Roast The Chronicles of Alan Richardson - Part II - Richo Resigns (16/07)

Crusty Undies

This means peace here!
Oct 22, 2016
And we weren’t the only team this season as I mentioned. Pies beat them by 19, Port beat them by 16.
Do you really reckon Geelong are going into a Carlton game thinking "ooh this is a danger game boys, we better play our absolute best footy of all time because there's serious risk of us losing this"? No. The cognitive dissonance is unreal if you think every team in the league sees Carlton as a danger game.

VDS66

Oct 4, 2011
Do you really reckon Geelong are going into a Carlton game thinking "ooh this is a danger game boys, we better play our absolute best footy of all time because there's serious risk of us losing this"? No. The cognitive dissonance is unreal if you think every team in the league sees Carlton as a danger game.
Ease up tiger.

Oct 2, 2010
It's not like every team in the competition is smashing them either.
They have had games where they looked like witches hats this year but to suggest they have been in rabble in every game this year is completely wrong.

Crusty Undies

This means peace here!
Oct 22, 2016
They have had games where they looked like witches hats this year but to suggest they have been in rabble in every game this year is completely wrong.
And yet they've won 4 of their last 45 games. They are unequivocally the worst team in the comp.

Sep 15, 2006
Wodonga
Leeds United

Had it not been for injuries they would have beaten Hawthorn in Tassie as well. 38 points up at half time and then they started falling like flies.

Cognitive dissonance, wow.
Wrong context, however.

Crusty Undies

This means peace here!
Oct 22, 2016
Cognitive dissonance, wow.
Wrong context, however.
Actually no. Cognitive Dissonance is to hold two conflicting beliefs. For example, we shouldn't have beaten Carlton by more because it was a danger game and they're alright. However they're also the worst team in the league having won 4 of their last 45 games and consistently get flogged by decent teams.

Sep 17, 2010
Manchester City, AIK, Raiders
And we weren’t the only team this season as I mentioned. Pies beat them by 19, Port beat them by 16. And, they thrashed the Dogs by 44.

Granted, we’re not a great team, but the Pies were grand finalists and had a hard time with them.
Agreed, the competition is as even as *, there are no easy games.

Actually no. Cognitive Dissonance is to hold two conflicting beliefs. For example, we shouldn't have beaten Carlton by more because it was a danger game and they're alright. However they're also the worst team in the league having won 4 of their last 45 games and consistently get flogged by decent teams.

Yes, I do know what it means, but thanks for the explanation anyway!

My belief (and the only one I stated) is that it WAS a danger game because they had backs to the wall, because we had a younger team than them and because in most of their games this year they have been pretty competitive.

The cognitive dissonance is not correct therefore, considering the belief of your last sentence was stated by you and not by me at all.

And yet they've won 4 of their last 45 games. They are unequivocally the worst team in the comp.

I think they have been drafting well the last 3 years at least. At some point they will do a Brisbane, occasionally they show signs of the talent they have. They have the most first round talent of any team in history.

Sir Skid

Just one Kegs lady boys!
10k Posts BeanCoiNFT Investor Ex-Moderator St Kilda - Nathan Freeman Player Sponsor 2016
Nov 30, 2012
Behind you
Cognitive dissentry

giphy (10).gif

Jan 10, 2011
Ormond AFC
Do you really think we have a list anywhere near like Geelong. Why compare the best. Compare sides around us

Jan 10, 2011
Ormond AFC
I think they have been drafting well the last 3 years at least. At some point they will do a Brisbane, occasionally they show signs of the talent they have. They have the most first round talent of any team in history.
Really. Gold Coast and gws May disagree. They also show you can have all the talent in the world but if you don’t use it then it falls apart. Gws were winning about 3 flags by now. Gc probably similar.

It was on the radio the other day. They did last year as well but lost Gibbs.

Sep 28, 2016
Cognitive dissonance or not.
You are right about Carlton.
0-3-3 to 6-4-40 halfway through the second and not even looking like buying a goal.

Sep 28, 2016
Cognitive dissonance or not.
You are right about Carlton.
0-3-3 to 6-4-40 halfway through the second and not even looking like buying a goal.
Well, that post certainly didn’t age well.
Clearly neither I nor Crusty Undies have any idea about Carlton.
Well, me anyway.

Sep 28, 2016
North & Blues looking great guns with a new coach & voice. North could even make finals!

Sack Richo, promote Rats & with a relatively easy draw we make finals!
Ha, you know it won’t work like that.
We’ll sack Richo and appoint Ratts as temp.
He’ll stub his toe the next day and develop gangrene.
Off to the hospital for a toe-ectomy and out of action.
Danny Sexton gets the senior gig (as Director of Coaching - why not?) and promptly leads us to a bottom three finish.
Where Gubby finishes it off by trading that pick away for Polec and Pittard from NM cause Gubby has wasted too much time scoffing lattes with the Pelican.
Then, by the time we’ve got around to looking for a coach, Ratts is one legged, and anyone else of interest have committed to long term contracts.
So we’re left with some untried newbie out of C Grade Ammos, who happens to be great mates with Satan and plugger66.
At least the upside will be more quality posting by p for BF.

VDS66

Oct 4, 2011
Carlton have won
Ha, you know it won’t work like that.
We’ll sack Richo and appoint Ratts as temp.
He’ll stub his toe the next day and develop gangrene.
Off to the hospital for a toe-ectomy and out of action.
Danny Sexton gets the senior gig (as Director of Coaching - why not?) and promptly leads us to a bottom three finish.
Where Gubby finishes it off by trading that pick away for Polec and Pittard from NM cause Gubby has wasted too much time scoffing lattes with the Pelican.
Then, by the time we’ve got around to looking for a coach, Ratts is one legged, and anyone else of interest have committed to long term contracts.
So we’re left with some untried newbie out of C Grade Ammos, who happens to be great mates with Satan and plugger66.
At least the upside will be more quality posting by p for BF.

You forgot to mention your mate will demand we sack Ratten and whoever appointed him...