The Bar - Beer, Wine & Spirits Discussion Thread

Homestead's Tropical Sour IPA is worth driving to the venue for. As a bonus I spotted Shuey out there with his family and later on Redden with his mob as well. Great location for a few froffs or wines.

Never tried a black IPA. Other than the colour, how is it different to other IPA's?

It depends on how the colour is achieved. The style can vary between being a typical IPA with a hint of roast to a bigger bodied beer more like a stout but with an IPA aroma.

Do you like dark beers?

By the book, there should be little or no difference in taste (cold steep dark huskless grain to get colour and little flavours), but whats the point of that? I really like them, usually a good amount of coffee and/or chocolate notes working with the hops, sometimes a touch of roast but most brewers use carafa 2 or 3 malt which has no husk and bugger all roast. I prefer the BIPAs that have a good amount of resiny hops- such as Chinook, Simcoe or Centennial. I find those that just use fruity hops can get a bit too much like a Jaffa flavour for my tastes. Feral Karma Citra is an example- Im just not that keen on their version with all (I think) Citra hops. Needs some dank to work with the darker malts.
Not sure if you will find it but Bacchus Brewing in Brisbane did the Obama BIPA a few years ago- that was a great beer.

It depends on how the colour is achieved. The style can vary between being a typical IPA with a hint of roast to a bigger bodied beer more like a stout but with an IPA aroma.

Do you like dark beers?
Not the biggest dark beer drinker. Can drink 1-2 drinks and appreciate a good drop but thats it.

I've saw a fb add for Pirate life's black IPA and was keen to have a crack at some since I've never had any.
By the book, there should be little or no difference in taste (cold steep dark huskless grain to get colour and little flavours), but whats the point of that? I really like them, usually a good amount of coffee and/or chocolate notes working with the hops, sometimes a touch of roast but most brewers use carafa 2 or 3 malt which has no husk and bugger all roast. I prefer the BIPAs that have a good amount of resiny hops- such as Chinook, Simcoe or Centennial. I find those that just use fruity hops can get a bit too much like a Jaffa flavour for my tastes. Feral Karma Citra is an example- Im just not that keen on their version with all (I think) Citra hops. Needs some dank to work with the darker malts.
Not sure if you will find it but Bacchus Brewing in Brisbane did the Obama BIPA a few years ago- that was a great beer.
Yeah i do like the flavour of stouts/porters but sometimes i do find it a bit too much. I guess Black IPA's could be a good common ground for me.

Not the biggest dark beer drinker. Can drink 1-2 drinks and appreciate a good drop but thats it.

I've saw a fb add for Pirate life's black IPA and was keen to have a crack at some since I've never had any.

Yeah i do like the flavour of stouts/porters but sometimes i do find it a bit too much. I guess Black IPA's could be a good common ground for me.

See if you can find Innates version. It's well worth a try.

Not sure if it’s been plugged already but I cbf reading 99 pages of posts.

Blasta Brewing in Burswood is great for a pregame feed and drink if you’re going to an event at Optus, they only sell their own beers but I’ve tried a few of them and they’re all pretty decent. They’ve got a lager, a couple of Pale Ale’s and a few IPA’s as well. Located just across from the Burswood Station on the eastern side of the line (i.e. not the casino side)

Very glad that Gage Roads won the stadium contract, since discovering them Single Fin and Atomic have become my poisons of choice.
That deal would have done wonders for them. I've been told by a few folks how they have never had it single fin pre optus and now love single fin.

With Growlers and etc do places usually clean/disinfect them pre filling them up?

Bought one while back and washed it with hot soapy water as soon as i finished but it still has a yeasty smell.

That deal would have done wonders for them. I've been told by a few folks how they have never had it single fin pre optus and now love single fin.
I got Single Fin on tap in Queensland when I went earlier this year, that’s how much it’s done for their business

They also sponsor the renegades in the BBL.

Can't imagine how big they will be here in 5-10 years.

Reckon Single fin could have a huge cult following here (kinda like Furphy in Vic) and Coopers PA in SA.

Not sure if it’s been plugged already but I cbf reading 99 pages of posts.

Blasta Brewing in Burswood is great for a pregame feed and drink if you’re going to an event at Optus, they only sell their own beers but I’ve tried a few of them and they’re all pretty decent. They’ve got a lager, a couple of Pale Ale’s and a few IPA’s as well. Located just across from the Burswood Station on the eastern side of the line (i.e. not the casino side)
Hanging out for Boston Brewery to open up in Vic Park, will make the trip down for that

This is exactly why they 'bought' the stadium contract. And essentially that's the process. They own the rights to sell their beer there, but the cost of those rights basically balances any margins of selling monstrous amounts of beer through the venue.

What it does do is put their beer in 50,000 Perth folks hands each week, the majority of which wouldn't be overly familiar with craft beer. I think they've got a deal on the East coast somewhere too, and they're building an East coast brewery which I assume will produce and distribute that end of Oz to save on transport.

Since buying back the 25% stake Woolies had in Gage, they've barely put a foot wrong. I find their beers towards the entry level, but that's where the volume sales are. Look at Stone and Wood Pacific Ale as a prime example.

This is exactly why they 'bought' the stadium contract. And essentially that's the process. They own the rights to sell their beer there, but the cost of those rights basically balances any margins of selling monstrous amounts of beer through the venue.

What it does do is put their beer in 50,000 Perth folks hands each week, the majority of which wouldn't be overly familiar with craft beer. I think they've got a deal on the East coast somewhere too, and they're building an East coast brewery which I assume will produce and distribute that end of Oz to save on transport.

Since buying back the 25% stake Woolies had in Gage, they've barely put a foot wrong. I find their beers towards the entry level, but that's where the volume sales are. Look at Stone and Wood Pacific Ale as a prime example.
They need a dark beer in their range. But their Single Fin & Atomic are nice, drinkable summer beers if you don't want something fancy