drink_sodastream-290x400.jpg

282x425.aspx

weetbix750.jpg

282x425.aspx

image.php
(Medical grade ethanol)
003D.gif

2740195042_fc6ea0dd13.jpg

*this should never be tried and is purely for entertainment purposes only.

I tried ethanol and coke once after my mate at uni smuggled some out of the science dept. I only had a couple but he got so drunk that later that night he ran full speed into a chain barrier he didn't even see. He'd probably gone blind by that stage.

Fair to say it's not exactly top of my list of drinks to recommend.

Usual - Pure Blonde, Crownies

Best - Canadien, Bushmans.. both found in a small supermarket in Vancouver.. never to be found again.. altho apparently Bushmans is "Australia's Favourite Beer" i havent seen it anywhere over here??

Worst - EE, EB.. and a special place reserved for not only the worst beer on earth.. but the worst liquid to ever grace my lips.. Maudite.. French beer, tastes like frankfurt juice mixed with balloon.

Altho.. generally i am a spirits man myself when im going hard.. beer when im only have a few

Speaking of French beers I really like Kronenbourg 1664 too.

kronenbourg.jpg

I tried ethanol and coke once after my mate at uni smuggled some out of the science dept. I only had a couple but he got so drunk that later that night he ran full speed into a chain barrier he didn't even see. He'd probably gone blind by that stage.

Fair to say it's not exactly top of my list of drinks to recommend.

I used to work with a reformed alcoholic back in the day and he used to tell stories about how desperate he used to get just to be drunk.
His morning routine would be to filter Metho though a loaf of bread and then add half a shot of orange juice to it to take the edge off.

Scary scary stuff.

Rate the Belgium brews but gotta laugh, when I was in Bruges yonks ago I found out that Stella Artois is their equivalent of Fosters i.e., they never touch the stuff themselves but export it to everyone else in the world.[/quote]

LOL. A mate of mine always tells the story of the "shit beer exchange" where countries foist all their crap beer onto unsuspecting foreigners.

At exhorbitant prices too.:thumbsu: It's a theory made up by some stand-up comic somewhere that does actually have some merit.

I reckon Stella, Heinekein (sp?), Budweiser, Chang are all pretty ordinary beers, yet they're seen as "better" because they're from overseas.:rolleyes:

In the Western US, Bud is regarded as god awful redneck beer. I didn't mind it at the time, but that was mainly because most standard beer in A Merry Car is shithouse.

So true.. i really appreciated our average beers a hell of alot more when i got back. Especially tap beer at sporting events in the US.. god awful

Especially tap beer at sporting events in the US.. god awful

At least they can buy full strength (I assume - I'm led to believe Yanks aren't big on mid-strength).

I can't remember the last time I went to a sporting event and was able to buy anything other than shitty mid-strength.

At least they can buy full strength (I assume - I'm led to believe Yanks aren't big on mid-strength).

I can't remember the last time I went to a sporting event and was able to buy anything other than shitty mid-strength.
Funny how the corporate boxes can have what they like though.:rolleyes:

I tried ethanol and coke once after my mate at uni smuggled some out of the science dept. I only had a couple but he got so drunk that later that night he ran full speed into a chain barrier he didn't even see. .

Ever smoked that sheesha crap? Instead of putting water in the bong, toss in some vodka, South Africans got me onto it.

3-4 puffs and it's like you've had 12 drinks.

In regards to the beer thing.

Well, we all know where I stand on the issue.

llb.jpg

Ever smoked that sheesha crap?

That weird tobacco stuff? Can't say I have.

Is that vodka trick meant to work with normal weed too? Might have to try it one day - not that I smoke much anymore but I'm always up for trying something new.

Will never get sick of that Montage esti, top effort :thumbsu:

I was over in Germany and Europe in 08 and I became rather fond of Paulaner and the other Bavarian Weisse beers.

Uerige from Dusseldorf is also a top brew.

I don't mind that other Freo beer but for the original and the best you have to credit to the good people down at Matilda Bay Brewries in North Freo.

Bohemian Pils (Massively underrated)
Beez Neez
Redback (The ultimate Freo Beer)
Fat Yak
Dogbolter
Alpha
and Barking Flamingo (rasberry beer) for the ladies (I assume)

All good.

I ws really disappointed when they started brewing some of the European beers under license in Oz/NZ but apparently it improves the quality because 5-6 weeks in a sea container isn't good for beer. It also drove the prices down, I remember I won a bet for a carton of Stella when I was an apprentice and it cost the other bloke $77.

Guiness drinkers always say it tastes better in Ireland.

Guinness: I just don't see the attraction. It is always too flat for mine. And by the time you chew through a pint the last quarter is warm.
I've had it in Blarney and felt the same.
Not for me.

Been a while since I was in the states but my memory is that most of their beers wer what we would consider mid-strength - around the 3.5% mark. Happy to be corrected.

Also, drunk some very good Canadian beers - remember one called "la fin du monde" which was pretty good. Very strong flavour. I found it in the bottle shop down near the corner of North Lake Road and Canning highway a while ago -they seem to have a pretty good range of foreign beers.

Been a while since I was in the states but my memory is that most of their beers wer what we would consider mid-strength - around the 3.5% mark. Happy to be corrected.

It wasn't until I went to America that I realised that Miller/Bud Light were light on calories, not light in alcohol as in Hahn/Cascade Light.

I got caught out by the whisky and lemonade thing aswell since Lemonade is more like lemon cordial/lemon juice than what we consider lemonade. Only made that mistake once though because it tasted nasty!! They pour spirits stronger than here though, I think it's a 50ml shot instead of a 30ml? Or maybe they use an imperial measurement, either way they're definately stronger.

Looks like the alcohol % of their major beers are similar to here though.
http://www.beer100.com/beercalories.htm

It wasn't until I went to America that I realised that Miller/Bud Light were light on calories, not light in alcohol as in Hahn/Cascade Light.

I got caught out by the whisky and lemonade thing aswell since Lemonade is more like lemon cordial/lemon juice than what we consider lemonade. Only made that mistake once though because it tasted nasty!! They pour spirits stronger than here though, I think it's a 50ml shot instead of a 30ml? Or maybe they use an imperial measurement, either way they're definately stronger.

Geez.. i didnt realise that either.. every bar i went to, i would say easily 60-70% of ppl were drinking Bud or Miller Light, i thought they were all soft...

Yeah their shots are 50ml... and they always 'free-pour' all their spirit mixers even before tipping for your first drink.. tip the extra $5 on the first drink and then the normal rate after that, well worth it :)

Would love that system to be introduced here, but im dreaming

Geez.. i didnt realise that either.. every bar i went to, i would say easily 60-70% of ppl were drinking Bud or Miller Light, i thought they were all soft...

Me too. Everybody told me light actually referred to taste, as in, the beer was brewed in some pissweak fashion which gave it the same alcohol content but made it taste like water... this re-affirmed to me that yes, they were indeed all being soft. Just even softer than I first expected. One thing that most Americans have absolutely no idea about is beer. Anyone who tells you that mainstream beer over there is decent, is having a lend. Microbreweries, on the other hand, are a completely different story. Big Sky Brewery's Moose Drool is a work of art and there are many other locally brewed beers which are divine.

Also, drunk some very good Canadian beers - remember one called "la fin du monde" which was pretty good. Very strong flavour. I found it in the bottle shop down near the corner of North Lake Road and Canning highway a while ago -they seem to have a pretty good range of foreign beers.

It says something about America when the best mainstream beers you can get in most drinking places are imports from either Canada, Mexico or Europe. FFS, Fosters and Emu Bitter out-rate most Yank mainstream brews!!

The spirits they make over there, on the other hand - just sublime!! And, as noted below, the smaller breweries actually make some damn fine stuff too. SeaTac Mist was my favourite, but I also like the Penn State Star Lager. Hard to find any of these sorts of micro beers outside of the city where they are made though...:(

Single most common mistake made by Aussies or Kiwis (or Brits) that visit the USoA. I'll never forget seeing four young Aussies in a high end bar in LA order 16 Bud Lights, and when challenged by the bartender and security about whether that was a wise order, say "Hell, yeah, the beer is only light!! And we're Aussies!!" (from Cronulla no less, so they proceeded to show their southern cross tatts and sing the Cronulla Sharks team song). They then proceeded to skull a can each, and finished the rest of the order in about twenty minutes. 15 minutes later they were barfing on the sidewalk, and ten minutes after that they had the unique joy of meeting LA's finest (and wearing the shiniest handcuffs you ever did see). I've always thought the worst part was that they got so drunk on such awful tasting beer!!

I got caught out by the whisky and lemonade thing aswell since Lemonade is more like lemon cordial/lemon juice than what we consider lemonade. Only made that mistake once though because it tasted nasty!!

Yessss, the old "trick a foreigner with the lemon shickle squizzy" trick. Damn awful stuff.

They pour spirits stronger than here though, I think it's a 50ml shot instead of a 30ml? Or maybe they use an imperial measurement, either way they're definately stronger.

Not just more mLs in the measure - also much, much more liberal barkeeping standards - especially if you tip, they just keep pouring. I reckon if you gave a $12 tip, most bars would just give you the whole darn bottle of Johnny...

Yep - the Yank beers are surprisingly strong, considering they taste like guinea pig pee.

Me too. Everybody told me light actually referred to taste, as in, the beer was brewed in some pissweak fashion which gave it the same alcohol content but made it taste like water... this re-affirmed to me that yes, they were indeed all being soft. Just even softer than I first expected.

And the funny think is that even though they drink "low carb" beer, it doesn't seem to make much difference to their obesity...

One thing that most Americans have absolutely no idea about is beer. Anyone who tells you that mainstream beer over there is decent, is having a lend. Microbreweries, on the other hand, are a completely different story. Big Sky Brewery's Moose Drool is a work of art and there are many other locally brewed beers which are divine.

Moose Drool got a good rating on the Kiwi Lost Planet site - any idea if it is available in Australia? Might have to try me some...

You can buy full strength - at least at the two stadiums I went to you could. Still served them in ****ing plastic cups though for the most part. Could buy beer in plastic bottles at Candlestick park which although not glass was still better than a flimsy cup.

Thought I got lucky at an Ice Hockey game in Vancouver when I found one place that had bottles of Corona instead of tap beer in cups. Ordered two only to watch in disbelief as they poured the beer from the bottle into a cup.

Canadian beer was awesome - Kokonee and Sleemans were a favourite over there.

Have recently been put onto Dos Equus which is pretty good.