The diving thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

You guys saw it on the weekend, he is as tough in an under as they come. That stupid dive against WC will take a while to shake and it's a pity because he's a much better player than being remembered for that

Yup anything he does that can be viewed as slightly negative will be overblown. Not to mention it could be the whole cry wolf situation; if something actual legitimate does happen people may dismiss it or at least question it

You guys saw it on the weekend, he is as tough in an under as they come. That stupid dive against WC will take a while to shake and it's a pity because he's a much better player than being remembered for that

I know he's tough. However he's a weird combination of being hard at it, but at the same time being soft. Flopping and having a go at the crowd for calling your acting out are not signs of a tough player. However his actual play at the ball indicates the opposite.

He's extremely immature. He will improve at this.

It was Vince's execution. He needs a few more pointers from Oliver.

Don't sook it up because of the AA discussion. I bet you wouldn't be able to call out one of your own

Serious?

I don't agree with diving, but in soccer the majority of body contact is in tackling an opponent's legs at speed, or kicking.
Guess what? It hurts. If you haven't tried it, you should do so (genuine comment, I'm surprised how many people haven't played soccer competitively yet love to pass comment about how soft it is).

And if you get tripped and you don't fall over showing you've been kicked, you generally don't get a free kick. So that's what you get. Plus the rewards are far greater in terms of potential scores, especially penalties. When the average game has between 2 and 3 goals, one goal is a lot. Imagine if a free kick in footy meant that you got 6 goals from the resultant free, what do you think would happen?

In footy, there's holding and tackling and pushing and lots of things that are free kicks that aren't innately "hurtful" (as well as plenty of things that are). And footy players "dive" and "pretend" for those just as much.
Fair statement. Yesterday Cripps got kicked in much the same manner as soccer players often do and hobbled from the ground not to be seen again. You're damn right it hurts.

Don't sook it up because of the AA discussion. I bet you wouldn't be able to call out one of your own
HUH? I didn't even realise I was responding to the same guy.

I have mentioned before plenty of times that Murphy has a habit of lowering the knees and so does Matty Wright, but neither have ever collapsed liked Vince and Oliver. So I can't point out something that doesn't existing.

I don't think he cared what he said, his words were a response to contact.

HUH? I didn't even realise I was responding to the same guy.

I have mentioned before plenty of times that Murphy has a habit of lowering the knees and so does Matty Wright, but neither have ever collapsed liked Vince and Oliver. So I can't point out something that doesn't existing.

There is that well known meme of Murphy flopping back from minimal contact mate.

Surprisingly haven't seen too much interest in that pie **** falling down and holding his face after daniher breathed on him on the weekend.

Was comical, and even moreso after him having an absolute mare of a day ha.

There is that well known meme of Murphy flopping back from minimal contact mate.
Where is this "well known" meme? You are talking on the platform that allows for you to present it.

I do agree with you that Murph plays for the contact... but never to the level of Oliver and Vince have produced in the last few weeks.

Where is this "well known" meme? You are talking on the platform that allows for you to present it.

I do agree with you that Murph plays for the contact... but never to the level of Oliver and Vince have produced in the last few weeks.

T2GS6Mu.gif

That's not a meme for flopping.

That's just him being scared of contact, not exaggerating contact.

There is a difference

I couldn't post the flop it said the size was too large and I've kinda lost interest anyway

He tried to handball behind his head and missed.

That is not a dive. There are many many examples you could use to show how Murph exaggerates contact. Seriously, you probably could have found one from last week's game. But you chose this particular example. Seriously?

He looks like a fish haha
One of the most embarassing moments of my life was when, as a teen, I tried to impress an almost-girlfriend at the time by doing chin ups at her house of the rotunda in their yard. The wood snapped and I fell on my arse, breaking both her dad's self-built garden masterpiece and my pride.

Seeing that gif always makes me feel better because it was only in front of her and not on national television :D

One of the most embarassing moments of my life was when, as a teen, I tried to impress an almost-girlfriend at the time by doing chin ups at her house of the rotunda in their yard. The wood snapped and I fell on my arse, breaking both her dad's self-built garden masterpiece and my pride.

Seeing that gif always makes me feel better because it was only in front of her and not on national television :D
Hahaha good story and I'm sure you bounced back from that event :-) the spotlight of t.v. and modern technology can be cruel but funny haha

Hard to believe these snow dwellers have bothered to post in this thread after the last couple of weeks displayed by some of their representatives. Putrid.

Like the coach said, they don't want to be that sort of team. And bringing up the Murphy gif (which is funny) makes no sense because he got caught by his own feet.

lol.