Toast The crowd

• Thread starter Thread starter Vitalogy

The one thing I envy most as a doggies supporter is the mammoth crowds you lads can draw. Going to the dogs finals a few years back was awesome enough and I love the segregating of supporters (looks awesome) but I could only dream of the level of support the tigers have when going well.

Bad luck yesterday, but you guys are going to just get better and better over the next couple of years. And I look forward to more huge yellow and black crowds come September.

Good post mate. We are lucky to have the supporter base we have I will always consider myself lucky to follow this club, no matter what, mainly due to the tiger army and the atmosphere we create.

Our time is coming tiger fans, stay tuned...

When the boys ran out the carlton song was still being played and the roar totally dwarfed their song.

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk 4

It was absolutely electric. As someone who has worked at 6 grand finals I can proudly say the Tiger Army created an atmosphere that compares with the last Saturday in September.

That. Roar.

Made the journey from Darwin to watch the football this weekend. Although we didn't get the result we would have wanted it was an amazing experience. As mentioned before, the countdown clock from the AFL was done really well and added a lot of excitement. Being a part of the roar of the Tigers crowd when we came onto the ground was breathtaking stuff.

Just wondering what everyone thought about the members bays? Being with only Richmond supporters would be pretty amazing. I would love them to do something like that in games against Carlton, Essendon and Collingwood all the time. Thoughts?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
It was awesome, the passion was equal among everyone, the bay all went up as one. One of the most memorable moments of my life. You could talk to anyone around you and know that they would have a fair idea of what you were talking about.
M15 is where i was sitting, which was right next to a full Carlton bay. When I started yelling over at the Carlton bay, normally it would only be me, however yesterday you had others joining in.
Excellent crowd, a day I will never forget.

What kind of financial cut do we get for yesterday's game? Do we get more because it was our home game?

Outnumbered, the carlton crowd was awesome in the second half. Brilliant. Great crowd all round.

Agree with that. I thought we had you easily outnumbered but when the comeback came suddenly the Blues noise came and when we steadied for just a few minutes and some goals went back and forth when both teams crowds were yelling the noise was insane.

And well done to all on the crowd behaviour. I didn't see any flogs on either side baiting each other, just two sets of fans reacting to what was happening purely on the field.

Pity about the final result, though.

de091756-eee3-4544-91f2-6c56ca710f96_zpseba840f6.jpg

Top level was virtually all Richmond. Lots of passionate Tiger supporters, a few crying toddlers, but they'll be right; Lots to look forward to in 2014 :)

Great day for real footy fans as distinct from the GF. I was happy just to be there, win or lose.
Only downer was a little tacker in full tigers gear shedding a tear at the end, hopefully he will be back next year to yell yellow and black at the season opener. Can't wait for it guys.
Wasn't just little tackers having a little teary. Myself and a few mates were close to it too, the whole emotion of the day just boiled over I think.

Think MM said in his presser that the crowd was the loudest he has ever heard from an opposition team while going down the race.

Yesterday was close to my best football memory to date (apart from the result!). Was sitting up on the top deck near the punt road end. The crowd's roar when the banner went up, the boys ran out, after the anthem and during the game gave me goosebumps.

I really enjoyed the sea of yellow and black. Looked to my left and right, up and down, there were people from all walks of life united in their passionate love for our great club. We might not have won the game but I somehow feel lucky to have experienced something as awesome as the tiger army in full voice.

Leigh Mathews said at the start of the game that someone needs to remind him that this isnt a Grand Final, and in all his years of football their has never been an atmosphere to equal this apart from Grand Finals, and even then not to many.

I was lucky enough to go to last year's GF and in all honesty, I thought yesterday's game - for noise levels, was louder (and I can remember sitting there last year thinking that first roar after the anthem was the loudest thing I'd heard).

The one thing I envy most as a doggies supporter is the mammoth crowds you lads can draw. Going to the dogs finals a few years back was awesome enough and I love the segregating of supporters (looks awesome) but I could only dream of the level of support the tigers have when going well.

Bad luck yesterday, but you guys are going to just get better and better over the next couple of years. And I look forward to more huge yellow and black crowds come September.

Cheers mate - with the midfield you guys are building, who knows, maybe you will get to experience a Richmond v Doggies final in future ;)

Just want to say thanks for making that the best atmosphere I have ever experienced. Win, lose or draw, I I have respect for the passion your supporters show. I have no qualms in saying you are the most passionate supporters in the afl. You guys outnumbered us in droves but made it one of the best experiences ever.

Not sure if I will ever experience an atmosphere like that, but what this has done is it has put this rivalry back on the map. It's disappointing that it had lost some its zest over the years but it's back in a big way now. I think it's the greatest rivalry in the history of the afl.

If I were a Tigers fan I'd still be very exciting with where your club is heading.

Crowd was like a grand final. Im gutted tonight tho after another fade out to this scum team. My pain is eased somewhat after laying $100 on them to win at $5 at half time. :thumbsu:
Crowd was nothing like a grand final. The grand final is 70% flogs who go once a year on corporate tickets and couldn't give a stuff about either team playing. 60k screaming richmond fans and the rest Carlton supporters (who didnt book their September holidays) and neutrals who just wanted to see the tiges finally play in a final. Yesterday was more like a prelim crowd.

I went to a lot of grand finals when they em were fair dinkum all supporter affairs.
1980,84,85,86,87,88,89,90 and 93. Plus heaps of other finals and I haven't seen it like that since those days really. I didn't appreciate it on the day but both sets of fans are to be congratulated.
I find it staggering that there were 113,000 at the 1980 Grand Final.
I remember it being loud but imagine another 19,000 on yesterday?

I don't understand how some tiger fans are surprised how loud you guys get when you cheering for your club. I have been to RD1 clash for the last 7 years and for 70k you guys are scary loud getting behind your team, Honestly the most passionate crowd of all teams. so it's natural when you get an extra 25k in first final for Richmond in 12 years that the place would turn into a jungle. When we lost to you guys in RD1 this year because it was a close game there was no chance of early exodus for all the fans and I must have broken the record for the fastest walk to Richmond station. even then I even could still hear the noise coming out of the "G", I must say you guys rubbed it in nicely. Chin up Guys more finals for you to come in the coming years but we showed everyone what we mean when we say BIG4, see you In RD1 hopefully the atmosphere will be the same as always. Carlton VS Richmond Brothers In Life Enemies In Football :)