The Beer Thread.

Bad one, didn't get in, because security disliked my bulletbelt...

So I had quite a lot of tequila sunrises at a friends home...

Whilst listening to Saxon and Stormwarrior? Or something a little more suited to tequila sunrises, whatever that may be for a rock/metal equivalent.
Really liked Rothaus in recent weeks.

5777_0020_Rothaus_0020_Tannenz_00E4_pfle.jpg

Taste very much like you expect a beer to taste. Sound stupid somehow, because it is beer anyway, but somehow it tastes beerer then other beer...

Really liked Rothaus in recent weeks.

Taste very much like you expect a beer to taste. Sound stupid somehow, because it is beer anyway, but somehow it tastes beerer then other beer...

I just quoted it because it sounds funny. :thumbsu:

I'm finding myself drinking a lot of Kilkenny lately, not much of a range on tap at the Irish pub where I go for pregame drinks so started having a few and now it's my go to beer. Less body and flavour than a guiness but more than the standard aussie stuff on tap.

Like Kilkenny, too.

Drinking some Newcastle Brown Ale, it is slightly past it's best before date. Looks just fine in froth and fizz and colour and clarity etc., possibly a little bit bland. Have been told that as long as it's within six months after the best before date it should be fine as long as it is stored properly.

Anybody heard of this beer before?

IMG_6426.jpg

Mikkeller Invasion Farmhouse IPA. Apparently it's a ridiculous $40 for a 750ml bottle over here (what a load of pretentious wank). Not that i'd ever consider burning my own money to pay this much for a beer - has anyone tried it or know where to even buy this in Perth? Just sourcing for a work colleague, apparently you can get it in Belmont, but does anyone know of anywhere else?

IMG_6426.jpg

Mikkeller Invasion Farmhouse IPA. Apparently it's a ridiculous $40 for a 750ml bottle over here (what a load of pretentious wank). Not that i'd ever consider burning my own money to pay this much for a beer - has anyone tried it or know where to even buy this in Perth? Just sourcing for a work colleague, apparently you can get it in Belmont, but does anyone know of anywhere else?

They definitely sell Mikkeller at Cellarbrations At Carlisle. Great bottle shop.

These beers are often single batch type. So the price can be explained, even if not acceptable to everybody. Mikkeller make great beer, but never had that particular one. The price would definitely put me off !

They definitely sell Mikkeller at Cellarbrations At Carlisle. Great bottle shop.

These beers are often single batch type. So the price can be explained, even if not acceptable to everybody. Mikkeller make great beer, but never had that particular one. The price would definitely put me off !
Cheers JimDocker. :thumbsu:

That's just down the road from my place, awesome selection of beer.

I've been leaning towards Stella as my staple lately (the price/quality combo hits the sweet spot) but any time I feel like something more exotic I head straight to that Cellarbrations. Some of the workers there seem genuinely passionate about their beer too.

That's just down the road from my place, awesome selection of beer.

I've been leaning towards Stella as my staple lately (the price/quality combo hits the sweet spot) but any time I feel like something more exotic I head straight to that Cellarbrations. Some of the workers there seem genuinely passionate about their beer too.

They do know their stuff. I have been to a couple of beer tastings with them. One particularly good one where they paired beers by a visiting brewer from Denmark with food at The Greenhouse. They have one coming up on Wednesday where they will be visiting Fremantle

https://www.facebook.com/events/608529232524042/

I am not going due to severe lack of funds, but they are good nights.

I'm with estibador in that I don't get all the corona hate? I've hosted and been to 3 bucks nights in the last month and a half and Corona is always the first to run out.

The one I hosted I had a carton of each of Pure Blonde, Heineken, Hahn Superdry full strength and a Peroni which I forget the name of and 3 cartons of coronas and the coronas all disappeared while I had leftovers of every other beer. They certainly have their place and I wouldn't ever turn away a cold corona on a warm day.

I like the Weihenstephan Kristall whenever I go to the moon and sixpence in the city.

Some of the workers there seem genuinely passionate about their beer too.

A mate of mine frequents the Parry Ave branch and says exactly the same thing and he is a massive beer fan. Collingwood supporter unfortunately but there you go..

I'm with estibador in that I don't get all the corona hate?

I can't speak for anyone else (having just done so literally seconds earlier) but I hate it because it has no flavour. None.

IMG_6426.jpg

People regularly spend that much and a lot more on wines and spirits, so I don't see why a quality crafted beer should be any different. I've never spent that much personally, but I would rather spend a bit extra for a beer that tastes friggen amazing than some run of the mill larger.

The Freo Doctor bottle shop near the Fremantle hospital stocks a whole heap of craft beers.

Another good one is Phoenix Beers in morley. They're actually the importer for a whole range of beer labels including Sierra Nevada, Weinstephan and heaps of others. Because they import them, you can pick up beers for a lot cheaper, the catch is you have to buy more than 15L as they are a wholesaler. I don't personally see this as a problem though as you save a shite load of money and can pick and mix and try a bit of everything http://www.phoenixbeers.com.au/index.php

So on Sunday I went round a mate's place for a 'dead man walking' session (his last chance before his first bub is born this month), and one of our friends brought around a selection of the Coopers Extra Strong Vintage collection stretching all the way back to 2005.

The 05 version had developed an... um... interesting taste. Even with only half a glass I was struggling by the end of it - I was having flashbacks to being sick on cask port as a 17yo.

So on Sunday I went round a mate's place for a 'dead man walking' session (his last chance before his first bub is born this month), and one of our friends brought around a selection of the Coopers Extra Strong Vintage collection stretching all the way back to 2005.

The 05 version had developed an... um... interesting taste. Even with only half a glass I was struggling by the end of it - I was having flashbacks to being sick on cask port as a 17yo.

Ha. How was it "cellared"? Is it even meant to be kept that long?

Apparently it is designed to last that long with proper cellaring, but I think it had spent a few years copping the highs and lows of inconsistent temps.

Good

Beez Neez - Good
Blue Tongue Premium - Good
Pure Blonde - Tasteless girls' beer
Cascade Premium - Very Good
Coopers Pale Ale - Very Good, a favourite
Gage Roads
Hahn Premium - OK
Hahn Super Dry - OK
Boags Premium - Very Good
Coopers Stout - OK
James Squire Indian Pale Ale