The diving thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

Haha, richest statement ever from a Hawks fan.
Never seen a louder, more fair-weather supporter base in any sport.

To be honest as much as I hate hawthorn I'd rather support them than continue to support a team that cheated.
I mean hell what do you tell your kids when they ask about the "saga"?.
"Kids it's ok to cheat, we will continue to support a club that did". Interesting conversations ahead.....

As for the OP, as much as I hate to admit, there was a bit of diving going on. Not s great look. It's not only Geelong. Most clubs do it. Sloane, Crouch (Brad) and betts tonight too.

On topic - the dive from Danger deserves a citation.
Soccer cards these. I would have no issue with the MRP suspending a player for a week for a dive.

I have zero respect for Selwood. Sniping, ducking cheat. Outweighs how good a player he is.

And its a another week where he has started a fight and tried to rough people up only to dive like the gutless cheat he is when they remonstrate. Supporters and the media ripped into Robbie Gray when they played Geelong, said that he played for free kicks, and that he had a bad night (kicked 3 goals). Tonight Selwood tried to fight everyone on the field, failed, did nothing, instigated more fights and dived when he got any contact and had a sook to the umpires. The guy is a pathetic grub but the boys club shield him from any criticism. He has become as bad as Ballantyne and compare the difference in media commentary of the two players. My only hope is that he tries it on in round 22 when someone has had enough, is retiring, or something of that nature, and the guy breaks his jaw in half so he has an entire finals series to reflect on not being a complete ****wit.

Haha, you're funny. 6 weeks ago we beat you by the same amount. A lot can happen in 6 more weeks. Don't think we can play much worse.

Umpires were shit, you had the rub for the first half and us for the second, whole thing was over umpired to be honest

5 weeks ago they got rolled by the 15th placed side.....in front of their own tribe.
After that game all I heard from there own supporters (and you can look on their board and see it for yourself) was how crap they were, the coach had no plan B, the culture of the club was of mediocrity, and they will never win a flag......God I hope not.
A bigger bunch of self righteous supporters you will not find.
That is what you get for listening to Triple M Adelaide (Andrew Jarman) and 5AA (Rowey) and consuming your own shite

Let me preface this by saying I think Joel Selwood is a brilliant, tough player. But umpires are clearly falling for Joel's 'techniques' when he's attacking the ball.

No player is that much tougher or harder at the ball that they should be this far ahead in free kicks.

IMG_5369.jpg

That's an insane margin to be ahead by.

Rory Sloane has been tagged mercilessly all year and is 17 free kicks behind Selwood from one less game.

Let me preface this by saying I think Joel Selwood is a brilliant, tough player. But umpires are clearly falling for Joel's 'techniques' when he's attacking the ball.

No player is that much tougher or harder at the ball that they should be this far ahead in free kicks.

View attachment 394780

That's just crazy. Rory Sloane has been tagged mercilessly all year and is 17 free kicks behind Selwood from one less game.
Sloane wins tonight. The bloke without the theatrics.

Selwood at the centre bounce

Punch_-_Masculine_beauty_retouched1.png

View attachment 394780

Rory Sloane has been tagged mercilessly all year and is 17 free kicks behind Selwood from one less game.

Danger and selwood both top 5 for contested possessions and sloane 8th. Funny that if you attack the footy and win it in a contest more than others do that you'll probably receive more free kicks than those who don't.

View attachment 394780

I liked the part where the umpire blew the whistle for a crows free kick and Selwood started walking back with ball, assuming it was his free kick.

Well the Hawks won't be there and Geelong will be under the pump to stay in top 4 (Richmond, Sydney, GWS still to come).

Love it.

You can only hope we don't get two finals in Adelaide.

I think you are confusing me for someone that cares mate.
You want to hope your club can change its culture of near enough is good enough....but I doubt it

Danger and selwood both top 5 for contested possessions and sloane 8th. Funny that if you attack the footy and win it in a contest more than others do that you'll probably receive more free kicks than those who don't.

Yeah....there's winning a free kick, and then there is blatantly expecting to get one every time you get tackled

I think you are confusing me for someone that cares mate.
You want to hope your club can change its culture of near enough is good enough....but I doubt it

We shall see. This has been building for 4 years.

For a club that has rarely received top 10 picks or father/son reckon we have done remarkable. Then add the events of 2015, this club has and always do us proud. No bottoming out for us.