Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

Mate, didn't you know they have former gun key forward Jordan Russell teaching them?
While the defence has gun key defender Aaron Hamill. It’s been proven time and time again that a coach doesn’t have to be a gun footballer to be a coach. You just have to be a good teacher. That being said, why we have Hamill in defence instead of teaching our forwards how to lead, I have no idea.

While I agree with this at its core, this statement makes it sound like he tried killing a bloke or something.

I have no issues with him working in a VFL role for up and comers and aspiring AFL players, just should never be left in charge of an AFL footy team again.
he tried to profit off testing an unapproved performance enhancing drug on his players, investing and trying to get his mates to invest in the compnay making AOD-9604.

Apart from the drug cheating he added a another layer because that is so beyond unethical even if the players knew what they were taking*.

If your boss was testing an illegal drug on you that he had a financial stake in outside of football you'd be talking about criminal charges.

I don't think that arrogance and wilful disregard for others should be anywhere in football, doubly so at junior level, that's before his own 'wonder drug' recovery from a career ending foot injury.

*my 2c is they didn't know what they were taking but they all knew it wasn't above board so cheats.

While the defence has gun key defender Aaron Hamill. It’s been proven time and time again that a coach doesn’t have to be a gun footballer to be a coach. You just have to be a good teacher. That being said, why we have Hamill in defence instead of teaching our forwards how to lead, I have no idea.

Mate, wtf would Jordan Russell know about forward craft? Give me one shrivel of evidence he knows what he's doing...

He probably regales the forwards every day with tales of the day that he kept Steve Johnson goalless and then finishes up by saying, “Do the opposite of what Steve Johnson did that day.”

While I agree with this at its core, this statement makes it sound like he tried killing a bloke or something.

I have no issues with him working in a VFL role for up and comers and aspiring AFL players, just should never be left in charge of an AFL footy team again.
I assume that you and everyone else here has no idea what Hird did or didn’t know or no idea if he knew the extent or depth of what was happening.

Hird if he has done his time then should be free to explore any job he wants.

Why is the head coach the one to carry the can for a club sports science program?

How would you know what Russel offers in a coaching capacity?

A player who was a top 10 draft pick, made a career playing AFL, then went and captained a team to a VFL premiership and then moved in to coaching, seems a good CV to me.

By your logic, what makes Scott Selwood a good forward coach? He wasn’t a great player, certainly not a prominent forward.

Well that's easy, I watch every game we play...

A player who was a top 10 draft pick, made a career playing AFL, then went and captained a team to a VFL premiership and then moved in to coaching, seems a good CV to me.

By your logic, what makes Scott Selwood a good forward coach? He wasn’t a great player, certainly not a prominent forward.

And by your logic Scott Selwood success means Jordan Russell success... despite all the evidence to the contrary...

Plain and Simply by how our forward line is functioning and our players within it

Well that's easy, I watch every game we play...

And by your logic Scott Selwood success means Jordan Russell success... despite all the evidence to the contrary...
I’m pointing out to people that just because you aren’t a big name, doesn’t mean you can’t coach.

You didn’t have to be a quality player to be a good coach and you didn’t have to be a good forward to be a forwards coach.

I’ve also watched us every week and I’ve also seen you talk about our small/medium forwards be the worst in the league and our list in need of a major rebuild.

So what do you expect with this?

I’m just saying that Russell isn’t responsible for Charlie’s lack of effort, lack of aggression, Harry’s personal issues and our small forward quality, he’s also not responsible for slow ball movement.

We will see who Wright does and does not rate in a month r so

I’m pointing out to people that just because you aren’t a big name, doesn’t mean you can’t coach.

You didn’t have to be a quality player to be a good coach and you didn’t have to be a good forward to be a forwards coach.

I agree with this... don't need to be a big name...

But again, JR just hasn't done a great job...

I’ve also watched us every week and I’ve also seen you talk about our small/medium forwards be the worst in the league and our list in need of a major rebuild.

So what do you expect with this?

I expect that at the very least the key targets make lead patterns instead of standing back and wrestling...

I expect the small forwards to at least try and be present when the ball comes to ground...

I expect the small forwards to apply f50 pressure...

I expect the small forwards to at least be able to kick a goal from 20m out on slight angles...

Sure, they aren't great players... but they should be able to perform these basics regardless... I mean they are AFL players after all...

Not sure where you saw me say they're the worst in the league, my main whinge has been about our midfield tbf...

I’m just saying that Russell isn’t responsible for Charlie’s lack of effort, lack of aggression, Harry’s personal issues and our small forward quality, he’s also not responsible for slow ball movement.

We will see who Wright does and does not rate in a month r so

Ok I agree with what he's not responsible for, now tell me what Russell is responsible for...

I agree with this... don't need to be a big name...

But again, JR just hasn't done a great job...

I expect that at the very least the key targets make lead patterns instead of standing back and wrestling...

I expect the small forwards to at least try and be present when the ball comes to ground...

I expect the small forwards to apply f50 pressure...

I expect the small forwards to at least be able to kick a goal from 20m out on slight angles...

Sure, they aren't great players... but they should be able to perform these basics regardless... I mean they are AFL players after all...

Not sure where you saw me say they're the worst in the league, my main whinge has been about our midfield tbf...

Ok I agree with what he's not responsible for, now tell me what Russell is responsible for...
No idea what Russell is responsible for but I do know that Charlie’s lack of effort isn’t confined to this season and the two big forwards have always got in each others way rather than complimented each other for ages

Pretty much everything I listed... plus there's a few more things... when to lead up the ground, how to identify/create space and separation etc.

Now tell me, has he improved them in any of those areas?

Don't know if this has been posted anywhere else, but I reckon JSOS will be giving his brother a bit of lip over the greatest mark of all time from last weekend.....a "Garry Lyon Special" 🤣

View attachment 2358208

I saw that mark, it was ridiculous! The lady on the hill on the far side jumps out of her deck chair, quality!

Just a friendly reminder that prior to that gws game last year, we’d won a previous 22-28 games

We have now lost somewhere in the vicinity of 17 of the last 25 (or somewhere around that mark)

So which team are we really??? What is the real Carlton?? Prob somewhere lying in the middle…

We regenerate on the run and a lot of our chips are in place, we desperately need to fix the 25% of the fabric of this club that’s dragging us down..

Again, we were runaway top 2 side for two thirds of 2024…

Just a friendly reminder that prior to that gws game last year, we’d won a previous 22-28 games

We have now lost somewhere in the vicinity of 17 of the last 25 (or somewhere around that mark)

So which team are we really??? What is the real Carlton?? Prob somewhere lying in the middle…

We regenerate on the run and a lot of our chips are in place, we desperately need to fix the 25% of the fabric of this club that’s dragging us down..

Again, we were runaway top 2 side for two thirds of 2024…
It seems pointless living in the past. We are currently 12th and we had an pretty easy draw.

If GW or Voss or whoever is telling the powers that be that we were good 12 months ago than we may as well shut up shop for good. The here and now is really disappointing and we are playing pathetic football.

Facts are, we have a lot of well paid players not playing well and potentially not a great middle tier group and maybe some shoots with the younger kids.

It will be interesting to watch how this all unravels over the next 2 or so months. I’ll be shocked if the list doesn’t see a drastic overhaul and the majority of coaches tossed away.

Hi all,

Our game-plan is fundamentally flawed.

• We are last for disposal efficiency
  • We are 2nd last for kicking efficiency and 5th at 60% of using kicking as a disposal
  • We are 3rd last for rebounding out of our defensive 50m
  • We are 4th last for hard ball gets but 1st for free ball
  • We are 2nd and 3rd for tackling (so we aren't soft)

These stats above tell me that we move the ball slowly and poorly by foot. When we win (like the Geelong game) we tend to move quickly.

What is the point in having key forwards that can mark if you don't move the ball quickly? Why do we hold onto the ball and turn it over. We are in the bottom 8 with clearances and stoppages.

We should be playing outside and fast way more often.

Is this the coaches fault? Pretty much. We plan to go slow and it simply doesn't work. We are not skilled enough by foot to play a slow game style.

TA

Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3