Women's Footy The AFLW Thread

Her partner is from WA i believe , as much as it would be a blow , these players mostly have to earn a living apart from footy . She hasn't left yet .
Yeah, I understand that. Just **** Freo, i am so sick of seeing Melbourne players there

Idk who to go for Saturday.

I honestly want the underdog to beat North, break their stream when it matters most. Plus a part of me doesn't want to see Birch win another one. (Disclaimer, i don't hate her)

Then on the other side, Brisbane has quite a few unlikeable players on their team. Add the whole state potentially going off about how powerful they are after winning the AFL, NRL and NRLW premierships already

I'm not saying any success is undeserved. But the power of North Melbourne in the AFLW is a real problem for the competition

Huge problem. Not just that, but it's the same teams in the GF three years running. And how can you take a competition seriously when 1 team is so much better than the 2nd best team?. Lol..I've seen enough. Turning it off. It's predictable and dull

Yeah 2 undefeated seasons is pretty amazing. Brisbane making 7/10 GFs also pretty wild.
It's taken North some years of underachieving to get this good, so kudos to them. Reckon they'll have a couple retirements after this in Kearney, Shierlaw; Birch is due to swap teams again (lol). Probably still be top 2 but maybe fall back a bit to the pack?

I'd say the worry would be more the consistently shit teams (GWS, Pies, GC) who get pumped by 10 goals even by meh teams. They're getting extra picks etc but that won't make up for crap coaching or investment off field.

Huge problem. Not just that, but it's the same teams in the GF three years running. And how can you take a competition seriously when 1 team is so much better than the 2nd best team?. Lol..I've seen enough. Turning it off. It's predictable and dull
I could tolerate the same teams if the contest was more of a spectacle

They are just too powerful where the rest of the competition feels beat down. As an opposition fan i've felt it in 2000, but and i hate the defeatist attitude, but it honestly felt like a pointless season. (That's not to say i didn't love our performances or our solid crack last week. But it was so hard to feel hopeful when you have this weight over the competition the entire time)

Yeah 2 undefeated seasons is pretty amazing. Brisbane making 7/10 GFs also pretty wild.
It's taken North some years of underachieving to get this good, so kudos to them. Reckon they'll have a couple retirements after this in Kearney, Shierlaw; Birch is due to swap teams again (lol). Probably still be top 2 but maybe fall back a bit to the pack?

I'd say the worry would be more the consistently shit teams (GWS, Pies, GC) who get pumped by 10 goals even by meh teams. They're getting extra picks etc but that won't make up for crap coaching or investment off field.
Adelaide you can see the naturally changing of the guard happening, Brisbane probably have been contending for to long.

On the lower side of things i thought Collingwood would improve a little but they've been horrid. I feel sorry for their women's side but don't feel sorry for their club after they got that grant for a training facility for their netball side only to pretty much take the money and shut down their netball team.
As much as i hate their supporter base a Collingwood that is competitive in AFLW could bring some much needed interest and support. Like look at their supporter base and yes i know a bulk won't transition to AFLW footy, but like even a quarter of it is massive. You look at their boards gameday threads and it's a ghost town

GWS and Gold Coast idk. GWS have always seemed to be bad asides from the cancelled covid season where we played them in a final. Gold Coast seemed to be tracking well when they came in but have the Gold Coast issue of attracting talent to stay there especially in a semi pro comp. Now they're taking any battler or experienced player that is willing to go there but the list management seems off

Adelaide you can see the naturally changing of the guard happening, Brisbane probably have been contending for to long.

On the lower side of things i thought Collingwood would improve a little but they've been horrid. I feel sorry for their women's side but don't feel sorry for their club after they got that grant for a training facility for their netball side only to pretty much take the money and shut down their netball team.
As much as i hate their supporter base a Collingwood that is competitive in AFLW could bring some much needed interest and support. Like look at their supporter base and yes i know a bulk won't transition to AFLW footy, but like even a quarter of it is massive. You look at their boards gameday threads and it's a ghost town

GWS and Gold Coast idk. GWS have always seemed to be bad asides from the cancelled covid season where we played them in a final. Gold Coast seemed to be tracking well when they came in but have the Gold Coast issue of attracting talent to stay there especially in a semi pro comp. Now they're taking any battler or experienced player that is willing to go there but the list management seems off
GC's academy seems to be producing some good young players (think they'll get a bunch this draft + Harris from last year). GWS probably stitched up entering initially in a non-footy state and having less talent to choose from, now the Swans seem to be taking the attention in NSW (though they imploded a bit this year when Molloy got hurt).

Teams like WC and PA have shown some good improvement recently from low bases.

I know people like to point to NRLW as an apparently better approach to expansion, but they've had a similar issue with 3 teams sharing the flags over 9 seasons; and they've also been the same minor premiership each year. Very similar bottom 4 last couple of years.

Realistically probably needs another decade to fully equalise a bit with initial strong teams coming down and new talent spreading through the league. No quick fix, although I think a fixture with everyone playing each other would be jice

GC's academy seems to be producing some good young players (think they'll get a bunch this draft + Harris from last year). GWS probably stitched up entering initially in a non-footy state and having less talent to choose from, now the Swans seem to be taking the attention in NSW (though they imploded a bit this year when Molloy got hurt).

Teams like WC and PA have shown some good improvement recently from low bases.

I know people like to point to NRLW as an apparently better approach to expansion, but they've had a similar issue with 3 teams sharing the flags over 9 seasons; and they've also been the same minor premiership each year. Very similar bottom 4 last couple of years.

Realistically probably needs another decade to fully equalise a bit with initial strong teams coming down and new talent spreading through the league. No quick fix, although I think a fixture with everyone playing each other would be jice
Some of the other vic teams i really expected more from though. Richmond and Essendon have guns playing for them and seemed to be trending upward but have become mid sides. Hawthorn probably surprised me. Footscray as a founding club have vanished which I hate to see. Carlton seem to go up and down, then yeah Collingwood are a bitter disappoint to what they could bring to this competition and have been in since season 1... oh right the saints, going to be brutally honest, just a forgettable club in both comps

I just turned the TV on and fair dinkum thought 14 for the lions was Jake Stringer for a second. Moves like him. Also dark haired mid for the lions (21?) moves just like our boy Windsor.

17 for the lions is a beast.

I just turned the TV on and fair dinkum thought 14 for the lions was Jake Stringer for a second. Moves like him. Also dark haired mid for the lions (21?) moves just like our boy Windsor.

17 for the lions is a beast.
Not sure who you're talking about, but Sophie Conway I feel like might be your Windsor comparison

If she is number 5 I think that’s actually her. I was watching with no volume.

Lions spent so much energy trying to be tough , doing some dumb shit . Kangas just too good ( again) . Without the Irish Women there just isn’t enough talent to fill 18 teams yet . The pathways are in place , it will just take more time ( and AFL interference) to get a more even competition.

One could argue there is enough talent, it's just not distributed evenly atm

Possibly the least memorable AFLW season in a long time. Bit worrying for the AFL. It's cricket season. I think until it coincides with the men's game, it's always going to struggle. Nowhere near enough talent across 18 teams either. And most of the talent seemingly in the top few sides and a few stars sprinkled across other teams.

I think it also highlights the talent in Queensland coming through in both men's and women's. AFL have to sort this out. Lions have played in how many GF's now? The men's team have dominated for years now too. Suns have a heap of academy guns in the system and coming through. This talent needs to be spread across the competition. Lions in the men's double dip really. They get father sons and academy kids, plus can poach stars in free agency which they do. The lifestyle up there is attractive for players. Good luck to them, but it makes for an unbalanced sport. I think Qld are producing more guns than WA which is crazy, but the Qld teams are benefiting big time.

Women's Footy The AFLW Thread