The Crowd Thread

Re: So... what's wrong at Arden Street?

how is he?
Scott did say those things, didn't he?
but i disagree that scott is a bad coach, he is one of the better coaches in the league, simply dealing with a young team which will always have ups and downs

What else do you want Scott to say?

We don't have the luxury of being able to say we are 'developing' because we need supporters to buy memberships. We are a win out of the 8, there's a chance we WILL be playing in September. I'd like to see the exact quote but if he did say 'deep' then I think you're taking it a little too literally.

Telling the players/members we have the potential to play in September keeps them from seeing this year as a write off. It's a good idea imo.

I'd like to see the exact quote but if he did say 'deep' then I think you're taking it a little too literally.

http://www.kangaroos.com.au/season2010/news/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/95577/default.aspx

"But we're four and six and very much working hard to get back on level pegging. We're still aspiring to play deep into September."

Nothing wrong with aspiring to make the 8 during pre season when the league is full of feel good stories but he spoke about the top 4 but once they have been mauled consistently by contenders to talk about making the top 4 and playing DEEP into finals is a fallacy.

If they don't make the finals, which they won't, let alone top 4, how will his season as a coach by judged?

http://www.kangaroos.com.au/season2010/news/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/95577/default.aspx

Nothing wrong with aspiring to make the 8 during pre season when the league is full of feel good stories but he spoke about the top 4 but once they have been mauled consistently by contenders to talk about making the top 4 and playing DEEP into finals is a fallacy.

If they don't make the finals, which they won't, let alone top 4, how will his season as a coach by judged?
That is what I want a coach to say.

"We will aspire to win the premiership every season."

Should be the aim.

Levi slots a Sticks Kernahan special from the boundary to win a game. 4 points in the bag. $100k in the bag. 5-6 at mid-season point. Young blokes coming through nicely. Petrie and others to return from injury. Friday night game next week against the Blues celebrating 25 years of Friday night footy.

Things are ok down at Arden Street.

That is what I want a coach to say.

"We will aspire to win the premiership every season."

Should be the aim.

I'm not sure what's more baffling, that quotes like Scott's are frowned upon as being a sign of arrogance, or that people wear their crowd figures as a badger of honour.

Plenty of examples of both in this thread.

I can see where Scott is coming from. We don't have a forward line, we play a man short playing Hale, we are rebuilding and don't have any depth and keep losing some of our better players, we constantly play one of the youngest and least experienced teams in the comp and we are 5/6 come the mid point through the season and have only really been beaten badly by top 4 contenders.

Why wouldn't you back yourself to get into the finals with that calibre of opposition?

Games remaining:
Carlton (Eticrap)
Port (Eticrap)
Geelong (baked potato stadium)
Swans (SCG)
Richmond (MCG)
Essendon (Eticrap)
Bulldogs (Eticrap)
Fremantle (Eticrap)
St Kilda (Eticrap)
West Coast (Subi)
Melbourne (MCG)

Of that group I would draw a line through the Geelong and Saints game and say we wont win either of those games. Most of the rest are within various degrees of winnable depending on who is available and how we play.

The fact we are this close to the top 8 says just how ordinary the contenders are this year. We "should" be down there with the tigers given how inexperienced the team is we play and given our unfortunate run of injuries.

You quoted him saying playing deep into September right.

Deep as far in the month, so that is actually possible if we manage to make the 8 and win finals games. We will continue to aim to do so I imagine.

As others have said, what's wrong with trying to make the finals?

21K at the MCG today??

I went to the Hawks vs Port game today.

Love going to the G on a nice, crisp day in early June and looked like an alright matchup on paper.

But I couldn't believe the crowd. They say there was 21K but it looked more like 18K to me. The atmosphere was terrible, certainly not pumping like the Roos vs Lions game last night that had a couple of thousand less people.

Plus, there was a surprisingly good Port presence. They were loud when Port made their run. I reckon it was 70% Hawks at most (generous).

Don't the Hawks have 50K members? Why are they onlygetting about 15K to their games when you take out Port and neutrals?

Re: 21K at the MCG today??

Why is this continually bought up. Why not celebrate your win and focus on how well Bradley is going with your boys rather than this same old tired tripe that is trotted out after every port game.

Apologies that I couldn't get to the game.

It's our first poor crowd all year. The weather would have kept people away I would assume.

And the atmosphere? Was good around M 50-51 with the Hawks members.

To old :D

Why is this continually bought up. Why not celebrate your win and focus on how well Bradley is going with your boys rather than this same old tired tripe that is trotted out after every port game.

Apologies that I couldn't get to the game.

Discussing crowd numbers is important.

There you go, someone to discuss it with.

If you are content with pathetic crowds like that, move to Tassie.

I went to the Hawks vs Port game today.

Love going to the G on a nice, crisp day in early June and looked like an alright matchup on paper.

But I couldn't believe the crowd. They say there was 21K but it looked more like 18K to me. The atmosphere was terrible, certainly not pumping like the Roos vs Lions game last night that had a couple of thousand less people.

Plus, there was a surprisingly good Port presence. They were loud when Port made their run. I reckon it was 70% Hawks at most (generous).

Don't the Hawks have 50K members? Why are they onlygetting about 15K to their games when you take out Port and neutrals?

1) You call this shit day a nice, crisp day? What's a bad day weather-wise for you?

2) Are you really this petty?

North would only get 12K if they played Port today.

Sydney would get about 3K.

I mean, they can't even crack 20K at a home final when there are clouds in the sky.

What are people trying to prove by posting threads like this?

Team in question isn't well supported? They're in trouble? Their supporters are fair weather supporters?

It's pointless and the irony is more than obvious coming from a North Melbourne supporter.

I realise it must be tough being a non-event in the AFL but trying to bring other teams down with pathetic threads like this is well.......pathetic.

Out of all the teams supporters I expected to bag us about the crowd, North would have been pretty long odds.

That said, shit crowd, lets see how many turn up in a fortnight.

1) You call this shit day a nice, crisp day? What's a bad day weather-wise for you?

Yeah, it was nice. I love putting on a scarf and jacket, grabbing a hot coffee and watching our winter sport.

2) Are you really this petty?

It is petty to go to a game that doesn't involve my team and then comment on the very poor turnout (even if it detracts from the win)?

The Crowd Thread