The diving thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

As an Eagles supporter, i loath Jack Darling's staging for free kicks, its a common chat subject over on the Eagles board. I want the club themselves to crack down on it as it distracts his game, looks shit etc... But there is a big difference between people staging for a free kick and what Oliver did on the weekend. Clayton's obvious staging was NEVER going to be a free kick to possibly change the outcome of the game, it was for 1 reason only, to get Schofield in hot water.

The problem is, these guys aren't fined, they're not suspended, and in most cases they're rewarded with free kicks or 50 metre penalties...

It's weak. It's disgraceful. It's the OPPOSITE of what our game is about. But until the law makers and umps start punishing it, you can't blame players for trying to gain an advantage for their team.

Ours is the greatest, toughest, hardest team sport in the world. We don't need this garbage staining it.

I say suspend them for any obvious diving, faking, etc. No warning!
You throw yourself around like a moron, **** off! One week! That'll fix them.
And I'd have no problem if it was a player from my side.

dude. seriously? i have been an AFL tragic for all my 44 years but compared to rugby, AFL is tiddlywinks

Hit him in the head.
FWIW I hate that he gets a week for such a soft hit but they are the rules. They are sh*t but that's what they are.

He was talking about the Parker incident...MRP said body contact but the video clearly sees Parker collecting his chin and his hair flinging back. Difference is that he is not a squib (unlike a certain ranga).

Don't punch, don't miss games of footy.
Is that sort of clear enough for you mate?
But its not as simple as that is it? its another mixed message sent from the MRP, the same week as Parker smashed Baguley with a much more forceful strike in the same region of the body. the difference? one guy flung himself to the ground and rolled around like a child. In the AFL, its aaaaaaaaaaaaall about looks/perception. I mean, they might lose SPONSORSHIP ffs!

He was talking about the Parker incident...MRP said body contact but the video clearly sees Parker collecting his chin and his hair flinging back. Difference is that he is not a squib (unlike a certain ranga).
Yeah so that's what the MRP said. So your gripe would be that they got it wrong if you think he hit him in the head then he should be rubbed out.
Again, don't hit someone in the head, don't get rubbed out.
Simple

Very clear.

Luckily, Schofield didn't punch. He extended his elbow into Flopiver's chest region and clumsily grazed his (glass) chin.
Call it what you like. He's about to make a second mistake and add another week to his holiday.

when you google clayton oliver the first thing that comes up is dive and that will never change because this is the peak of his career, enjoy it clayton lol

I would have guessed 'unprecedented' followed closely by 'jet'

Yeah so that's what the MRP said. So your gripe would be that they got it wrong if you think he hit him in the head then he should be rubbed out.
Again, don't hit someone in the head, don't get rubbed out.
Simple
Yep. Parker clearly got him in the head. Consistentcy would be nice from the MRP

mmmm, yeah nah. Grazed perhaps, but need HotSpot to confirm.
Don't get me wrong mate, the punishment does not fit the crime.
I think the MRP and it's lack of consistency is embarrassing but as bad as that are the rules they operate within.

Don't get me wrong mate, the punishment does not fit the crime.
I think the MRP and it's lack of consistency is embarrassing but as bad as that are the rules they operate within.
Sure, I can see that. The MRP has a matrix that it uses to determine an outcome. If that matrix has been correctly followed and Schofield is hit with two weeks, then the MRP system needs a rebuild.

Agree!!
I do think also that we will start to see a bit more of the stuff on social media as the kids getting drafted these days are brought up on it.
I'm a bit old school and don't necessarily like it but can see the funny side.
Like many WC, I'd be filthy at the player that did it to us too though so I guess it just adds a bit of character, flare, interest to an already exciting and unpredictable game :thumbsupemoji::thumbsupemoji:

44f.gif

From the saints we only have one and that's young Jack Lonie. Never used to do it in his first year and on a numerous occasions kept getting head high contact without getting a free kick, so he has started to exaggerate the hell out of every time someone try to tackle him that looks remotely high by throwing his head back.

Not a big fan of it and hopefully the players pull him in.