The Beer Thread.

Yeah, I'm looking to start home brewing around christmas time once I can work up the cash to buy the kit. Was inspired by the homebrew thread on the GD boards, and I think I'd really get into the whole craftsmanship thing (and of course, the drinking cheap beer).

I'm kind of getting the vibe that the type of yeast is where it's at, and if I'm going to do it, I'm going to do it right. How hard is it to get hold of the different varieties, and qualities? Would getting some yeast from some top notch breweries be possible if you know the right people, or is it top secret kind of shit?

Have a look at www.aussiehomebrewer.com I warn you.. very addictive.

Fermentation temperature control, and sanitation are two things to have in mind if you start down that slippery slope.

Really been enjoying Boddingtons Pub Ale lately. Smooth as silk with nary a bubble to be seen, still has a great head though.

Boddingtons_200.jpg

Boddington pub as in out in the bush? Mate lives out in Wandering, might make the journey some time.

Nice meaty head on that pour aswell :D Usually don't care, but that lookes lovely :D

Also tried some random Scandinavian beer tonight, or at least the writing appeared so. Called Pistonhead or some shit. A heavy Lager, tasted pretty similar to Export. The young fella behind the counter tends to be have a half decent clue about beer, so I backed him in.

Wasn't expecting a hell of alot all things considered, and I suppose I couldn't really complain. Came in a can but, which is always going to murder the beer. Yeah, wasn't awesome, but would go down better than EE, which is either saying not much, or alot, depending on the weather, and your awesomeness.

Would have to give it a 5, barely, but I reckon in the right weather, and with an absolute aching thirst, it could be allright.

Actually most surprised by the lad down at the Deli where I usually buy my beer. I think he's only just turned 18, maybe 19, but for a young fella he's pretty cluey about most beers. I've tried pretty much everything, but even the ones I haven't he's got an opinion on. Even the Aussie beers that most people don't drink, he's got a pretty decent opinion on.

Considering most people I know have shithouse taste in beer, it's nice to know there is hope for the future.

Actually most surprised by the lad down at the Deli where I usually buy my beer. I think he's only just turned 18, maybe 19, but for a young fella he's pretty cluey about most beers. I've tried pretty much everything, but even the ones I haven't he's got an opinion on. Even the Aussie beers that most people don't drink, he's got a pretty decent opinion on.

Considering most people I know have shithouse taste in beer, it's nice to know there is hope for the future.

One of the perks of working somewhere that sells beer maybe. I used to manage a liquor store for a while and the amount of beers I tried in that time awakened a whole new love of experimenting in me (beer as well as the flow on effects :p).

Of course the place you work has to either have a generous owner or patchy surveillance cameras. I was lucky enough to have both.

I find a lot of people with 'bad' taste in beer are actually just ignorant in terms of trying a variety of stuff. For some reason a lot of Aussies treat beer like footy teams - they feel like they have to pick one and stay loyal.

I couldn't think of anything worse personally - sure a man has to commit to monogamy in some aspects of his life eventually but there's no reason to put a ring on a beer when there's a whole world of taste out there.

Top Ten Beers.

Mmm..

1. Hoegaardens (at the moment...the top ten usually changes)
2. James Squire...Likey muchy
3. Kilkenny..but object to paying the asking price really.
4. Oeddinger (think that's the way you spell it.) Nice and hard and cheap.
5. Anything by Little Creatures.
6. Guiness..Got to get to beer two to enjoy.
7. Becks. Consistenly good.
8. Tennents Lager (Scottish) got to drink this in a can or cold as ice on a cold day to get the effect...ahh..Scottish lager (now where's ma hauf of whisky?)
9. McEwans Export (as above) but dark and malty...yumm..
10. Fraoch...found this for the first time in NSW in the Hunter Valley in a winery with a "tunnel of beer". It's made from heather and exquisite..or was the last time I tasted it in 1998. Sitting on my shelf ..two bottles for Chrimbo...for me and my mate!

Honorable Mentions from earlier posts.

Leffe (got very drunk in France on this)
Desperados (got very drunk..erm in France on this)

NOT TO BE TOUCHED ..cos they're cack

1. Any Mexican beer. Corona, Dos Equos or Sol...Pish in a bottle..really that simple.
2. Emu anything. No reason needed.
3. Swan draught. Urgh. Really
4. Barefoot Radler.
5. All Hahns except Hahn White.
6. James Boags..dunno..just seems to make me feel bloated.
7. All Lite beers (out damn you Satan!) Treacherous reproductions of the real thing.
8. Erm..think that's about it. Except..
9. Asian Beer...Just poncy for the sake of it.

F**k I'm starting to feel like I'm the only beer enthusiast in Aus who actually likes Corona.

Maybe it's because I'm a borderline alcoholic and it's the perfect sessional beer to slam down over multiple hours in hot weather.

Though the cynic in me can't help but think a lot of beer aficionados bag it because it's become uncool due to the yuppie set adopting it a while back.

F**k I'm starting to feel like I'm the only beer enthusiast in Aus who actually likes Corona.

Maybe it's because I'm a borderline alcoholic and it's the perfect sessional beer to slam down over multiple hours in hot weather.

Though the cynic in me can't help but think a lot of beer aficionados bag it because it's become uncool due to the yuppie set adopting it a while back.

Nah Esti...It's your choice. I find it bland is all. We're all different. That's why you choose Liverpool I choose Newcastle (and Celtic) you choose the Packers (damn Rogers) and I choose Steelers. That's life...(but I choose right! :D)

Honestly though, when you could slug down a Hoegaarden and get as much thirst satisfaction with ADDED flavour ..why wouldn't ya?

I watched that the other day too. The size and scale of that place is staggering.

I've gotten back into homebrewing lately and the quality I'm coming out with is a lot better than my first attempt back my uni days. Probably because now I have the patience to let them age for 6 weeks or so instead of scoffing them a fortnight after they were bottled.

Once I've got a nice stockpile ageing I'm gunna start getting creative inventing chilli beers and other exotic stuff.

Yup me too...Last year I brewed a Coopers stout but instead of using dextrose I used a 1.2 kilos of treacle...jeez it was good..Head was creamy and it was dark as night. Nice....

My mate went to Broome. I told him to go to Matso's. He said he tried the Mango Beer and hated it. "Beer's not meant to have fruit in it." He then proceeds to grab a corona and shove a wedge of lemon in it.!

Honestly though, when you could slug down a Hoegaarden and get as much thirst satisfaction with ADDED flavour ..why wouldn't ya?

Yeah I have two pretty distinct categories of beers - the one offs and the sessionals.

If I was offered just one beer I'd choose something flavourful like Little Creatures. But I don't think I could down 10 of them in a sitting so that's where the milder tastes like Corona or Blue Tongue come into their own.

My mate went to Broome. I told him to go to Matso's. He said he tried the Mango Beer and hated it. "Beer's not meant to have fruit in it." He then proceeds to grab a corona and shove a wedge of lemon in it.!

Nah I feel him. There's a difference between a fresh piece of bitter lemon and the foul sickly sweet shit they put in those girly fruit beers.

Last time I was a Matso's I ordered a pint of chilli beer and the barmaid offered to mix it with that mango shit to take the edge off!

'Don't make me show you my pimp hand bitch'... is what the tough guy in my head said as I politely declined.

Yeah I have two pretty distinct categories of beers - the one offs and the sessionals.

If I was offered just one beer I'd choose something flavourful like Little Creatures. But I don't think I could down 10 of them in a sitting so that's where the milder tastes like Corona or Blue Tongue come into their own.

See I could do 13 Guinness' in a sitting...so I don't categorise :D

HAHAHA!!

Did anybody politely point this out?? That's gold.

BTW that Boddington picture is making me want one right now, I don't care what time it is.. My boss does. :(

1. Any Mexican beer. Corona, Dos Equos or Sol...Pish in a bottle..really that simple.
I rate Dos Equis, but yeah Sol is rubbish, Corona take it leave it.

Love it. Nothing like a pint of super at the OBH or Davilak.

Its got WA in it!
4. Barefoot Radler.
Yep, camel piss.

2. Emu anything. No reason needed.
4. Barefoot Radler.
5. All Hahns except Hahn White.
6. James Boags..dunno..just seems to make me feel bloated.
7. All Lite beers (out damn you Satan!) Treacherous reproductions of the real thing.
8. Erm..think that's about it. Except..
9. Asian Beer...Just poncy for the sake of it.

Ooooooh, big call on #2, #3 and #5. They're not something you sit down and have a session with, but they have their role. Kind of the same with Euro beers, they're not the best on a 38 degree day.

Hahn Ice is probably the best hot weather after work beer ever.

Nah, it just taste's like flavourless piss. That's all my mates will ever drink, but that's not saying much, they have absolutely terrible taste in everything.

My top 3 beers for the past few months are:
1. Mountain Goat Steam Ale
2. Coopers Pale (green)
3. Knappstien Reserve lager (something special)

Has anyone here tried Moo Broo Pale Ale from Tassie?
Apparently it's one of the best American Pales going around...

My top 3 beers for the past few months are:
1. Mountain Goat Steam Ale
2. Coopers Pale (green)
3. Knappstien Reserve lager (something special)

Has anyone here tried Moo Broo Pale Ale from Tassie?
Apparently it's one of the best American Pales going around...
Yep, I used to work at the Sail and Anchor and that was on for a while, quality drop.

Feral Hop Hog is ballsier though.

Moo Brew velvet sledge hammer is amazing if you get the chance. Also, if you like dark beers and want to try something that will blow your mind check this. A bit pricey with a bottle selling for around $24 @ freo doctor, but amazing stuff and with an 18% kick to it.

In fact anything Brew Dog is going to mess with your ideas on beer. They had a competition with a german brewery to have the strongest percentage beer, after Brew Dog's Tactical Nuclear Penguin beer (32%) was trumped by the german brewer. Their response was Sink the Bismarck, which weigh in at 40%! Basically a beer spirit.

The likes:

- "Asahi Super Dry Premium" It is better than normal asahi super dry. Only available on tap and only in Japan and only at the better end restaurants. My favourite beer.

- Yebisu - top, top beer. you can get it in 500ml cans at Loi's on Fitzgerald St in Northbridge. This is a super premium beer in Japan and sells for more than Asahi or Sapporo. Has a dense head (if your pour it properly) that stays for the duration of the glass - don't drink it from the can!

- "Asahi Super dry", Japan brewed version only. Do not touch the Thai version with a bargepole, it IS a different recipe. Don't tell me that at is the same recipe with different water because the brewers themselves say it is a different recipe. If you get to Japan, go and do the tour. Not the city tour in Asakusa but head out to Ibaraki and do the real factory tour. 40mins of free piss!
- Coopers Pale Ale. I love this beer and my pet hate is Qantas bar staff who carefully retain the sediment in the bottle before handing me a completely clear "catpiss tasting" glass of watery nothingness. Only worth drinking if you are going to incorporate the sediment the way the brewer intended.
- Lowenbrau
- anything by Weihenstephan
- Schofferhofer Krystall Wessbier
- Cascade premium
- Bit retro but I still like a good Redback, even if it is often served too warm in Perth.

Best value:
- James Boag Draught stubbies. Not sold in WA last I checked but here on the east coast it is marketed against VB, at VB prices. Beer is as good as James Boag premium in my view (and I hate praising anything).

Best value sold in WA-
Tooheys extra dry. Can be bloating but has a fine bead and very consistent dryness, uncharacteristic of a budget priced beer. Was this beer released shortly after Kirin took over Lion Nathan? Is that why?

Best light
- Cascade premium light. 95% of the taste of a full strength. Great for boating.

Biggest waste of money:
Crown lager. Seriously, its ok its drinkable but why does it cost more than carton draught or VB?

The genuinely bad:
West End is just bad beer.

Ah yep, tried that for the first time earlier this year when I was in Adelaide. Certainly lived up to it's reputation.

Without doubt though the worst beer ever tasted was this stuff that I tried in Tonga:

106735.jpg

Horrible, horrible stuff. Some sort of Chinese recipe with rice as one of the main ingredients. Rice!

After one sip I was looking sadly at the other two bottles I had bought and for once in my life wished I had been less adventurous and bought the VB instead.

Speaking of Tonga, I had a couple of interesting beer buying experiences there.

First time we went looking for some one night the only place we could find was an unlicensed caged shop front run by a Chinese guy who was illegally selling booze under the counter. We asked for beer and after he peered up and down the street looking for cops he turns to us and says:

"Vierbeer?"

We nodded thinking this was either Tongan for beer or some exotic German-sounding Pacific brand I'd never heard of. And I'm always up for trying a new beer.

So he ducks under the counter and packs it in a cop-proof plain brown cardboard box. We got halfway down the street before sneaking a peek and realising he had actually said 'VB'.

So I'd flown 8 hours to Tonga to drink an Aussie beer I wouldn't touch with a 10 foot pole at home!

Then a week or two later we were staying on a tiny island off the mainland. When we enquired about beer our hostess told us none of the shops on the island were licensed to sell.

'But don't worry' she says, 'I'll take you somewhere.'

So she gives us a lift and drops us in the front yard of this run down family home.

'You go in there' she motions, 'Round back'

So we tentatively wander round the back and knock as we enter the open back door. We walk in and there we are in this family's living room with 3 generations of Tongans staring at us. (And Tongans are BIG, just quietly).

I felt like I'd wandered into a Maori crack house to try score drugs.

I clear my throat 'Umm... we were told to come here for beer?'

'Yes, yes!' the mum jumps up and motions to her teenage son who disappears into a back room and reappears with a carton of beer.

A carton of... you guessed it... VB. Still we hadn't had a beer for over a week so they tasted pretty good after all the mountain hiking of the previous days - though it might have also been the sweet taste of relief that we hadn't been rolled for our cash and left bleeding out on the verge like I was half expecting.

Why are they anti beer? Are they encumbered by one of the less useful religions?

Hey guys.

I've worked a few shifts promoting beers for my work and drink a shit ton of beer anyway.

I have promoted for James Squires and their new brand which I believe is called "150 Lashes". It's Pale Ale and to be honest, don't drink the beer when the weather is not hot. It is very much a summer beer and it is very much a lighter beer to be drunk at a barbeque. It's something you can sit on all day and not feel the effects of, it's got a slightly fruity taste, but a very very nice summer beer which I would recommend highly for barbeques and the like.

As for other beers, anything by JS is good - Golden Ale is my favourite. I can't understand the hate for Coronas as they're not the worst beer I've ever tasted (that dubious honour goes to the fine folks from James Boags brewery) and Asahis, while terribly overpriced just about everywhere, are always good. They go particularly well with Thai food.

VB is piss, Boags is worse, TEDS are literally like urine. Scored a bottle of Trappist Belgian Beer from my local boutique bottleshop which tasted like heaven in a bottle. Sure, it was $20 for 750mL but it was almost the best beer I've ever had.

Why are they anti beer? Are they encumbered by one of the less useful religions?

Is there such a thing as a useful religion? (besides Buddhism)

They're a massively Christian country - to the point that they're ashamed to swim in anything other than full clothing. Makes no sense to me for people of a Pacific Island nation to be ashamed of swimming without a shirt on, but there you go. It's amazing how god gave us these bodies that he apparently wants us to be ashamed of. Mustn't have been happy with his work I guess.

Religion is probably partly it, but it's also partly because they have a huge kava culture so alcohol isn't as ingrained in their psyche. One local told me the govt tries to encourage kava over alcohol since it doesn't come with the same violence issues.

(Kava is pretty cool - for those who haven't tried it imagine a very mild marijuana in a muddy tasting liquid form)