newcs

geelong
In the last couple of days he has -
- appeared on a billboard wearing blue and white (hair included).
- the same billboard has the phrase "We are Geelong".
- finished a TV interview by saying "Go Cats".
- told everyone on his FB page he is taking a flyer to Melbourne advertising Skilled Stadium.

Is having him as Mayor going to help the club ?

I reckon yes. He has friends in the right places.

Any thoughts ?

There's a saying "any advertising is good advertising".

Not sure it applies in this case... seems a but unhinged does Darryn.

You have got to be kidding.
The guy is a gun. Even the people standing against him loved him!

He is different, no doubt. But dont mistake him for a dummy.

You have got to be kidding.
The guy is a gun. Even the people standing against him loved him!

He is different, no doubt. But dont mistake him for a dummy.

Yep.

Sure he's a bit of a wan.ker, and by bit I mean a lot, but he is a very smart guy and extremely passionate about the club and city.
Only good things IMO.

In the last couple of days he has -
- appeared on a billboard wearing blue and white (hair included).
- the same billboard has the phrase "We are Geelong".
- finished a TV interview by saying "Go Cats".
- told everyone on his FB page he is taking a flyer to Melbourne advertising Skilled Stadium.

Is having him as Mayor going to help the club ?

I reckon yes. He has friends in the right places.

Any thoughts ?

First thought is who the hell is he? I've never of heard of him.

I'm guessing a D-grade wannabe, bereft of any talent and therefore called a "celebrity"?

You have seriously never heard of him?

Amazing. Been interviewed on TV heaps.
I reckon if he walked down any street in the UK every single person would know him.

That just makes me glad I don't live in the UK.

Not being from Geelong I don't know a heap, but the guy seems a fool and Frank Costa is not a fan.
Although I believe Lyons is a member of the Liberal party, Frank was backing another Liberal party candidate in the mayoral race.

There was a paparazzi doco I watched a few years back that featured him heavily. Interesting character alright! But as he was going for a run in London wearing Geelong training gear, he can't be all bad. :D

There was an episode of Top Gear in early 2011 he appeared in which took the piss out of Aussies not knowing who he was.The 3 Brit hosts had an Ashes battle against the 3 Aussie hosts,but each team needed a 4th member.I think the Brits had regular Jodie Kidd and then Jeremy says to the Aussie hosts "Here is your 4th member,Darryn Lyons" .Shane Jacobson goes "Who ?" and looks at the other 2 Aussie hosts who also had no idea who he was.

First thought is who the hell is he? I've never of heard of him.

I'm guessing a D-grade wannabe, bereft of any talent and therefore called a "celebrity"?

I hadn't heard of him until about four months ago either. When I was on my way home from the QF loss, one of the guys I was with said something about him owning one of the hotels we were walking past. I asked who he was (as I said, I'd never heard of him) and he mentioned the guy with the ab implants who was on Big Brother or something similar, which I had a vague recollection of reading about a while back. Haven't heard/seen him being interviewed either, so I wouldn't know if he's a dill or not.

Especially the one when he wasn't even there.

I don't know which one you're referring to but I agree with patience - Mitchell's speech down on the waterfront in the days after the 2011 flag was a disgrace.

And to the other poster who said Costa wasn't a fan - apparently they went to Canberra together after the mayoral election and Costa was very impressed with Lyons.

I don't know which one you're referring to but I agree with patience - Mitchell's speech down on the waterfront in the days after the 2011 flag was a disgrace.

And to the other poster who said Costa wasn't a fan - apparently they went to Canberra together after the mayoral election and Costa was very impressed with Lyons.
Turkey Tom clarified what I had heard, that Frank was backing a different Liberal candidate. I originally came to this thread because of the flog thread somewhere on the main board that says this a sign of Geelong going down the toilet, so I thought I'd see what actual Geelong people had to say.

He wasn't there for 2009, he was overseas.

bahahaha I hadn't seen this (I'm from the Gold Coast - forgive me), how the hell did this guy become Mayor?!?

...that being said Tom Tate, the GC mayor, is a total f%&$ing tosser too.