The beer thread

That brewery burnt down during the Black Saturday fires. They have since rebuilt in a different location. Prior to the fire they had an extensive range of beers. The pale ale is very nice.

Yeah it's now in the main st of Yarra Glen, been there a few times as well.
Another really really nice pale ale is from Blackmans brewery in Torquay, they also do a ripping smoked porter stout.

Yeah it's now in the main st of Yarra Glen, been there a few times as well.
Another really really nice pale ale is from Blackmans brewery in Torquay, they also do a ripping smoked porter stout.

That's the shop front. The actual brewery is somewhere else.

I was at Blackmans a couple of weeks ago. Their IPA is awesome.

My port barrel is really hitting its straps now - could do with a bit more body I reckon but nothing like a sneaky port before bed

Like most here, enjoy a Carlton if at the footy and having a session. Of mass beers, Boags used to be my standard, and while it's still ok, not as good as it used to be.

Generally not a fan of anything super-hoppy, but have had a few nice craft beers.

Was down in Tassie last month and visited Last Rites brewery. They make some awesome beers, including a pretty damn nice oyster stout. Apparently occasionally on tap in a couple of spots in Melbourne, worth keeping an eye out for.

Also, it's weird, but I occasionally crave VB in a tinnie, out of an esky/tub full of ice. Usually when its hot and there's a bbq on.

that's because the lower the temperature the less 'flavour' it imparts. A fraction above freezing is the optimum serving temp if you're so inclined.

However, IMO life is too short to drink VB.

that's because the lower the temperature the less 'flavour' it imparts. A fraction above freezing is the optimum serving temp if you're so inclined.

However, IMO life is too short to drink VB.
But sometimes it tastes "good". Sometimes you want a Big Mac rather than "nice" food.

But I respect your opinion as another member of the "I went early picking a username based on Chris Dawes, and it didn't pan out" club! :)

But sometimes it tastes "good". Sometimes you want a Big Mac rather than "nice" food.

But I respect your opinion as another member of the "I went early picking a username bared on Chris Dawes, and it didn't pan out" club! :)

and I respect the fact you haven't changed your username :thumbsu:

Sorry to hijack (but you guys post more than the general beer thread). Have any of you got onto any of the Pirate Life beers? Outstanding drop. 2 of the brewers started their brewing career at craft giant Brew Dog in Scotland. A few of the Dockers players have investments in the brewery. They have an outstanding core range and are rolling out an expansion to that core range as we speak. Try them if you haven't. All are quality.

I like to try new beers, I'll give them a try
Where are they stocked?

Dry retched just reading that
I'm old school, I love a VB after hard days work, cold, fuggen cold.

However, VB is one of the worst tasting beers when warm, vomit inducing.

I work at Hawkers Brewry in Resivour, and you guys have to try it (that's if you haven't) we do a awesome Pale Ale and a IPA that's not harsh

I'm old school, I love a VB after hard days work, cold, fuggen cold.

However, VB is one of the worst tasting beers when warm, vomit inducing.
I have always assumed that since Fosters changed the formula for VB they also clandestinely changed what the VB stood for. Vomit Bombs! I'm not sure but I heard somewhere that they returned to the original recipe at some stage but once bombed, twice shy.

I dislike most Aussie mainstream beers they are all so bland
The only Aussie beers I will ever drink are Coopers (Red or Green) and Crown Lager and then only if there is nothing else available.

On a separate beer, try Peroni with a Pizza, for some reason they just seem to go well together

The beer thread