Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

Am I the only person that thinks this timeline of events is totally insane?

1. Charlie gets subbed out of the game with a calf complaint.
2. He's touch and go to play due to said calf complaint.
3. He's selected to play.
4. He arrives at the MCG on his BIKE in BIRKENSTOCKS.
5. Charlie proceeds to put in one of the worst performances of his career.

Who in the high-performance team signed off on all of this? It's such a terrible look to me.
What idiotic so called professional is riding a bike wearing Birkenstocks? If only he had half of Ed’s professionalism and work ethic

Isaac Smith used to ride his bike to games and he’s a 4x Premiership Player and Norm Smith medallist. Let’s not go too crazy over how a player got to the game.

What idiotic so called professional is riding a bike wearing Birkenstocks? If only he had half of Ed’s professionalism and work ethic

Ed Curnow, professional. Charlie Curnow, unprofessional.

Ollie Hollands, professional. Elijah Hollands, unprofessional.

Get rid of both unprofessional brothers and whoever else doesn’t take it seriously.

Season was over after the pathetic loss to the Tigers, nail has been the coffin since then and now after the North loss the casket is sealed and almost buried.

This club is a disgrace, the same crap for 30 odd years, the same excuses, lacking any spirt, or game sense or skills. This has been happening for 30 years now, not going to get any better we have become a soulless club, with no hope.

We are paying 6 or 7 players our salary cap, these so called leaders are stealing their salary from the club, and a very comfortable being conditional. But we haven't learned and we never will, culture is hard to build and seems like we don't really care as a club.

Ed Curnow, professional. Charlie Curnow, unprofessional.

Ollie Hollands, professional. Elijah Hollands, unprofessional.

Get rid of both unprofessional brothers and whoever else doesn’t take it seriously.
Get rid of Charlie Curnow? Okay, I reckon we’ve gone into completely hysterical mode

No one is bigger than the club. I want to see this club makes finals regularly and win flags. I don’t care about individual accolades.

Reading my way through the hype and mayhem as I always do multiple times every single day of my life. It's really sad for us all. Other than a few positive glitches, the mods could block all of us from posting from the first day of the new season. They could then blanket copy this, or any other seasons worth of threads and posts from the past 30 years and we would all be non the wiser.
Sad but true!

No one is bigger than the club. I want to see this club makes finals regularly and win flags. I don’t care about individual accolades.
That’s fine. But you don’t just discard your best players because they do things their own way. Especially ones to the level of Charlie. Your job as a coach is to get the best out of those players. Imagine if the pies had gotten rid of De Goey, or the tigers with Dusty, giants with Greene. They all do things their own way, but the way their clubs nurtured them allowed them to thrive

In 7 games this year he's had zero tackles. Zero, not one, nada! If that's not a lack of intent and not giving a stuff I dont know what is. I have always said, your dont need to be a superstar to tackle and apply pressure, just good, honest intent.

I have been a big critic of Stephen Silvagni for years, regardless of what role he is in now, what he thinks of the club and how he conducts himself regarding our club, should have sweet F all in any decision on who we appoint captain.

If Jack is the best candidate, then that’s that.

Walsh and Silvagni are captain material, both are hungry and desperate to get better, both bits their guts, both have limitations, i see what everyone else sees in games, but i have no idea what either ar like off field, which s also a huge part of being a good leader.

Thought they all made good points.
You know, when you strip it all back, you can have whatever game plan you want, if you dont execute the key basic skills well, you end up in our predicament. Dont want to harp on Thurs night but if your sadist enough to watch it again, count the:
  • dropped marks (uncontested)
  • missed easy goals
  • missed goals from close range that went OOTF
  • Handballs to players feet
  • Missed targets by foot
  • Missed/slipped tackles
These kill you. These mistakes were made by senior players, not Flynn Young or Billy Wilson, senior, experienced star players. Again, basics junior footy stuff. This shit adds up week after week.
Forget lack of leg speed, forget being able to hit those million dollar zone piercing kicks as I like to call them, forget the poor decision making and straying from structures, I'm talking about basic skills that are fluffed far too often. This must stem from the mental part of the game.

You know, when you strip it all back, you can have whatever game plan you want, if you dont execute the key basic skills well, you end up in our predicament. Dont want to harp on last night but if your sadist enough to watch it again, count the:
  • dropped marks
  • missed easy goals
  • Missed targets by foot
  • Missed/slipped tackles
These kill you. These mistakes were made by senior players, not Flynn Young or Billy Wilson, senior, experienced star players. Again, basics junior footy stuff. This shit adds up week after week.
I’ve never seen the players fumble so much it’s been happening all season

You know, when you strip it all back, you can have whatever game plan you want, if you dont execute the key basic skills well, you end up in our predicament
That's the killer about our poor scoring efficiency. We have had the opportunity to win most games this season if only we'd converted enough of the chances we had.
It's not as if we can't get enough of the ball.

I’ve never seen the players fumble so much it’s been happening all season
I just added to my post, this must be the mental side of the game, you could see the panic setting in the other night getting worse with every minute. Deer in the headlight stuff. Weitering more or less admitted as much on the ABC interview he did. The positive is he reckons they stayed connected and united despite the poor showing. The extra weird part of this is that blokes like Cripps and Harry are studying psychology, I think another one or two are also studying it.

You know, when you strip it all back, you can have whatever game plan you want, if you dont execute the key basic skills well, you end up in our predicament. Dont want to harp on Thurs night but if your sadist enough to watch it again, count the:
  • dropped marks (uncontested)
  • missed easy goals
  • Missed targets by foot
  • Missed/slipped tackles
Forget lack of leg speed, forget being able to hit those million dollar zone piercing kicks as I like to call them, forget the poor decision making and straying from structures, I'm talking about basic skills that are fluffed far too often. This must stem from the mental part of the game.
Mental, and not trained sufficiently.

“All I ever see is Charlie putting his hand up and they (the Blues players) put it on his head,” Pagan said.
“Get someone like Wayne Carey down and teach him how to lead … to do a stop-start lead, a diagonal lead, a zig-zag lead. he has only one string to his bow.”

I agree with Pagan here. It doesn't have to be Carey, could be Fevola. Someone bloody teach our forwards how to make a lead. They can only run in a straight line to make a lead. Not to mention shepherding during a contested marking - it's a non-existing skill in our club. Our development coaches are shit.

Mate, didn't you know they have former gun key forward Jordan Russell teaching them?

James Hird shouldn't be allowed near a football club again.
While I agree with this at its core, this statement makes it sound like he tried killing a bloke or something.

I have no issues with him working in a VFL role for up and comers and aspiring AFL players, just should never be left in charge of an AFL footy team again.

Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

Write your reply...