The Decade That Was. Top 10 Adelaide Wins.

Geelong PF, Dogs EF and the lol norf game.

Would have been nice to beat a really strong team in finals somewhere but it never happened, we lost pretty much every game we were expected to lose

What's our finals record vs Hawthorn/Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond?

I can't see us ever beating one of those clubs in a GF. Not when their supporters will end up with 80% of the tickets.

PCORF

Jul 3, 2007
2015 final vs the Bulldogs always stands out as I was at that game on the wing where Tex ran down and nailed Charlie on the chest. That game and 2017 prelim only times I’ve lost my voice.

And who would forget Sloane and Dangerfield = BANG! .... just seemed to fire us up even more. That 2017PF crowd was insane!

There will always be negatives amongst the positives no matter which decade. Worst loss = R23 2016 easily.

Considering this decade started with draft tampering and ended with us sacking our key on field staff due to gross negligence, it's not a decade worth remembering.

A couple of bright points in a torrent of s**t.

Flying_as_One1991

Premium Gold
Oct 22, 2018
Las Vegas Golden Knights, NY Mets
So hard to pick my top 10, so many games to choose from and a few I left out

10. 2016 RD2 vs Port – First home game of the season and we blew the power off the park.
9. 2011 RD19 vs Port – Another Showdown, the week after Neil Craig was sacked. Stirring win against the old enemy
8. 2017 vs Port (Raining, Cold and we smashed the Power by 84 Points. Doesn’t get much better than that)
7. 2012 EF vs Fremantle – (gripping gutsy win in a final after the disappointment of the week before)
6. 2017 QF vs GWS (The Power stance, The Roar of the crowd and then the complete domination)
5. 2013 RD9 vs North Melbourne (watching with a kangaroos fan, carton on the line, stormed home and watch Petrenko kicking the sealer)
4. 2018 RD 20 vs Port – (did it hit the post, did it not. Who cares we silence the power fans and just about ended their season)
3. 2015 RD15 vs Port (first win after Walsh’s passing and probably one of a handful of times I burst into tears watching footy when the siren went. Pure emotion)
2. 2015 EF vs Western Bulldogs (What a game, We drove over and so glad I went, we looked cooked when dogs hit the front but fought back and Tex hitting Charlie to seal the win)
1. 2017 PF vs Geelong (Sitting front row slamming on the fence, , Charlie’s Mark, Sloaney running through Danger. The noise, the crowd which was By far the loudest I have experienced and Joy of knowing your going to the GF)

Flying_as_One1991

Premium Gold
Oct 22, 2018
Las Vegas Golden Knights, NY Mets
There will always be negatives amongst the positives no matter which decade. Worst loss = R23 2016 easily.

We played terrible that night. But the Hawthorn game at the MCG earlier that year, had the game in the bag and let that one slip.

PrinceAzazel

Draftee
Mar 25, 2019
What's our finals record vs Hawthorn/Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond?

I can't see us ever beating one of those clubs in a GF. Not when their supporters will end up with 80% of the tickets.
Some unsurprising numbers according to AFLTables.

Hawthorn:
1 win, 3 losses.

Collingwood:
3 losses.

Carlton:
2 losses apparently, I can't recall us playing Carlton in any final.

Richmond:
1 loss, the one that really mattered.

Oct 28, 2014
Some unsurprising numbers according to AFLTables.

Hawthorn:
1 win, 3 losses.

Collingwood:
3 losses.

Carlton:
2 losses apparently, I can't recall us playing Carlton in any final.

Richmond:
1 loss, the one that really mattered.
We played carlton in 93, and also 2000 (or 01). Got belted away and D Jarman played his last game I reckon.

Oct 28, 2014
The AFL site is doing a best of the decade. They just did a vid where they show all the match winning goals where the side is losing (or level) then kicks the last goal of the game to win.

I started to watch it and all I could think of in regard to us was Petrenko vs norf, and Jenkins grandma vs port. Sure enough they were the only two.

I didnt keep score on every other side, but west coast had 7, and port had 4 (2 vs us).

Two last gasp goals to win in 10 years of footy. Says a bit about our mental state when it gets tight.

Elder van Berlo

May 26, 2008
Adelaide United
For me.

10. Sydney away in 2012 - that time Brent Reilly did the thing.

9. Hawthorn round 1 2011 - thought we saw a premiership team born that night. Almost.

8. Geelong 2010 - Johncock tackle on Ablett.

7. Geelong (minor round) 2017 - first win over Dangerfield - went from pretenders to contenders that night.

6. Port 2014 - first Showdown win on AO when they were top. That Brad Crouch celebration.

Daylight

5. N Melbourne 2013 - Petrenko.

4. Port 2015 - Phil Walsh Showdown.

3. Freo semi 2012 - Tex.

2. Bulldogs EF 2015.

1. Geelong PF 2017.

hey shorty

30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog
Jun 15, 2005
AUFC, Everton, Sturt
Geelong prelim followed by the Walsh Showdown.

Special mention to the semi win against the Dogs.

Pretty much everything else was just 4 points

hey shorty

30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog
Jun 15, 2005
AUFC, Everton, Sturt
For me.

10. Sydney away in 2012 - that time Brent Reilly did the thing.

9. Hawthorn round 1 2011 - thought we saw a premiership team born that night. Almost.

8. Geelong 2010 - Johncock tackle on Ablett.

7. Geelong (minor round) 2017 - first win over Dangerfield - went from pretenders to contenders that night.

6. Port 2014 - first Showdown win on AO when they were top. That Brad Crouch celebration.

Daylight

5. N Melbourne 2013 - Petrenko.

4. Port 2015 - Phil Walsh Showdown.

3. Freo semi 2012 - Tex.

2. Bulldogs EF 2015.

1. Geelong PF 2017.
That was the night I thought Tex was going to be a superstar rather than just very good.

JerryRapidRiser

Oct 27, 2019
Geelong Prelim 17 hands down the best. It's not even close.

Whilst not the best, I think Rd 1 17 vs GWS is highly underrated. That just set the tone for that whole season.

May 20, 2001
Kufa, Iraq
Banhammer Big House Under 70s
As 2019 draws to a close, I thought I would look back upon this decade and pick out some of our best wins. There have been many ups and downs throughout this decade particularly low lights of late, so why not leave this decade by remembering some of our finest wins. Love to hear others views and opinions.

Top 10:

10. Adelaide 10.16.76 Def Collingwood 7.13.55 (21pts) Round 9 2014 Adelaide Oval Att: 50,051

9. Adelaide 16.17.113 Def Hawthorn 13.11.89 (24pts) Round 2 2017 MCG Att: 37,420

8. Adelaide 15.9.99 Def Sydney 14.10.94 (5pts) Round 6 2012 SCG Att: 23,969

7. Adelaide 16.17.113 Def Sydney 15.13.103 (10pts) Round 4 2016 Adelaide Oval Att: 50,369

6. Adelaide 16.13.109 Def Bulldogs 14.18.102 (7pts) 2015 Elimination Final MCG Att: 60,872

5. Adelaide 13.18.96 Def Port Power 14.9.93 (3pts) Round 20 2018 Adelaide Oval Att: 50,377

4. Adelaide 18.17.125 Def North Melbourne 19.10.124 (1pt) Round 9 2013 Docklands Att: 23,033

3. Adelaide 21.10.136 Def Geelong 10.15.75 (61pts) 2018 Preliminary Final Adelaide Oval Att: 53,817

2. Adelaide 14.15.99 Def Port Power 10.16.76 (23pts) Round 15 2014 Adelaide Oval Att: 50,552

1. Adelaide 18.8.116 Def Port Power 17.11.113 (3pts) Round 16 2015 Adelaide Oval Att: 53,518

Special Mentions:

Adelaide 11.8.74 Def Geelong 9.9.63 (11pts) Round 16 2010 Football Park Att: 41,195

Adelaide 16.9.105 Def Hawthorn 12.13.85 (20pts) Round 1 2011 Football Park Att: 42,536

Adelaide 16.14.110 Def Brisbane 16.9.105 (5pts) Round 20 2011 Gabba Att: 17,930

Adelaide 16.8.104. Def Essendon 15.10.100 (4pts) Round 19 2012 Football Park Att: 40,030

Adelaide 14.10.94 Def Geelong 14.8.92 (2pts) Round 17 2013 Football Park Att: 28,603

Adelaide 15.15.105 Def West Coast 11.10.76 (29pts) Round 12 2016 Subiaco Att: 37,591

Adelaide 12.16.88 Def West Coast 12.6.78 (10pts) Round 15 2018 Adelaide Oval Att: 44,771

Your thoughts?
Snickering at the Poort Paer reference...Lurking ferals be lurking:drunk:

Glad the Crows v Dishlickers was in there...to me that was the best win.

PCORF

Jul 3, 2007
We played carlton in 93, and also 2000 (or 01). Got belted away and D Jarman played his last game I reckon.

Yeah he was in tears after the game knowing he was leaving the game he loved playing. Kicked his last goal late in that game.

Aug 19, 2015
I hugged so many random crows supporters that night. Legitimately had tears flowing in the final minute when the result was assured

The Elimination Final in 2015 vs Bulldogs was by far the most emotional game i've ever been to and i attended the prelim in 2017 so thats saying something. Lots of happy tears and hugging strangers, me and a mate who also is on BigFooty took the bus over, i will never forget that night.

Klug

Apr 13, 2008
Woodville West Torrens FC
The Elimination Final in 2015 vs Bulldogs was by far the most emotional game i've ever been to and i attended the prelim in 2017 so thats saying something. Lots of happy tears and hugging strangers, me and a mate who also is on BigFooty took the bus over, i will never forget that night.

Yep, being down the Punt Rd end behind the goals at the Crows Dogs final was incredible atmosphere, it was all Crows fans

Aug 19, 2015
Yep, being down the Punt Rd end behind the goals at the Crows Dogs final was incredible atmosphere, it was all Crows fans

Yes me and my mate were amongst the crows cheer squad, was the best, when charlie kicked that goal, my mate was checking on the broadcast how much time was left, we both lost our voices that night, best win, so many salty bulldogs supporters after the game walking out of the mcg but we all know what happened the year after for them.

Rotayjay

Aug 28, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
That night in 2010 against Geelong at Footy Park was pretty much meaningless but it was a good win since we were having one of our worst years ever and they were the reigning premiers. We didn't know it at the time, but it turned out to be Andrew McLeod's last match. One of the last wins I ever witnessed at Football Park.

Will never forget the one-point win against North. As each goal came I was wondering whether we would make it and then we did. The 2015 elimination final win was certainly very meaningful for several obvious reasons. That was a night to remember - when Cameron kicked the final goal I opened the window of my upstairs unit and yelled and carried on into the blackness of the night. It was also my first final as a Bigfooty member so the gameday thread added a whole new layer of fun.

And I look at that prelim in 2017 with fondness and also profound sadness that it represented our post-1998 peak. 21 years and that was the best we got.

Onwards and upwards in the 20s! It won't be easy but nothing is in elite sport.

Top 3:

1) Western Bulldogs Elimination Final
2) Geelong Cats Preliminary Final
3) North Melbourne come from behind win in 2013 (I think it was)

Splitting hairs with top 2 but Western gets the nod because I woke little AC up and we watched that together