Discussing crowd numbers is important.

You are 100% correct.

North ranked 15th - Total 293,559 Average per game. 26,687

Hawks ranked 5th -Total 477,352 Average per game. 43,396

Some other great North crowds this year
Round 11 v Lions Etihad 19k
Round 8 v Crows Etihad 16k
Round 3 v Eagles Etihad 18k

Pmsl a North supporter started this thread.

Re: 21K at the MCG today??

None of us minds it being pointed out. What we mind is that no-one in the media seems able to report on a North game without making the crowd number a big focus. And the same media report on all other games without raising the crowd, regardless of how crap it is. That's all.

Obviously BF main board is not the place to raise the issue or expect reasonable discussion.

None of us minds it being pointed out. What we mind is that no-one in the media seems able to report on a North game without making the crowd number a big focus. And the same media report on all other games without raising the crowd, regardless of how crap it is. That's all.

Obviously BF main board is not the place to raise the issue or expect reasonable discussion.

Does anyone have the crowd figures for all the games in round 11? They seemed to be down across the board?

Maybe the inconsistant, confusing umpiring and soft tribunal decisions are starting to have an impact on crowd numbers?

You are 100% correct.

Some other great North crowds this year
Round 11 v Lions Etihad 19k
Round 8 v Crows Etihad 16k
Round 3 v Eagles Etihad 18k

Pmsl a North supporter started this thread.

Don't try and dissemble or deflect.

SLF and Zebra are the 2 biggest active trolls on BF. You North supporters start a thread on how crap your numbers are to be ironic (was the reason). Then launch another one immediately at Hawthorn when playing Port Adelaide on a rainy Sunday afternoon when crowd numbers simulate a North game.

These are the reasonable numbers you want below:

Happy?

Only 9 Port Adelaide match attendances over past 5 seasons at the MCG excluding finals and It's fairly obvious that the crowds don't turn up to their games. From the 6 Melbourne clubs they have played there, the Hawks and Pies are the only 2 clubs to pull more than 30k against them.

2005 v Carlton 16371 (16th)
2006 v Melbourne 24283 (5th)
2007 v Melbourne 16266 (15th) v Richmond 22395 (16th)
2008 v North Melbourne 22144 (4th)
2009 v Hawthorn 33274 (10th) v Collingwood 34793 (10th) v Melbourne 15888 (16th)
2010 v Hawthorn 21287 (11th)

I've added the position of the Victorian team when they played - out of those 9 games, 7 of them the home Victorian team has been 10th or lower on the ladder. I would think that their relative poor form would also be a factor.

Edit: Why didn't you go back further?
2004: v Melbourne 20096, v Coll 27226, v Haw 11,682

Credit where credit is due to Zebra, this is masterful deflection. :thumbsu:

Yes, bad turn out from hawthorn but north had a worse turn out the night before against a team with a larger Victorian following than port.

Average home attendances 2010:
Team Games Average
Collingwood Magpies 6 64,964
Carlton Blues 6 58,242
Essendon Bombers 5 46,071
Richmond Tigers 5 43,277
Fremantle Dockers 5 37,109
West Coast Eagles 6 37,077
St Kilda Saints 6 37,044
Hawthorn Hawks 4 35,555
Adelaide Crows 6 35,508
Western Bulldogs 5 33,839
Brisbane Lions 6 32,485
Geelong Cats 5 31,590
Melbourne Demons 6 31,372
Sydney Swans 6 28,882
Port Adelaide Power 5 22,958
North Melbourne 6 22,529

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/attendances?year=2010&t=A&h=H&s=A

Poor old North fans, how crook are things going when you are taking joy at the sight of a rivals' match attendance being similar to that of your own club? The inferiority complex of many of the fans of the NMFC is understandable but dosent excuse the type of childish clutching at straws evident on this OP. The antagonism many North fans feel toward Hawthorn, while sad, is partially understandable. In the 1970's North and Hawthorn were clubs with similar history, success, financial security and numbers of supporters. The roos now lag behind badly in all areas. This would be hard to take. Have sympathy ( and a little pity ) Hawk fans, let poor Zebra and his mates have this precious moment when a Hawthorn turn up was almost down to North like levels.

I've added the position of the Victorian team when they played - out of those 9 games, 7 of them the home Victorian team has been 10th or lower on the ladder. I would think that their relative poor form would also be a factor.

Edit: Why didn't you go back further?
2004: v Melbourne 20096, v Coll 27226, v Haw 11,682

So how the team is travelling actually effects the actual numbers of supporters who show up to games? Interesting. Wasn't there under 35,000 people at an Essendon V Carltom match at the MCG a few years ago or was that Port's fault too?

How funny.

When Hawthorn will decide to have 3 game memberships like other victorians clubs I can easily see them getting over 60k, no worries. So many I've my Hawthorn buddies do not have memberships. Massive untapped market available to Hawthorn in my demographic. The other big 4 clubs have enjoyed past success, so the support rolled on through the generations. Hawthorn success came in the 80's but like myself, once I have a family, all the kids will be Hawks members, period.

On another note, I have a membership but I don't use it. My mate has AFL memberships and we use those as we sit on level 2, and my seat is reserved on level 1. Maybe I should scan it everytime I go to the footy if it makes everyone happy.

Only Collingwood, Essendong and Carlton average more at MCG home games, and not by a massive margin. So little is the margin that if Hawthorn could play the Anzac day clash at the MCG they would have the HIGHEST average attendance at the MCG.

I can understand why North need to dig at Hawthorn when they are a dichotomy of the Hawks. Low attendances, struggling financially, struggling membership campaign, lack of success this century and poor prospects, all point signs to why this thread was started. They are going to be the first club in history to finish 19th next year and then will break that record again the year after with 20th. Possibly only thing worse to happen after that, is the AFL won't care even to merge the club on success of the new arrivals. Then again you could always hope for the long white beaches or the snowy capped mountains.

That's not what a dichotomy is, but when everything els you've said is rubbish, I guess it doesn't matter.

On the posts giving average crowds so far this season, no other Vic club has been scheduled only one home game against another Vic club so far this year. The average would only be relevant if draws were comparable.

I'll try again. There were at least three games in Melbourne this weekend with lowish crowds. North's was probably the closest of the lot to expectations. But our game was the only one that had the crowd as a key feature of reports. I happen to agree that picking out the Hawks game was not the most constructive way to highlight the problem, but it is still a valid point to try to make. On the other hand, and to be fair to SLF and Zeb, its not the first time this season North posters have made the same point, with other clubs as the comparison.

Saw some of it on TV yesterday...not only was it suprisingly small it was such a lifeless crowd....the most dull game I've seen in a while. No doubt Hawks fans should be ashamed of themselves for not turning up but they would not have been watching much of a game.

That's not what a dichotomy is, but when everything els you've said is rubbish, I guess it doesn't matter.

On the posts giving average crowds so far this season, no other Vic club has been scheduled only one home game against another Vic club so far this year. The average would only be relevant if draws were comparable.

I'll try again. There were at least three games in Melbourne this weekend with lowish crowds. North's was probably the closest of the lot to expectations. But our game was the only one that had the crowd as a key feature of reports. I happen to agree that picking out the Hawks game was not the most constructive way to highlight the problem, but it is still a valid point to try to make. On the other hand, and to be fair to SLF and Zeb, its not the first time this season North posters have made the same point, with other clubs as the comparison.

How many home games in Melbourne has Hawthorn played against other Victorian teams? I believe you will find the answer is 1. We have also played North in Tassie but that is irrelevant to crowds in a way because we draw similar numbers in Tassie vs North, Brisbane, StKilda,Freo, whoever.

Saw some of it on TV yesterday...not only was it suprisingly small it was such a lifeless crowd....the most dull game I've seen in a while. No doubt Hawks fans should be ashamed of themselves for not turning up but they would not have been watching much of a game.

Seriously, I was there and it was the worst atmosphere I have ever experienced at a game. The Port turnout actually wasn't bad, and they made more noise than the 15,000 Hawks that decided to turn up.

I have been buying a Hawks membership since 1996 - and despite their great membership numbers at the moment I fear the huge bandwagoner element that is exposed when they play interstate teams puts them at risk. A buddy knee injury could see their membeship numbers instantly cut in half.

But when you hear that even the supposedly passinate bigfooty supporters will not go because it is too cold, and then to see the trickle that do turn up cannot even make noise to help out their boys - maybe I will not renew my Hawks membership next year. Why should I carry their club? I was the loudest supporter there.

Where you sitting in row JJ of the top deck of the MCC Members or something? Where I was, there was plenty of noise. Perhaps the reason why atmosphere was down is because we were struggling against an opposition we expected to comfortably beat. And the game itself wasn't the most inspiring of all time.

Seriously, I was there and it was the worst atmosphere I have ever experienced at a game. The Port turnout actually wasn't bad, and they made more noise than the 15,000 Hawks that decided to turn up.

I have been buying a Hawks membership since 1996 - and despite their great membership numbers at the moment I fear the huge bandwagoner element that is exposed when they play interstate teams puts them at risk. A buddy knee injury could see their membeship numbers instantly cut in half.

But when you hear that even the supposedly passinate bigfooty supporters will not go because it is too cold, and then to see the trickle that do turn up cannot even make noise to help out their boys - maybe I will not renew my Hawks membership next year. Why should I carry their club? I was the loudest supporter there.

Why the heck are a you a Hawks member from 96 and a North Supporter?

Why am I struggling to believe this? The loudest supporter there :eek::eek:

As hawk posters are constantly reminded, 2008 was so yesterday. Yet surprisingly enough membership numbers have continued to grow. Your fear of bandwagoner supporters just doesn't seem to ring true in this case and in fact since 1996 member numbers have continued to grow and when they have dropped it has been only by 1-2k - so feel free not to buy one next season.

It is well known that hawk members are fickle with their attendances and while this may not be an ideal scenario fact is it happens but unlike your club their supporters are still buying memberships and it is for this reason that the media continue to 'get on the kangaroos case' whenever attendances are poor. It's one thing to have a poor supporter base but it's a completely different ball game to have a poor member base as well - quite frankly a receipe for disaster.

Where you sitting in row JJ of the top deck of the MCC Members or something? Where I was, there was plenty of noise. Perhaps the reason why atmosphere was down is because we were struggling against an opposition we expected to comfortably beat. And the game itself wasn't the most inspiring of all time.

He's lying, arads. This is just a troll to highlight how North are trolled about their crowd sizes all the time.

Fair enough I suppose but two wrongs have never made a right and Zebra flat out lying discredits him more than he realises.

He's lying, arads. This is just a troll to highlight how North are trolled about their crowd sizes all the time.

Fair enough I suppose but two wrongs have never made a right and Zebra flat out lying discredits him more than he realises.

To be honest all this thread really demonstrates is the true size of the massive collective chip on the shoulders of North supporters.

And in the remainf 43,000 memberships how many are
- Non-match day members
-interstate and regional members.

I know saints have some of these types of memberships but I am not trying to claim our membership base is the best.

And if saints don't want to or don't need to sell themselves then why should we play in tassie. I was saying that the AFL would have to look at the attendances for the two games on Sunday and go "perhaps Hawks don't need to play all their home games at MCG expecially those against interstate teams when only 21K turn up"

We do not put our non-ticketed members in the numbers, as they just get removed when the AFL audit anyway. Interstate and regional make up a very insignifacnt ammount, as they do with most clubs.

As for the MCG/Etihad issue, why should Hawthon play at a ground that offers them no advantage. Our supporters generally dislike it and our crowds for home games there were usually fairly dismal, so our board managed to swing an agreement where we no longer have to play there, same way your board managed to get out of their tassie agreement.

Maybe the inconsistant, confusing umpiring and soft tribunal decisions are starting to have an impact on crowd numbers?
Or maybe the 2nd highest crowd for round 10- being Fremantle & North Melbourne a sign less people are going to the footy in general?

With even less bf'ers acknowledging the fact.

Oh, magic.

The Crowd Thread