The crowd last night

Hawks have a lot of private school types that get on the piss at a night game and then abuse all and sundry. Experienced it many times.

I guess they have grown up seeing so many flags they have a ton of arrogance. Its one of the better things about the Ponsford being Collingwoods members area for all home and away games at the G, we manage to remove ourselves.

But when finals come its impossible to avoid and it can get pretty heated.

Suggest the OP txt the anti-social number displayed at the ground if they are ever threatened, targeted and downright abused. No doubt the offending parties would have been removed or at least cautioned if the behaviour was so abhorrent.

Yep. Had a whole beer spilled over me by an over exhuberant(d*ckhead) Hawks supporter, supposedly accidently. This was early in the last quarter. Him and his mates were being w***ers the whole game. So when that happened, I told him if he was still there by the end of the game, he'll be swallowing his front teeth. Fair to say he slinked off 5 minutes before the final siren.

I rank Hawthorn supporters right up there with Collingwood's. It didn't help that the majority of our supporters didn't show up. Was a terrible turn out from us. In the 36,000 crowd, I reckon we would have been lucky to have 6,000 there. Always going to be trouble when you're outnumbered like that. But tbh, I don't blame the fickle supporters, or even the hardcore supporters for that matter, for not showing up. Haven't given a yelp all season and haven't looked like getting close to the Hawks for 7 years...

We're you sitting in M13. if you were then i saw that.

I was sitting in the MCC which was about 50/50 in terms of supporters and I never saw anything untoward(probably because it was the MCC lol). I was with a mate who was getting into Melbourne a bit but it wasn't directed at any actual supporters or anything like that (he's Essendon FWIW). A very poor turnout from both clubs tbh, especially Melbourne. I know it was raining during the day but they should be getting close to 50k on a Fri night. So many completely empty areas. All clubs have shocking supporters and that can't be avioided. Against th Saints last week there was this middle age woman beind me who supportered Hawthorn but I just wanted to punch her. Abusing all the saints, appealing for the most stupid things and then insinuating the umps hate Hawthorn when it wasn't paid. Long story short every club has obnoxious w***ers that you wish didn't support you

I get that, but there's a very big difference between 'obnoxious w***er' (that stupid bastard who gets calls wrong every time and is one-eyed entirely) and having the supporters in front of you, to a man, all get up, turn around and point at you screaming for you to shut up because you're a ******** - when you simply question umpiring decisions against you (which EVERYONE does) and support Melbourne loudly.

yeh that's not on. people do stupid things when they are on the grog:thumbsd:

Boo hoo, can't handle the heat get out of the kitchen

Here's a tip - put some effort into posting here and get some runs on the board before you sprout some crap like that. This isn't Demonland or Demonology.

Me and my bro didn't go, we were out of the country (luckily as it turns out). At the start of the year it was a game we were looking forward to going to, "Friday night primetime game". Definitely would have attended if possible.

Here's a tip - put some effort into posting here and get some runs on the board before you sprout some crap like that. This isn't Demonland or Demonology.

Very well said mate :thumbsu:

I enjoy some banter at the footy...all part of the fun. However these guys just sound like a bunch of small cocked attention seekers. Gotta love them...big men when they outnumber you, little kids when they don't. Simple animal mentality (which is what you're dealing with with a lot of supporters :) ). Either way it's fun to always give it back. When push comes to shove most of these idiots are little men with big mouths.

However, the line being crossed is if people start upsetting kids/families. Hope none of these morons did that. If so some mates and I will meet you next time at the Hawthorn game and make sure we present a much more intimidating pack of animals. Trust me, I have some very large, hairy friends :p:thumbsu:

Me and my mate actually questioned going in the night before... I wish we hadn't... what a shocking display.

Shocking umpiring as well!

No action at the top of the Ponsford, obviously I need to move elsewhere to broaden my experiences.

Do they take people's details when they kick them out? Threat of bans after 2/3 ejections might help get rid of some nutters (although how you keep people out I have no idea)

Was this the four kids up the back that left at half time?

"**** you Melbourne you ****en shit *****!" Over and over in that feral grinding 14 year old battler accent. Actually I got a laugh or two out of them at first, I haven't heard constant blatant swearing at the footy for ages.

Funnily enough, I asked the same question over on 'land and one of the guys over there was actually sitting behind me and thought how we copped it was terrible, one of the worst displays he's ever seen too.

Was this the four kids up the back that left at half time?

"**** you Melbourne you ****en shit *****!" Over and over in that feral grinding 14 year old battler accent. Actually I got a laugh or two out of them at first, I haven't heard constant blatant swearing at the footy for ages.

Why yes indeed. Classic kid stuff, not surprisingly they were off when security/the cops started hanging around.

Frighteningly enough reminded me of myself at the same age at the top of the old Ponsford. Luckily that was like the wild west so nobody cared if you were going off like a pork chop as long as you didn't bring to anybody's attention the fact that they were puffing on scoobs and hooking into smuggled booze. Best era.

Just to note - club just replied. Not the only one to have complained apparently.

I thought, apart from the little Hawk brat who kept kicking the empty seat to my right, that the atmosphere was pretty passive, really. I guess I was so shell shocked midway through the second and onward, that I failed to notice any malfeasance.

Peace.

I watched the game on Australia Network. The MCG looked empty and my empathy was with the Melbourne supporters who got to the game. We have had a hard few (quite a few) years and the lesser types among the porkthorn supporters aren't going to let that go. You just have to hunch yer shoulders and cop it sweet...... but one fine day....