Analysis The Awkward Captaincy Problem

• Thread starter Thread starter Sheepey

King is currently 10th in the league for contested marks (1st among rising stars). He is definitely holding his marks, he's just not holding all of them. Doing an amazing job 7 games in to his career.
yeah it was a ridiculous comment, king's first 7 games are right up there with the best first 7 games of any key forward's career. Normally it's just glimpses, but king is contributing on the scoreboard, around the ground, and most importantly in scoring chains. Bruce was a liability if he didn't mark it. All the endeavour in the world but moves like a baby giraffe

Saw a side to Howard on Monday night I didn’t know he had, but I liked it. His passion was good even if he copped the 50. He’s clearly a bloke who sets high standards for himself. Whether that translates to being a good leader, I’m not sure, but it’s certainly one trait that all good leaders have.

Yeah it was really good to see. Port rated him highly enough as a leader to have him skipper early last year. He's one to watch in that space I reckon.

Getting back to the point of this thread for a moment. What happens if Geary wants to go around again next year? Surely we cannot allow that to happen considering he is barely in our best 22 this year? I would rather they offer him an off field role in building culture and professionalism in all the under 22 year old players.

Thoughts?

Getting back to the point of this thread for a moment. What happens if Geary wants to go around again next year? Surely we cannot allow that to happen considering he is barely in our best 22 this year? I would rather they offer him an off field role in building culture and professionalism in all the under 22 year old players.

Thoughts?

Tricky isn't it.
Which ones are actually in the leadership group?
Ross probably the most qualified, but he's having a stinker of a season.
I'd tend to favour Membrey.

Or we can just go Hannebery and then choose an acting captain from the actual playing group each week.

Steele seems like he’s making himself an obvious choice to me but it’s impossible to know without seeing them behind the scenes. He’s been doing a little bit more media and he speaks well. His interview with Whateley on SEN was a good insight into his personality and confidence when speaking these days.

I don’t think it really matters that he’s not in the leadership group. Out of the five man group, Gears will be gone soon and Ross has his own game to worry about. If Billings or Membrey were obvious choices then they’d be logical replacements for Gears but I’m still not convinced by them. Steele is more the type to put the team on his back and set the standard with grit and hard ball footy. He’s also consistent which a skipper must be. Billings and Membrey are both still prone to quiet games or games where they don’t influence that much. Steele is one of our best every week.

St Kilda have announced their leadership group for 2020 with skipper Jarryn Geary set to lead the club for a fourth-straight season.
Seb Ross has been appointed vice-captain, with Tim Membrey, Dylan Roberton, Jack Billings and Bradley Hill rounding out the six-man group

If its one of this group.

Seb, Geary, Roberton. Not an automatic selection.
Hill. Hasn't done enough.

Leaves Billings and Membrey.
I'd choose Membrey.

Geary’s performance tonight against Sydney was the most embarrassing and insipid performance by any St Kilda captain I have ever seen. If we have a clean bill of health this week then Long comes in and Geary dumped. If the selectors don’t drop him it’s a disgrace.

He has been a great warrior and he has got the best out of himself. For this I applauded him but if he continues to play he will make a fool of himself.

Geary is our Vandenberg, limited player but someone who can instill standards and lead people.

When he is no longer first 22 then the list will have evolved to a great standard
He is no longer best 22. If either Hannebery, Dunstan or Ross were not injured tonight and Long not suspended, Geary would not get a look in. Then you also have Bytel and Byrnes that need to be given games as well. If Geary plays next week there should be a royal commission.

I thought Geary was good today and has been good the last weeks. Playing an unglamourous role keeping opponent’s main rebounders under control - and kicked a goal, too... Here’s to Geary being forever known as our second premiership captain !
OMG

People don't realise how tough Geary is.

I saw him run back into a pack with Kosi and Pavlich charging forward in 2010 at Subiaco Oval and took a mark in front of them.

I thought this kid is captaincy material, when Lenny Hayes and Nick Riewoldt talk up how tough Geary is you know he is tough,

Geary would throw himself in front of a train just to win a possession for St Kilda.

People don't realise how tough Geary is.

I saw him run back into a pack with Kosi and Pavlich charging forward in 2010 at Subiaco Oval and took a mark in front of them.

I thought this kid is captaincy material, when Lenny Hayes and Nick Riewoldt talk up how tough Geary is you know he is tough,

Geary would throw himself in front of a train just to win a possession for St Kilda.

Cue the relabelled chuck norris stuff.

He is no longer best 22. If either Hannebery, Dunstan or Ross were not injured tonight and Long not suspended, Geary would not get a look in. Then you also have Bytel and Byrnes that need to be given games as well. If Geary plays next week there should be a royal commission.
No one 'needs' to be given games. They will get a game once they warrant selection.
And neither would be playing the position of Gears so it's a moot point.

Geary’s performance tonight against Sydney was the most embarrassing and insipid performance by any St Kilda captain I have ever seen. If we have a clean bill of health this week then Long comes in and Geary dumped. If the selectors don’t drop him it’s a disgrace.

He has been a great warrior and he has got the best out of himself. For this I applauded him but if he continues to play he will make a fool of himself.

Stop looking at his stats sheet and actually watch him play. He's been very impressive as a defender in our forward line. I wish he was used like this for the last 3 years.

You don't need 25 disposals and 3 goals to have a good game.

Jaryn Geary HELD the backs together/ development for years.
He had to move to the forwards ,to lock down on there best re bounder
(he has great scalps this year)
With Billings going to the wing, and Lonie Not prepared to play the team game , coach uses Jaryn for a pacific roll
He plays his roll well and has heaps of credits in the bank
try supporting your team captain

Jaryn Geary HELD the backs together/ development for years.
He had to move to the forwards ,to lock down on there best re bounder
(he has great scalps this year)
With Billings going to the wing, and Lonie Not prepared to play the team game , coach uses Jaryn for a pacific roll
He plays his roll well and has heaps of credits in the bank
try supporting your team captain
That's the whole point. He shouldn't be captain but because he is we are inventing ways to keep him in the team. I'm not saying he shouldn't be on our list but I am saying he is not best 22 anymore.