Coach The Coach

• Thread starter Thread starter ibd77

but he's made it clear the brisbane job will be his last as head coach. think he referred to the weather in tassie in the comment too.;) i'm warming to buckley.
Buckley would be great.

A lot of people give Buckley a hard time and say he is no good, but he was kick away from a flag with Collingwood.

He did some good things at the Pies despite him not getting the ultimate success, I love his passion and to me he way better than someone like Michael Voss who got the Carlton gig.

A lot of people give Buckley a hard time and say he is no good, but he was kick away from a flag with Collingwood.

He did some good things at the Pies despite him not getting the ultimate success, I love his passion and to me he way better than someone like Michael Voss who got the Carlton gig.
He comes across as super professional and he is also a good media person and a big name and personality which will be great for our state!

As a Collingwood fan who is a Devils member and will fully transfer my allegiance after the Pies win the flag this year - this would make that transition a little easier.

He is clearly a reflective and inclusive leader who establishes behavioural standards and holds himself and others to them. He knows when to give some leeway and when to put the foot down and he knows there is a careful balance between the need for consistency and adaptability (situational and individual) on this.

His statements on leadership transcend football and are applicable in any situation where true leadership needs to be exhibited.

If his desire to build a culture of success can outweigh his desire to simply win a premiership then he should take the job. But only he will know that.

Regards

S. Pete

I'm onboard with Bucks as coach. I've been a closet supporter of his even back when it was very unfashionable to say anything positive about him. He's got the hard edge you need, but he's also learned a lot about the human side with all the trials and tribulations of his career.

I think either Buckley or Horse would be great coaches.
I reckon unless Chris Scott wants a fresh challenge, the job is gonna go to Buckley.

Wouldn't be surprised if Ken Hinkley is announced as footy manager either.

At the start, the new coach needs to create the club, not just work the list...

This was the entire point of Sheedy at GWS, and more recently we've seen what Scott Roth did with a brand new franchise in Tasmania...both were spectacular successes, one in a hostile environment, the other bemusedly ambivalent before they realised Tasmania had a team in something...

The environment this coach will get is a historically aligned one, a proud state who knows the game, with some unique challenges that, left to fester, could cause problems...if the state gets the merest notion of disunity or regional bias, it could be catastrophic, an uncertainty right now because we still don't know how this stadium business will pan out...plenty of wheeling and dealing and politics left in that one...

The closest team experience to our own is Port Adelaide, and for me that means Ken Hinkley must be a prime contender. He's had to ride out a lot and done a pretty good job over the longest term a Port coach has ever managed...

Hinkley, plus quality succession and assistance around him...looks familiar...

hodgey, in an interview today, didn't rule out a return to footy involvement at some time in the future. a very handy assistant coach.
I specifically made a trip to Brisbane from the pointy bit of Qld in 2018, when the Hawks played there after a Gabba absence of a decade, just to see Luke Hodge for one last time. They beat us, and I sat there watching him right in front of me in the back pocket, as he mentored his juniors to a pretty emphatic win...the crowd got boisterous for the first time since the threepeat, and a loud but small crowd in an echoing empty stadium is a bizarre sound...I really think the Lions were back for good as of that night...

Hodgy replaced Dunstall as my favourite all time footballer, and when the kid said she wanted another dog a few years back, I said only on the proviso that I got to name it...I was thinking Joey JoJo Junior Shabadoo at the time, but Hodgey has since emerged as the other contender...

Dream come true if he went to Tassie...

Looks like Tasmania will have competition for their Coach, given they said they want a coach locked in late 2025/early 2026.

Dees sacking Goodwin & Carlton likely to sack maybe Voss?
Where did they say that? I suppose if they're timing it for VFL team entry and preseason. Voss and Hinkley are both a chance to get the arse at the end of the year. Edit: nvm forgot Hinkley is already handing over to Josh Carr.

Where did they say that? I suppose if they're timing it for VFL team entry and preseason. Voss and Hinkley are both a chance to get the arse at the end of the year.
Gale said it, the club have been speaking in the background already to coaches, they have already had a few meetings with Buckley the search has already started.

that's interesting cos the last time bucks spoke publicly on the matter, he indicated there had been little in the way of discussion. the fact hine is there says to me bucks has it if he wants it.

If true, shocked Bucks is interested in the Melbourne job over Tassie, it will be much harder at the Dees.

Buckley looking at Dees coaching job doesn't surprise me actually.
I think Bucks reservations about coaching Tassie was his role would be more of an establishment/teaching coach as opposed to building and coaching a side to a flag in the foreseeable future.

I do think being a startup club, we need an experienced coach.

I was just hoping it would be Chris Scott 😂
I'd be more than happy with Buckley also.
It's going take a special breed to build Devils from scratch. Be interesting to see who gets that massive challenge handed to them.

So Buckley knocked back Demons job.
Wonder if Tassie is the reason why.
Maybe, he'd be out of the job for several years, though. Coaching rust is what I would be concerned with. However there needs to be a big name. Maybe,, Horse?

So Buckley knocked back Demons job.
Wonder if Tassie is the reason why.
It’s quite possible. In the long run, it would be in his best interest not to coach Melbourne. Tasmania would be a better fit for him.

Quote from journo Peter Ryan:
"Buckley has been having ongoing chats with Tassie Devils about coaching gig, remains in frame to be their inaugural coach. Tassie was happy to let Melb situation play out & Buckley was transparent through Dees process."