The Beer Thread.

I popped into Cellarbrations in Carlisle yesterday to get the boys at work a carton - being the good boss that I am :)

These guys seriously have the best range of beers around !

http://www.cellarbrationscarlisle.com.au/

I decided to buy a couple of bottles for myself to top up the bar fridge. The guy asked what sort of beers I liked and we had a chat about the different beers they had in stock.

They do tasting every month with last month's tasting being beers from French Canada with food to suit.

He said that they are trying to negotiate a night at Greenhouse where the food will match the beers and may include some dished cooked with beer :thumbsu: He was very knowledgeable without being a beer w***er.

I bought a couple of bottles of MAD BREWERS HOPPY HEFE 640ML which is a limited edition. He said that The Generous Squire has it on tap at the moment. Have not had it yet.

Also bought a bottle of Samuel Smith Stingo Yorkshire Ale for no other reason than to have some beer from back home.

I have joined the club and will try to get to some of the tasting nights but time will be short this year with my wife and I both working full time and studying part time while having a 4 year old !!!!
Sounds like my kind of bottlo.

What is the Hoppy Hefe like?

It's a cross between am American Wheat Wine and a German Hefe without really tasting like either of them. The aroma is where this beer shines, the mix of American and New Zealand hops work really well together. If you're into American style Pale ales and IPAs you won't be disappointed.

Spent an interesting day last Saturday at a mate's place while he showed me his home brewing process. And I'm talking real home brewing - boiling the grains and hops himself, yeast that he specially cultivated himself, all that jazz.

We killed time in between by sampling all his different beers of course... and my god it was some seriously good shit. His pale ale would easily pass for genuine Little Creatures and he had this 9% strong ale with an amazing flavour that wouldn't have been out of place in a Belgian pub.

Of course his set up probably cost more than a grand and it takes the better part of a day to create each batch, so for now I'll have to stick to my sludge out of a can home brew.

I've got a couple of mates that were looking at going into business selling their worts but it's very time consuming and not exactly rewarding unless you're making a shitload of it, which they do, but I get the feeling they drink to much of it to actually make any dosh out of it... And they make a mean brew.

Sounds like my kind of bottlo.

What is the Hoppy Hefe like?

The Hoppy Heffe was beautiful. A slight fruit taste but balanced by the hops so not as sweet as a lot of beers that taste too much like pop for my liking.

Like an IPA with the zest of citrus rather than the fruit is probably the best way that I can think of to describe it.

Cheers for the tips Dan, I'll look into that stuff when I get motivated to step my operations up a notch.

Had a few of the Coopers Clear the other night, and they weren't too bad. Just cracked one open to start watching the game, and they're probably one of the better lighter tasting beers. If you're after something low carb, they're all over Pure Blonde and probably even Super Dry.

Taste a fair bit like Hahn Ice, which is one of my favourite beers if you're only have a couple ie after work. Not sure what they're like on a session, but I'd imagine they wouldn't be too bad. I'll polish of half a dozen and let you know.

Have been sampling a few of the James squires brews over the last couple of weeks. Quite fond of the 150 lashes

Likewise.
I picked up a 12pk from 1st choice which had Chancer Golden Ale, 150 lashes Ale and Nine tales Amber Ale. All very good beers.

Hahn Super Dry is my beer of choice. Can smash down a heap of them and never get a hangover!

How's this for a piss take, bought a carton of Becks imported from Germany, and it was 20% cheaper than a carton of Becks brewed over here.

Just reminds me how much of a joke it is for what we we pay for beer in Australia.

Heh, that doesn't surprise me, **** the tax system in this country. I was at the bottle shop the other day and while I don't drink too often anymore (mainly due to not getting out anymore these days) I was shocked to see all the domestic brands generally outpricing the 'imported'/boutique brands. Shit like VB & Tooheys new for $46 odd whilst Coronas, Heinekken, Carlsberg are around the $40 mark. WTF is going on?

I'm starting to drink more red wine than beer lately but the good thing with that is I'll have a night on the beer, bourbon & coke or whatever and really enjoy it as a change. Footy, BBQs or 35 degrees plus are still mandatory beer days.

I used to be a fan of the teds but now I try to buy something I haven't had before or fall back on teds or super drys if nothing looks good, I'll have to try Asahi, never had it before but it's getting plenty of love in here and been recommended it before.

My 2 cents on some others:

Miller's Genuine Draft: Ok but just too easy to drink, Can't stand buds.
Carlsberg: Not bad, I started on Heineken but this has more flavour and probably the best beer ads in the world.
Guiness: is good but I can't drink it all night unless I'm really kicking back and chatting with friends, a real winter beer.
Cisk: Very fond memories of drinking this by the bucket load in Malta but it was very hot and they served it very cold so who knows.
Cascade: best of the light beers for me but funnily enough I wasn't sold on their premium.
Leffe: Awesome, drank this (on tap) once in Andorra, dark for me and blond for the wife and I still rave about it. We tried it over here from the bottle-o but not the same.

Little Creatures: The Quiet American

Single batch. Very hoppy Belgium/US hybrid. Freaking awesome.

American beer is generally all rubbish.

Mate when we were teenagers we used to say that, thinking we were on the money. Back in the real world, now, US craft beer is so great, really leading the way, so far ahead of most of what is served in pubs in aussie that it doesn't really compare:). ;)

Craft beer, sure. Craft beer anywhere is going to be better than domestic beer anywhere else, in most regular cases anyway. I'm sure US craft beer is better than our domestic piss in a can. :p

Shit like Buds & Coors are water.