Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

93 Grand final epic???

I know Geelong fans want to put an * on our 1995 flag, but 1993 was the only GF where the winning team was found to have rorted the salary cap.

All these decades later and that football club universally being known as * moving forward is karma. **** ‘em.

I know Geelong fans want to put an * on our 1995 flag, but 1993 was the only GF where the winning team was found to have rorted the salary cap.

All these decades later and that football club universally being known as * moving forward is karma. **** ‘em.
The cats shouldn’t be throwing shade at any salary cap breaches as they have become the masters at paying players outside the cap for years.
As well as their shady dealings with Dank, “the weapon” and bomber for their breakthrough flag in 07 quite suspect.
They are the darlings of AFL House and have reaped a lot of benefits over the journey.

Club has the best PR spinners in the league

If they’re smart enough to read the room they’ll realise that the goodwill finished against Richmond in round one this season.
Not interested in their relentless “wholesome” narrative.
Supporters just want a committed and combative team to follow.

As the late Ron Barassi once famously shared :
RESULTS !!
You give me bloody results and I’ll shut up !!

As for their PR spinning …

View attachment Dirty Harry - Clint Eastwood - Stick It In Your Ass.mp4

Not sure if it's been mentioned anywhere, but David Parkin was on SEN this morning. For a person who just celebrated their 83rd B'day, he is still incredibly sharp and articulate.

Anyway, they were discussing the recent 1995 premiership re-union, and said it was an amazing occasion. Every player was in attendance, including Matt Clape who flew over from Perth....well, every player except for Stephen Silvagni.

Being the diplomat he is, Parkin described it as 'sad and disappointing'.....I would tend to describe it as him being a total flog who has no respect for his past coach or team-mates. It's all about him.

Not sure if it's been mentioned anywhere, but David Parkin was on SEN this morning. For a person who just celebrated their 83rd B'day, he is still incredibly sharp and articulate.

Anyway, they were discussing the recent 1995 premiership re-union, and said it was an amazing occasion. Every player was in attendance, including Matt Clape who flew over from Perth....well, every player except for Stephen Silvagni.

Being the diplomat he is, Parkin described it as 'sad and disappointing'.....I would tend to describe it as him being a total flog who has no respect for his past coach or team-mates. It's all about him.

Ah well, Stephen Silvagni obviously has issues he needs to work through in his own head. Everyone has moved on from his sacking and he is still stuck in the past and for someone of Stephen’s stature in the sport that is frankly ridiculous.

To me this seems much deeper than his sacking from the club.
This reunion would have been an event that had little focus from current club people and much more the club as it was during these players era.
If sos can’t even attend this event, it would point to bad blood with his cohort and not the club as it is today.
He is a bitter man to not be able to attend.
One would think he had enough friends at this event to shield him from feeling a bit of discomfort from past events?

This reunion would have been an event that had little focus from current club people and much more the club as it was during these players era.
If sos can’t even attend this event, it would point to bad blood with his cohort and not the club as it is today.
One would think he had enough friends at this event to shield him from feeling a bit of discomfort from past events?

He couldn’t even attend his son’s 100th game celebrations either. This is definitely something he needs to work through on his own as his overnight dislike of all things Carlton has become pretty bizarre.

I'm sure it's great comfort to him that everyone has moved on from his own sacking...

Clape is a great bloke and still loves his footy......he was in the East Perth rooms after they won the prelim in the WAFL last sunday celebrating as hard as anyone.

Goes back to 'the paper bag' era!

It's fair to say, Brown Dog and quite a few others are not fans!

Harry and Ben are doing an AMA over on Reddit later today.

If anyone has any questions please post them there.

If you don't have a Reddit account it's free to join and contribute.

I've got Patty Kinnersley attending my Brekky in the next couple of weeks as our Key Note speaker, any questions fellow Baggers?
I'd be keen to understand what changes to resourcing (if any) in the mental health space are being made at our club. We have had a few players (that we know of) having mental health issues so I'd imagine the club would invest more time and money in this area. Perhaps we are well resourced, keen to understand though. Coupled with the sports psychology side of the game, I think our club appears (from the outside at least) to be lacking in this area.
Cheers and Well Done with all your work.
G2C

Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3