Analysis The Brown Shoots Thread

JGM has some serious wheels.
And some good desperation. That should have been a sure goal, but because of his desperation and speed, he closed quickly and affected the spoil to perfection.

Reminded me of SOS

Just noticed that JGM is on the 50m line side of the guy who first marks the ball and is dashing towards the goal square to get back and cover. I reckon that he has covered around 30-35m to get there.

What I like about Docherty is that he proves top 20 draft picks don't need to all be superstars. A player like him who can play a role and be a solid citizen is just as good and vitally important for the make up of any side.
Ferrisb & I had a chat with Doc at the Carlton season launch and he is an absolute champ of a bloke and he loves the club and I almost forgot he is only 22yo so lock him in for 8-10 more years. GUN!

I'm loving that Bolts is trying to get a settled back 6, and we all know you can't just throw 6 rookies out there and hope for the best so I'm loving the way he is going about it, and blooding in Weitering, Plowman & Bryne was what all of us on BF were hoping for in 2016, so to have them all playing this early in the season together is awesome.:thumbsu:

Does Jones count as a green shoot?

My ****ing word he does HBF. A green shoot is purely in the eye of the beholder. Jones showed some really good signs in the last quarter so that is a green shoot!

I'm loving Weiterings attitude on the field. My only concern headed into the season was maybe that he was too boring. Very professional, a bit of a good boy without much personality. I love that he's proven me wrong. Obviously with the Riewoldt incident, but also on the weekend when Tom Lynch gave away a 50m penalty afterwards Weiters ran up and gave him a shove and some lip. Not in retaliation more of shove and "Good job mate." type of thing. Obviously shows he's much different on the field and hopefully in the locker room than in the public. Someone playing with some pride is nice to see.
Wouldn't bet on that Coops.
My brother's step son played for Falcons last two years and I asked him the other day if he'd played against Weitering. One game he had. Said "He was okay, but our guy beat him. Charlie kicked five goals on him. We knew he was good and the coach told us to get into him. Darcy and Rhys were giving it to him and eventually he just said, 'okay fellas, I think you've said enough'".
Was born a 40 year old dad :)

Another great thing about Weitering and Plowman looking so accomplished down back is that it provides us more opportunity to blood more of the other young guys. Byrne and Curnow have played less than 5 games and are showing some really promising signs. The backline is starting to look really good and when you consider that Docherty is still young, it's looking like developing into a formidable unit for many years to come.

Our list still has a long way to go but it is really encouraging seeing these young guys coming in and contributing.

Are they any good?

I'd posted some time ago that Ben played junior footy against my boy a few years back - for Glen Iris I think.

He would gather the ball in the backline and run the length of the field, brushing aside anyone who tried to touch him.

Clearly a level above anyone else on the ground and our team won the flag that year so were no mugs.

If he's continued to develop on that trajectory, we would love to have Ben!

Cause for optimism? First win on the board, and lining up against Essendon, Collingwood and Port (home) over the next 3 weeks. None of these teams are setting the world on fire. Could we turn our season around and be 4-4 before going up against North Melbourne? Momentum is a funny thing and that win will bring belief.

This is what the ****ing green shoots thread is all about! :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Two wins on the trot in a season where many suggested we may not even win two. Green ****ing shoots right there! Ciaran Byrne, green shoot. Sam Rowe, green shoot. Phillips, green shoot!

Byrne is a heck of a green shoot. Only played a handful of games, if that, and he's not even a native to our game, but by golly does he have ability. Combined with good speed and a big strong body, he could be an absolute weapon.

Points-against:
Last year 18th. Total: 2354. Avg: 107 pts/game.
This year 6th. Total: 528. Avg: 88 pts/game.

Points-for:
Last year 18th. Total: 1525. Avg: 69 pts/ game
This year 17th. Total: 388. Avg: 65 pts/game

So from last year our offence has taken a small hit, not surprising given that Everitt was in good form and we had Henderson and Menzel, both talented players, at least occupying defenders if nothing more.

Our defence however is allowing 20 points less per game and gone from 18th to 6th in the competition. That's a huge gain.

All that may not be entirely fair based on who we've played so far .. but in a year with a whole bunch of new players still learning a new game plan .. I'll take it thanks.

Any more green shoots and we will have to get the mower out to tidy up.

Plenty of work still to be done, gotta love Spring though.

Analysis The Brown Shoots Thread