The Cricket Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter eldorado

If the stupid prick cant do a simple task when he is on the fringe, then **** him.

In that case we will put all four players on the 'never to play for Aust again' list in that case.

God help us if Clarke sleeps thru his wake-up alarm....

In that case we will put all four players on the 'never to play for Aust again' list in that case.

God help us if Clarke sleeps thru his wake-up alarm....

Question, what do you think the reaction would be from Clarko if he requested the players to give their feedback, and a few decided to not bother doing it??

It's not that they shouldn't play for Australia again, it's that they have to buy in to the team ethos. It's no different at any footy club, yet if the Aussie cricket team tries to enforce something similar, they are lambasted as incompetent fools.

Question, what do you think the reaction would be from Clarko if he requested the players to give their feedback, and a few decided to not bother doing it??

It's not that they shouldn't play for Australia again, it's that they have to buy in to the team ethos. It's no different at any footy club, yet if the Aussie cricket team tries to enforce something similar, they are lambasted as incompetent fools.

Maybe we would but he wouldn't have dragged it thru the media as the CA has done. I think we all agree that this is a minor breech of the 'team ethos'. As I said before, does it need the media exposure that it has now gotten?

Watson should have been given the ass imo anyway so no great loss but to suspend your leading wicket taker in the series when your struggling to take 10 wickets let alone 20 is just mind boggling!

The cricket world is laughing at us. What ever respect / aura is well and truly gone.

Enough of politics, I listened to an article today on Cricinfo and found the associated article. Explains why we are up shit creek.

Australia's gaping hole at No. 3

Over the last three years, Australia's No. 3 batsmen have averaged 27.13 in Tests, which is worse than all teams except New Zealand and Zimbabwe

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/623973.html

Listening to Chapelli today, he made comment that you put your best batters at the top of the order and you let the rest of them sort things out amongst themselves.

Maybe we would but he wouldn't have dragged it thru the media as the CA has done. I think we all agree that this is a minor breech of the 'team ethos'. As I said before, does it need the media exposure that it has now gotten?

Watson should have been given the arse imo anyway so no great loss but to suspend your leading wicket taker in the series when your struggling to take 10 wickets let alone 20 is just mind boggling!

The cricket world is laughing at us. What ever respect / aura is well and truly gone.

Let them laugh. They are trying to build a culture back in the team. Something like this would never have happended under Steve Waugh's leadership, ever. And if you think that they wouldn;t have had to these sorts of self evaluations under Waugh's regime, then you don;t realise the sort of regime he and Buck Buchanan had.

I think suspending Pattinson shows that they are serious. There is a simple standard set now. You buy in to what we want to do, how we want to play, how we want to go about it, or you leave.

Let them laugh. They are trying to build a culture back in the team. Something like this would never have happended under Steve Waugh's leadership, ever. And if you think that they wouldn;t have had to these sorts of self evaluations under Waugh's regime, then you don;t realise the sort of regime he and Buck Buchanan had.

I think suspending Pattinson shows that they are serious. There is a simple standard set now. You buy in to what we want to do, how we want to play, how we want to go about it, or you leave.

That's all well and good, but not a shred of your post is correct.

Buchanan was the clown who started all this evaluation shit in the first place. Read some cricket autobiographies and read what the ex players thought of he and his methods.

Its all fine setting standards that all players must abide to ect, but we will have a player batting at number 3 averaging 6.25 but thats ok, since he got his essay back before the dead line!

Wheres the consistency?

Enough of politics, I listened to an article today on Cricinfo and found the associated article. Explains why we are up shit creek.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/623973.html

Listening to Chapelli today, he made comment that you put your best batters at the top of the order and you let the rest of them sort things out amongst themselves.

Really worrying stat isn;t it. For so long we've prided ourselves of having great number 3s. Ponting, Boon, Ian Chappell, especially during our strong periods.

Can Clarke take that responsibility on?? Or should he stay at 5 (or 4 at the highest)??

Buchanan was the clown who started all this evaluation shit in the first place. Read some cricket autobiographies and read what the ex players thought of he and his methods.

Its all fine setting standards that all players must abide to ect, but we will have a player batting at number 3 averaging 6.25 but thats ok, since he got his essay back before the dead line!

Wheres the consistency?

Like him or lump him, he took Australia from a good side, to one of the best ever.

Hughes is there by default, he would know that, and he gets a shot at redemption. You could look at it this way, if Khawaja had actually done what he was asked, and really what he was paid for, he might be our new number 3

You don't find it odd that Lehmann and the Queensland staff all say Khawaja works incredibly hard, yet CA says different?

You don't think a guy looking to play in the Test side does everything he can to impress anyone and everyone?

Please.

So why didn't he do the task?? there are 17 players on that tour, 13 of them did it. In the papers this morning, they were saying Patto and Watson were due to see Arthur on Sunday apparently, Johnson and Khawaja just forgot. Forgot?? Seriously?? What are they doing over there that is keeping these gusy so enthralled that the can;t do a simple task for the coach?? I mean f#$k me, he has probably completed stuffed up his chances of playing for some time, yet this is the guy that we are all pinning our top order's future on.

Bring it back to footy, if Brad Hill was asked by Clarko to do something, and he failed to do it cause he forgot, where do you reckon he would be in the reckoning right now?? He'd be nowhere

So why didn't he do the task?? there are 17 players on that tour, 13 of them did it. In the papers this morning, they were saying Patto and Watson were due to see Arthur on Sunday apparently, Johnson and Khawaja just forgot. Forgot?? Seriously?? What are they doing over there that is keeping these gusy so enthralled that the can;t do a simple task for the coach?? I mean f#$k me, he has probably completed stuffed up his chances of playing for some time, yet this is the guy that we are all pinning our top order's future on.

Bring it back to footy, if Brad Hill was asked by Clarko to do something, and he failed to do it cause he forgot, where do you reckon he would be in the reckoning right now?? He'd be nowhere

If you genuinely believe he didn't do it, there's no point continuing this duscussion.

Please explain mate, not sure what I said was incorrect

The stuff about Buchanan for one.

Then that last paragraph. Think about it right.. you have Lyon, Doherty and Maxwell as your spin options. Admittedly they're not great options, but you don't go ahead and pick the worst of them after the #1 takes 1/3 of the total first test wickets.

How are players supposed to buy into the culture when the captain keeps pushing his bullshit agenda?

If you genuinely believe he didn't do it, there's no point continuing this duscussion.

Who Khawaja? Did he do his homework?? From everything I have read he didn't. Happy to be proven wrong if you can provide me a link

Has anymore come out today of whether this is an isolated incident or is simply the straw that broke the camel's back?

I find some of the comments of the old players amusing re training and coaching. Transpose the harking back to the methods of the 'good old days' to AFL coaching and preparation - have a steak for breakfast, get pissed after the game, run a few laps - and we'd all be decrying the lack of the professionalism. We wouldn't accept it in AFL, why is it acceptable in cricket?

That's not to say some of these new methods might be a crock and mightn't appeal to all players, but to say there isn't a place in cricket for modern coaching methods as adopted in other professional sports, seems short-sighted to me.

The stuff about Buchanan for one.

Then that last paragraph. Think about it right.. you have Lyon, Doherty and Maxwell as your spin options. Admittedly they're not great options, but you don't go ahead and pick the worst of them after the #1 takes 1/3 of the total first test wickets.

How are players supposed to buy into the culture when the captain keeps pushing his bullshit agenda?

I'm not forgiving them for some of the bizarre selections, but that is a whole different issue to what we are talking about now. In regards to dropping Patto, Collingwood dropped Dave Swan for a game last year when he went against team protocol, Geelong with Stevie J, we even dropped Hodgey after his 21st cause of an indiscretion. It's hardly earth-shattering what has happened.

Has anymore come out today of whether this is an isolated incident or is simply the straw that broke the camel's back?

I find some of the comments of the old players amusing re training and coaching. Transpose the harking back to the methods of the 'good old days' to AFL coaching and preparation - have a steak for breakfast, get pissed after the game, run a few laps - and we'd all be decrying the lack of the professionalism. That's not to say some of these new methods might be a crock and mightn't appeal to all players, but to say there isn't a place in cricket for modern coaching methods as adopted in other professional sports, seems short-sighted to me.

I'm on my phone so I can't find it now but I read before that there was a series of incidents apparently. He also called the vice captain un-professional so I'm not entirely sure what to make of it.

For the record I agree with him about Watson, just don't agree with him publicly airing it.

I'm on my phone so I can't find it now but I read before that there was a series of incidents apparently. He also called the vice captain un-professional so I'm not entirely sure what to make of it.

For the record I agree with him about Watson, just don't agree with him publicly airing it.

Yeah, off the little I know/read, and given what has been a disastrous series from the point of view of selections/management, I find it perplexing that you'd hang your players publicly. Unless, of course, the series of incidents that we don't know about justify it in some way.

Not sure, it's not impossible but I just think it's more "Clarke wanting to be the top dog amongst the pups".

Can't do that with a 31 year old vice captain next to him

Like him or lump him, he took Australia from a good side, to one of the best ever.

Hughes is there by default, he would know that, and he gets a shot at redemption. You could look at it this way, if Khawaja had actually done what he was asked, and really what he was paid for, he might be our new number 3

Pretty good captain at the time too if I remember correctly and handy players in mcgrath, warne, haydos, langer... the list goes on. One could argue that a monkey could have sat there and the team would have achieved what it did.

Maybe, maybe not. Certainly having those players helped :D