Analysis The bye

• Thread starter Thread starter Stoods

Thank Christ, a resounding YES from me. The apprehension and anticipation for today's game was too much. A week off means not worrying about the Pies winning, and I can pay attention to doing some work for a change. I then can relax and enjoy some classic Carlton v Collingwood games for the next fortnight. Might start with round 3 2000. Who is with me?

I'd love to!

Is there somewhere online where one can access those old games? The AFL website only goes back to 2010 :(

A

And just outside the eight Hawthorn play the Crows so only one of them can advance whilst the loser can pretty well say goodbye to 2018 and reduce the competition to ten teams who can make finals.

I think this is true for the Crows. They have had an extra game and if the drop this they probably end up 2 games out after the bye.

Not true for Hawks. They have played all teams in the 8 thus far for a 4:4 record. They have only 2 games left against teams currently in the 8 and dont play anyone in the 8 for the next 8 matches. While a loss hurts them it doesnt tip them out of the finals race. A win here on the other hand and I think you can ink them into the 8 come seasons end. They will win a lot of matches from here.

And there’s Australia v France to watch during bye week.

World Cup being kind and scheduling Australia’s first in the Collingwood bye week. Even world football knows Collingwood needs to be cared for well.

I hope we play well after the bye, Im going to the Carlton game and they flogged us the last time I went.
Should we lose, we’ll just blame you

:p

Nah, Carlton are very poor

I think this is true for the Crows. They have had an extra game and if the drop this they probably end up 2 games out after the bye.

Not true for Hawks. They have played all teams in the 8 thus far for a 4:4 record. They have only 2 games left against teams currently in the 8 and dont play anyone in the 8 for the next 8 matches. While a loss hurts them it doesnt tip them out of the finals race. A win here on the other hand and I think you can ink them into the 8 come seasons end. They will win a lot of matches from here.

Yep hadnt counted for Hawks having a game in hand and hadnt looked forward at the draw.

Go Crows anyway. They wont do any damage in finals whilst Hawthorn can.

Yep hadnt counted for Hawks having a game in hand and hadnt looked forward at the draw.

Go Crows anyway. They wont do any damage in finals whilst Hawthorn can.
I despise Hawthorn.

Hope they get trounced.

We are a Tom Lynch away from being a legit Premiership contender.
If Darcy Moore wants to walk away from that, the kid is being advised badly (IMO)...he should settle for another two years, build up some core strength and move on from the puny, injury-prone teenage body. Quit worrying about the weird “I wanna look like Dad” hairstyles and focus setting yourself on delivering on the (unfulfilled) potential.
Wondering what this post has to do with the topic, namely "The Bye"

Can we get this thread title changed to "where the bloody hell is the pre-game thread?"

I'm quiet happy I get to watch today's game on repeat for the next two weeks :cool:

Friday night footy: Pies vs Melb
Saturday arvo footy: Pies vs Melb
Saturday night footy: Pies vs melb
Sunday arvo footy: Pies vs Melb

Every night this week?!: Pies vs Melb
For some variety you can watch Melb vs Pies?

Banner_zpszjo98eza.jpg

Teams about to have a bye should play other teams who are about to have a bye.
Similarly, teams coming off a bye should play other teams coming off a bye...
Surely this is fair and easy enough to organise, with the possible exception of the early "China game" bye?

Would love to come out after the bye and just flog Carlton by 100. Come out with the same pressure we used against Melbourne and absolutely destroy them psychologically. It would be beautiful to watch

I think it has come at a great time.
The media have jumped on us as potential Premiership material having the week off will get us out of the news again and let another team take the spotlight. The longer we can fly under the radar the better IMO. Boys will freshen up mentally and physically and get themselves ready for a big final 10 weeks. This is a better team than 2014 when we fell off a cliff in the second half. We have experience on all lines, good players to come back into the side, a good amount of depth, and a reasonably good draw.
I'm not convinced on the contender talk just yet, but as the last 2 years have shown if you make the 8 anything can happen.
Living in Canada i'm going to enjoy the weekend off as well. No getting up in middle of night to watch a game.
Out of the news? I’m sure there’s another player playing frisbee with his dog story cooking up. I hope not!

Interesting bit of information for you all.

We could/should be 3rd by next Sunday night.

Why/How?

Richmond should beat Geelong and I’m hoping WCE can beat Sydney. Then next week Geelong and Sydney have a bye and Port should beat Melbourne.

So come Sunday, we smash Carlton and propel to 3rd on the ladder.

Interesting bit of information for you all.

We could/should be 3rd by next Sunday night.

Why/How?

Richmond should beat Geelong and I’m hoping WCE can beat Sydney. Then next week Geelong and Sydney have a bye and Port should beat Melbourne.

So come Sunday, we smash Carlton and propel to 3rd on the ladder.

13 percentage points behind those teams means we are 20 goals down on them. So we'd need to win by 15 goals and them lose by five.

More realistic is we snatch third on percentage the week later when we demolish the Suns!!