last decade. Most of the market was condensed into a shed with the same crap, different week traders. The rest of the complex was all but abandoned. The putt putt survived but was neglected, which made the course a bit more challenging.

Sadly the best thing Woolies did was demolish it for a shopping centre.

The Junction markets was in an even more state of disrepair - they've now been replaced by a Carls Jr and a servo.

It was ultimately for the best. The Brickworks was a shell of it's former self in it's last decade. Most of the market was condensed into a shed with the same crap, different week traders. The rest of the complex was all but abandoned. The putt putt survived but was neglected, which made the course a bit more challenging.

Sadly the best thing Woolies did was demolish it for a shopping centre.

The Junction markets was in an even more state of disrepair - they've now been replaced by a Carls Jr and a servo.
Sadly the Adelaide market scene (for trash and treasure) is almost dead. The Junction, Pooraka, Christies Beach and Brickworks markets were part of my childhood. Couldn't wait to get there to hunt for rare Pokemon Cards.

The only big trash and treasure markets that remain are Gepps Cross and Port Adelaide, and I've heard that the Port Adelaide market's days are numbered.

I guess eBay, Gumtree, Facebook Buy/Swap/Sell has just about killed the market scene. Why get up at 4am to set up a stall to be seen by 100 people when you can post online from the comfort of your own home and be seen by potentially thousands.

Sadly the Adelaide market scene (for trash and treasure) is almost dead. The Junction, Pooraka, Christies Beach and Brickworks markets were part of my childhood. Couldn't wait to get there to hunt for rare Pokemon Cards.

The only big trash and treasure markets that remain are Gepps Cross and Port Adelaide, and I've heard that the Port Adelaide market's days are numbered.

I guess eBay, Gumtree, Facebook Buy/Swap/Sell has just about killed the market scene. Why get up at 4am to set up a stall to be seen by 100 people when you can post online from the comfort of your own home and be seen by potentially thousands.
Marion Sports Oval and Beach Rd Christies Beach are still going. I heard Brighton and Marion swap weekends