The Crowd Thread

Re: 21K at the MCG today??

Hawthorn don't convert many members into regular game attendees because you can't bring pets, dead people and single cell ameba's into the MCG.
PetPatron(2).jpg

191009_PetPatron_IA1.jpg

Yep. Good point, well made :thumbsu: How much DOES a glass house sell for these days ?

This.

Sure, it was a shit crowd - nobody is denying that. But we have a recent premiership, 50,000 members and a Top 8 spot. We'll take that (and a win) over one week of poor crowds.
Fair call. But we still need to average good crowds if we want the prime time tv slots and make the Hawthorn brand more attractive.

Abortion of a crowd today.

Anybody that attempts to justify that many people missing today is talking out of their arse. It didn't rain a single drop all day, and if rain is enough to keep you away then you're the literal definition of a fair-weather supporter.

I like HawkMongrel.

Crowd was poor today, should have at least 28k there, I can only assume the weather played a factor this round, every Melbourne game this weekend was well down on what it should have drawn.

Saints (Should have had 40k at least)
Carlton (Would think they could have pushed 55-60k with good weather)
Roos (Lions have alot of fans in Melbourne, both clubs travelling pretty well, 25k)
Hawks (I know we have been ordinary this year, but still should have gotten 30k, even with the weather)
Dogs (Dogs/Pies almost always get 50k at the dome, 40k tonight was very poor)

still almost double what showed up to a sunday arvo hawks-port fixture at the MCG 6 years ago

still the 4th best MCG hawks-port crowd EVER and only 129 off the third best

if anything it's justification for the tassie deal. why not make a mint from a game north melbourne would have to write a cheque to stage? ingenuity is obviously a curse in the AFL.

Absolutely pathetic turnout. Was our lowest home crowd at the MCG since we drew 17,159 against the Lions in 2004 in non-stop sleeting rain. The weather would have put some off, but there's so many undercover seats at the G, it shouldn't have been an excuse. Hopefully, we get the bandwagoners back on board for the Bombers game in a fortnight.

Very much down on the 33k that saw the two sides play at the same venue last season.

still almost double what showed up to a sunday arvo hawks-port fixture at the MCG 6 years ago

still the 4th best MCG hawks-port crowd EVER and only 129 off the third best

if anything it's justification for the tassie deal. why not make a mint from a game north melbourne would have to write a cheque to stage? ingenuity is obviously a curse in the AFL.

lol, 4th best from 6 games ;)

Absolutely pathetic turnout. Was our lowest home crowd at the MCG since we drew 17,159 against the Lions in 2004 in non-stop sleeting rain. The weather would have put some off, but there's so many undercover seats at the G, it shouldn't have been an excuse. Hopefully, we get the bandwagoners back on board for the Bombers game in a fortnight.

Very much down on the 33k that saw the two sides play at the same venue last season.
fourth sunday game in a row can't be underestimated as a factor either. i don't know which TV executive's daughter buddy rooted but i have no idea why we've been shafted to the melbourne demons' traditional gameday.

Gee, North fans are so clever.
Can you please explain the irony to the rest of us?

That's what I was thinking.

Oh wait....I get it. *taps nose*

Yeah....I really do. Oh....the irony. You guys are so clever. I can't believe nobody else can see the irony. Haha....the irony....yeah...the irony.

If it simply came down to crowds then Port doesn't have a place in the AFL. They get average home crowds at best and no one cares to watch them as an opponent. It doesn't simply come down to crowds though. There isn't a viable option for a second SA team and there has to be one.

We should get about 20k at MCG, there are 100k MCC members and a fair few AFL members who have access to MCG games. That usually pumps the crowd up by at least a few thousand even for really bad games.
22,144 against Port in that Round 22 game in 2008.

Let's not mention it again.

Also, The Zebs has surely bagged out here.

Game at the MCG where

1. its june / july
2. its on a sunday
3. its cold and threatening to rain
4. its against port adelaide

will always draw very low, as all the MCG tenants know

Game at the MCG where

1. its june / july
2. its on a sunday
3. its cold and threatening to rain
4. its against port adelaide

will always draw very low, as all the MCG tenants know

Holy crap mate, are you for real??

1. its june / july - wintertime, footy's a winter sport.
2. its on a sunday - yep, everyone's got the day off.
3. its cold and threatening to rain - hello.....it's MELBOURNE IN WINTER
4. its against port adelaide - whom Hawks should have beaten, and did. No chance of a flogging from Port.

Just a shit crowd. Seems most Hawk fans on here as perplexed by it as the rest of us.

The Crowd Thread