Hodgey 15
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Tasmania
Coaching Tassie was his preference over Demons job.

Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
That seems to be the consensus.Could be a good chance to get back into coaching and learn a thing or two from Scott for a couple of years before joining us? Although I was assuming the coach would be appointed 2027. Bucks doesn't seem like the type who's turn down a head coach role to be an assistant though.
It would be better for him to re-enter the coaching ranks rather than take a time-out since his last coaching stint. Smart decision before getting to tassieNathan Buckley going to Geelong as an assistant coach. Interesting development in light of his interest in Tassie job.
Didn't see this coming.
It seems they're just waiting on the unconditional licence being granted once the stadium goes through.unusual to congratulate an assistant coaching position… would appear a fait accompli for the Tas head role. In all seriousness, smart move by Bucks embedding himself into the what makes the Geelong program successful for a year
View attachment 2456371
Benny Gale said in an interview that he didn't know about the Geelong role until just before it was announced.Would be so interesting to know the behind the scenes discussions Buckley has had with Gale. Was he actually told get back into coaching and it’s yours in a year? Wouldn’t make sense to promise anything unless it’s on paper.
From what I'm reliably told, it was Buckley's idea.Would be so interesting to know the behind the scenes discussions Buckley has had with Gale. Was he actually told get back into coaching and it’s yours in a year? Wouldn’t make sense to promise anything unless it’s on paper.
I'm with you Hodgey 15 but I've mates in the AFL "system" that still say Longmire is our man.I would be quite surprised if Buckley isn't name Tassie's inaugural coach.
Longmire would be an interesting pick.I'm with you Hodgey 15 but I've mates in the AFL "system" that still say Longmire is our man.
I'm very sure it'll be Buckley.
100% it's bucks. the time at geelong is to re-familiarise himself with the locker room, update himself on any strategy changes since he last coached, and gather some i.p. he spoke to benny before accepting the gig.I reckon unless Chris Scott wants a fresh challenge, the job is gonna go to Buckley.
Wouldn't be surprised if Ken Hinkley is announced as footy manager either.
I don't get it either. He's super smart guy with a great footy brain.I don’t get the negativity towards Buckley. He is meant to be a good development coach as long as they put the right people with him.
The feeling needs to be mutual. Does Tassie want Bucks as coach? Or are they looking elsewhere?![]()
Bucks wants Tassie coaching job, Butters tribunal hearing unpacked
Nat Edwards, Riley Beveridge and Damian Barrett discuss Wednesday's biggest footy stories on the AFL Daily podcastwww.afl.com.au
Buckley wants Tassie coaching job.
Devils sounded like they were pretty keen also.The feeling needs to be mutual. Does Tassie want Bucks as coach? Or are they looking elsewhere?