PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
geez thats a good spin on it.
melb average age as of the start of the yr was 22yrs 187 days.
rich ave age was 22yrs 152 days.
at the start of this yr melbournes list boasted an average of 44 games per player richmonds boasted 42 games per player
both clubs boast 16 players with 50 games or more to their name.
richmond boast 25 players aged 22 or under
melb boast 27.
richmond boast 4 players aged 28 or more melb boast 3.
the one big difference between the lists is quality or polish or skills what ever you want to call it.
because of the quality difference we have to have another clean out melb dont.
so in effect we are at least one season behind them.
spare us the **** and bull santa, would have Cotch, Foley and Collo made any diff...I rest my case
lol so we have 3 injuries and we cant compete.
i dont suppose moloney gysberts tapscott grimes miller petterd warnock morton would not have helped melb.
sheesh i cant wait for next yr when the footy gods stop smiling at us and we get an injury run like brisbane or most other clubs for that matter.we have been blessed again with injurys and here you are talking what ifs if 3 players were available.
the simple fact is the major difference between their list and ours is quality.
we are light yrs away in this regard and its players like white tuck edwards connors jackson king graham mcguane who are at best okay by foot or with smarts.
we will always battle against highly skilled sides with these blokes in the side.
sheesh you mention foley mate his footskills are poor yep he would add to the team but he would add to an area we are already okay at that is getting it inside. he would add to a chronic problem under pressure and that is turnovers poor ball use and poor decision making.
Realistically if the following were playing
Moloney,Morton,Bate,Gysberts,Petterd & Grimes we would of won by 8-10 goals not five!![]()
Sorry? Melbourne supporters arent passionate? What planet are you living on? What year do you live in? Has Debt demolition proved nothing to you? We currently have the 6th highest attendance in the league this year. We've just wiped off nearly 6 million dollars of debt in two years. If anything, we should be heralded as THE MOST passionate supporters going around at the moment. Anyone with a brain who follows footy would tell you the tremendous effort by both the club and supporters has been nothing short of miraculous. And yep, post count on bigfooty is the measure of supporters passion
Your comment is probably the worst most ill-informed bullsh*t I've read on here outside the bay. Open up your eyes you fool![]()
Richmond like Melbourne are no longer easy beats thats for sure
I found out today that one player who had his worst game for the year yesterday was at home today crook with the flu, maybe a couple of others had it too as quite a few just looked flat all game and ran out of legs in the last qtr.
lol so we have 3 injuries and we cant compete.
i dont suppose moloney gysberts tapscott grimes miller petterd warnock morton would not have helped melb..
Umm, he was refering to the teams that lined up on the weekend you goose.
Not overall lists.
lol nice try, want me to add Post, and relton roberts to sq up your argument, Im talking the silk in our side, expand your horizons ol son and stop looking at things through a straw
ed. we haven't got 3 injuries, more like 10..I was referring to A graders, sorry to confuse
Let's just hope that your club can convince all those people (who could afford to donate so much cash) to join as members and to go to games in the future.
I agree. I also think that with the right choices, judicious trades, free agency, and if players like Griffiths and Taylor fulfill their talents, we could go past them inside three years. They might then go past us again a year or two later...the one big difference between the lists is quality or polish or skills what ever you want to call it.
because of the quality difference we have to have another clean out melb dont.
so in effect we are at least one season behind them.
I wouldn't say light years, more like one more influx of quality kids and a prudent trade or two. I take exception to the inclusion of Edwards and Connors in the above - these are blokes who make positive things happen far more often than negative. Going forward only one of Jacko or Tuck should be required, but Morton's performance was a strong indicator he could move into a big-bodied midfielder role, with the bonus he has elite kicking.the simple fact is the major difference between their list and ours is quality.
we are light yrs away in this regard and its players like white tuck edwards connors jackson king graham mcguane who are at best okay by foot or with smarts.
we will always battle against highly skilled sides with these blokes in the side.
Rubbish. Foley makes an enormous difference to our side. He's not a super kick but he does make good decisions. His ability to win the ball in close and burst into space gives him the time to make those decisions. Look at the first Freo game this year (I hope you were there). It was the first time we were competitive all year and Foley was superb. If teams don't tag him he will chop them up - if they do it likely leaves one of Cotch or Martin free (or Lids, when he returns to the midfield as he surely will at some stage).sheesh you mention foley mate his footskills are poor yep he would add to the team but he would add to an area we are already okay at that is getting it inside. he would add to a chronic problem under pressure and that is turnovers poor ball use and poor decision making.
We'll still get a guy who would have been top-10-15 in an uncompromised draft. You'll get a late second-rounder with your first pick.Melbourne have had the huge advantage of the draft and that door has basically closed for every other team in the competition excpet GC Suns and GWS for the next couple of years
Cheers to that!Both will pass Carlton very soon![]()

We have the highest conversion rate of supporters to members in the league - 33,300+.
Our average home attendance figures for 2010 are higher than Richmond's despite having a far inferior supporter base.
All this on the back of two wooden spoons.
So you're a team in finals contention and your average home attendance figures are higher (by all of 500 people) than a team that could still win the wooden spoon and didn't win it's first game until round 10. CONGRATULATIONS! You must be a passionate group of supporters!
And what about last year?
Get a clue, pal.
Our attendances have nothing to do with a taste of finals.
I note that you don't address the facts in my post. We have a significantly lower supporter base than Richmond's yet have a higher average home attendance. But you think that that's quite acceptable. Not only that, you deride Melbourne supporters for not turning up to games LOL.Get a clue, pal.
We've won our last 3 and aren't likely to play finals. Our attendances have nothing to do with a taste of finals.
Btw, I wouldn't talk too much about last year. Unlike us, your home and overall crowds have dropped, despite the excitement surrounding your list and progress.![]()
I wouldn't expect a complete boofhead to ever look beyond his silly looking face when presenting the case...Our H/A fixtures include just about ea interstate side ADE, Freo, WC, Swans, Port A, in addition to low drawing teams in Melb and NM makes a fair dent on the average. But hey it requires a little analysis prob more than what you could ordinarliy hope to achieve..hope that helps