The Beer Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Upgrayedd

My favourites would be:

James Squire - Golden Ale (great summer beer)
Crackenback
James Boags Premium

But when out, I usually don't go past Carlton off tap, which goes down an absolute delight!

Its a great beer, haven't been able to find anywhere in QLD where its ontap though :confused:

Coca Cola Amatil just bought it off John Singleton so you can almost guarantee its availability will sky rocket in no time at all.

On an unrelated note, Bob Loblaw is my solicitor too. What a waste of a good show.

Poor Man's Melbourne Bitter?

Corona
Boags
Heineken
Kilkenny
Becks
Fiji Bitter
Blonde (how could any self respecting guy admit to drinking that I have no idea)

The Pure Blonde bloats me, but have taken a fair liking to the Tooheys version and also to the Boags Classic Blonde.

When I'm not trying to miinimise the kms I have to run to lose what I've put on drinking:

Carlton Draught on Tap - best tap beer around.
Coopers - both Red and Green. Especially the kick the red has with it's alcohol content.
Boags Premium - All Tassie beers go alright.
Boags Draught - Goes alright when I'm drinking the Father-in-Law's when we all get together on Sunday nights. ;)
Nastro Azzuro - The owner of our local pizza restaurant just brings one to the table for me when we arrive.

Will pretty much have a dip at most beers. Always great to work your way around the world at Dan Murphy's when stuff is on special. :)

The Pure Blonde bloats me, but have taken a fair liking to the Tooheys version and also to the Boags Classic Blonde.

When I'm not trying to miinimise the kms I have to run to lose what I've put on drinking:

Carlton Draught on Tap - best tap beer around.
Coopers - both Red and Green. Especially the kick the red has with it's alcohol content.
Boags Premium - All Tassie beers go alright.
Boags Draught - Goes alright when I'm drinking the Father-in-Law's when we all get together on Sunday nights. ;)
Nastro Azzuro - The owner of our local pizza restaurant just brings one to the table for me when we arrive.

Will pretty much have a dip at most beers. Always great to work your way around the world at Dan Murphy's when stuff is on special. :)

Good list Keef! Although I'm not that fond of Coopers, except EVERYONE ELSE IS..

*calming*

End Scene.

Chain drinker :)
002Havingabeer.gif

When we win -
002CrownLager-1.jpg
When I'm drowning my sorrows -
xxxx1-2.jpg

1. VB. To quote my mate from Texas "Tastes like steel and puts hair on ya chest". Also no one nicks them from the esky.
2. Carlton Draught. On tap at the pub:thumbsu: Also made from beer (which is handy!)
3. Crown Lager. For rare occasions when drinking in a suit!
4. Cascade Premium Light. For driving and when you want to pee enery half hour.
5 & 6. Everything else is cats p1ss

Ps. Fosters is handy for 80's theme parties!:cool:

1. VB. To quote my mate from Texas "Tastes like steel and puts hair on ya chest". Also no one nicks them from the esky.
2. Carlton Draught. On tap at the pub:thumbsu: Also made from beer (which is handy!)

Sol True . . . I will stick to the JD's

Here is my list of favourites... take my advice and try them.

Stella - Not the aussie one, make sure its the import one.
Squires Golden Ale
Mildura Cloudy (Stormy) Ale
Gage Roads Lager
Budvar Lage (Czech)
Grand Ridge Gippsland Gold
Little Creatures Bright Ale
Several of the Weihenstephaner range.

LOL at number 3. It's so true. Aussies seems to have this perception that drinking Crownies is classy, when in reality it's actually a very poor beer. I'm not having a go at you, but people seem to drink it because of that perception, not for the taste. There are much better beers out there for the price.

Yep gotta love JD. I'm a bit partial to Jack & Lemonade though its damn hard to get. BWS, Uncle Dans, Thirsty Camel... No Love

Dan Murphy's definately has it. Not sure which one you're going to.

Not that you need reminding ....................but at this time of the year (between January and December ;))...............................

BEER IS AWESOME.

LOL at number 3. It's so true. Aussies seems to have this perception that drinking Crownies is classy, when in reality it's actually a very poor beer. I'm not having a go at you, but people seem to drink it because of that perception, not for the taste. There are much better beers out there for the price.
Crown is a GOOD beer,also anyone ever drunk O,Briens gluton free beer,I know its made in Melbourne, just curious.

Heineken is my beer of choice, my local serves it on Tap :D ... and i just nfound a bottle-o that imports all its beer, Heineys, Becks, Stella's.. NO MORE AUSTRALIAN BREWED STUFF (nothing against australia, just, aussie beers are not much chop IMO)

Crown is a GOOD beer,also anyone ever drunk O,Briens gluton free beer,I know its made in Melbourne, just curious.

yeah my partner is a coeliac (gluten intolorent) and had a O'Briens the other day..... possibly the best gluten-free product available, still not that good though

Yeah, I bought some for a mate, I think the gist of the comments was "good after not having a beer for 12 months" but not necessarily good compared to normal beer.

Best beer: Little Creatures Pale Ale (although I like all of theirs).

Boags st george is my beer right now, that and bohemian pilsner
gotta go work at a bottleshop in an hour,

Yesterday destroyed a carton of jack daniels stubbies(fell off the pallet while i was pulling it), half a carton of corona(same story), and a can of canadian club(one fell out of the x pack, exploded all up my leg)

Crown is a terrible beer with brilliant marketing. It's sickly sweet and cloying...no self respecting beer fan would go near the stuff. The same goes for Corona's (aka flavoured water) and Tooheys Platinums

Stella - when i have money
Carlton Draught - when i dont (often)

Also often get,
Heineken
asahi
Becks
... hrm not many locals