Votes: 0 0.0%
  • H3 Kristy & Brett

• H5 Eliza & Liberty

Sorry, i forgot that no one is allowed opinions you dont agree with.

The show was perfect and a wonderful result.
No its not about that.

Its about this thread being full of whingers.

Goes something along the lines of this "omg this show is so crap, im not going to watch anymore, its lost me- only gonna watch Room reveals"

Then proceed to post about eps on the weekdays..

Well i dont see anyone actually blaming Steph and Gian. Good for them, good for Liberty and Eliza too. Its not their fault, hence the comment about the show.

Having a bunch of cashed up millionaires bidding against themselves for a house that was at best 4th best on the show just looks ******* stupid. Its so far removed from reality it may as well be scripted at this point.

The discrepancy in dollars for very similar products is the issue for me. If Liberty and Elizas place was worth a million dollar prize then Leah and Ashs (by rights of quality) was worth similar. If the spread was like 1st place $500k and went down to $65k sure, that still ridiculous but its palatable but $1.7m to $65k for similar products and efforts is dumb.

If you take out the dick swinging millionaires, H3 still only win $65k, maybe less. Sure, Steph and Gian might only win $400k or something, but that still doesn’t put anymore money in H3’s pocket.

So would H3 be happier if the rich guys weren’t there and the other houses made less? That would speak more about their character.

No its not about that.

Its about this thread being full of whingers.

Goes something along the lines of this "omg this show is so crap, im not going to watch anymore, its lost me- only gonna watch Room reveals"

Then proceed to post about eps on the weekdays..
That happens in every thread, be it SRP, GD, Media, Footy.

Its just opinions. Watching the show once a week is perfectly acceptable, not watching it is perfectly acceptable, thinking the end result is great is acceptable (Youll note i never said you were wrong, or suggested that youve missed the point and shouldnt be watching it then) ive just presented what i saw in the finale and why i thought it was stupid. That doesnt make me right its just how i saw it.

If you take out the dick swinging millionaires, H3 still only win $65k, maybe less. Sure, Steph and Gian might only win $400k or something, but that still doesn’t put anymore money in H3’s pocket.

So would H3 be happier if the rich guys weren’t there and the other houses made less? That would speak more about their character.
If my mum had wheels shed be a bike. The result in the result, if theyd had an Earthquake prior to the auctions maybe none of them sell.

Character isnt what the people were supposed to buy. The point of the show is the best house wins the most money, now that happened by all accounts but to have a discrepancy like that is just stupid.

Perhaps its a climate thing too, most of us are struggling to put food on the table and we watch some bloke upping his own bids by $100k at a time, its pretty gross.

Like i said, i barely watched the show cause i think its dull at the best of time but i watched the auctions and the results were dumb IMO.

The point of the show is the best house wins the most money

That rarely happens, this is one year where it actually did happen.

I agree that the amounts of money are pretty unpalatable and have long said the show would be much more interesting if only 2 or 3 houses each year made a profit.

The entitlement that these contestants enter with is my biggest gripe.

That rarely happens, this is one year where it actually did happen.

I agree that the amounts of money are pretty unpalatable and have long said the show would be much more interesting if only 2 or 3 houses each year made a profit.

The entitlement that these contestants enter with is my biggest gripe.
Thats fair. I put myself in Kristy and... Brett? Shoes. I just watched two houses make over a million dollars, knowing full well my house is better than one of them. My auctioneer ****s up the whole thing i watch my expectations of probably $500k minimum blow up in my face.

Id be pretty ****ing mad too. They might be horrible people (i always take all that with a grain of salt) but that outcome is pretty rough. Same goes for house 1 and Leah and Ash.

To me the issue isnt so much who "won" its the discrepancy between the first place and the third, fourth and fifth. Its just non sensical.

Anyway, its an interesting discussion point if nothing else.

That happens in every thread, be it SRP, GD, Media, Footy.

Its just opinions. Watching the show once a week is perfectly acceptable, not watching it is perfectly acceptable, thinking the end result is great is acceptable
Fairly certain the general rule on EB tho is if you hate a show, then dont post in the thread pissing all over it.

Ive semi followed this thread, i think the criticism has been more "this aspect is shit" than the "this show is shit".

Its also usually a line of "are these people actually watching, are they just trolling and are they insulting wathcers".

Plus heaps of reality winds up pretty brutal in its posting, its always hard to judge.

Ive semi followed this thread, i think the criticism has been more "this aspect is s**t" than the "this show is s**t".

Its also usually a line of "are these people actually watching, are they just trolling and are they insulting wathcers".

Plus heaps of reality winds up pretty brutal in its posting, its always hard to judge.
All good.

Thats fair. I put myself in Kristy and... Brett? Shoes. I just watched two houses make over a million dollars, knowing full well my house is better than one of them. My auctioneer *s up the whole thing i watch my expectations of probably $500k minimum blow up in my face.

Id be pretty ******* mad too. They might be horrible people (i always take all that with a grain of salt) but that outcome is pretty rough. Same goes for house 1 and Leah and Ash.

To me the issue isnt so much who "won" its the discrepancy between the first place and the third, fourth and fifth. Its just non sensical.

Anyway, its an interesting discussion point if nothing else.

Ive said this once before and ill say it again- if those campaigners HAD won some serious coin, I would not be losing any sleep over it. Its just a reality show.

End of the day they win $65k for 12 weeks work so most of us battlers would take that.

Plus I doubt they actually do a lot. Tradies do all the proper work.

Anyone can whack a coat of paint on.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
You do the math and it spits out $140k per year per person. Now i seriously doubt thats "half" their salaries but theres a chance theyve made about what theyd make in a year for the block, which is a 7 day a week, 12-16 hour a day gig (work it out per hour and its probably shit money).

In any event thats not really the point im making, im talking about the ridiculous false economy the results created. If everyone got broadly similar amounts (even if the winner made $500k for example) it at least makes some sense. But the spread is $1.6m between first and last.

Theres just no universe where that makes sense.

You do the math and it spits out $140k per year per person. Now i seriously doubt thats "half" their salaries but theres a chance theyve made about what theyd make in a year for the block, which is a 7 day a week, 12-16 hour a day gig (work it out per hour and its probably s**t money).
I applied a 15 hour day to H3 (LOL probably is over estimating it considering Brett's amount of work he did) and worked it out to be around $50 an hour.

Yeah I know.

It's that weird millionaire guy that never blinks.

Just bids extra $100k on top of his own bid.

Doesn't GAF.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Like to me that auction ep just completely jumped the shark, to each their own but that was just silly to watch.
I applied a 15 hour day to H3 (LOL probably is over estimating it considering Brett's amount of work he did) and worked it out to be around $50 an hour.
$140k/52/90 (7 day week, 15 hour day) comes to $29ish by my maths...

Even $50 isnt great PH money.

Like to me that auction ep just completely jumped the shark, to each their own but that was just silly to watch.

$140k/52/90 (7 day week, 15 hour day) comes to $29ish by my maths...

Even $50 isnt great PH money.
I'm applying what they made per hour on the block.

FTA-TV The Block 2023