The diving thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

We shall see. This has been building for 4 years.

For a club that has rarely received top 10 picks or father/son reckon we have done remarkable. Then add the events of 2015, this club has and always do us proud. No bottoming out for us.

I will give you credit for that....they have done very well with the picks they have had.
But your fans and media build them up nearly every year, and they let you down time and time again.
It's no disgrace to be mediocre

Yeah....there's winning a free kick, and then there is blatantly expecting to get one every time you get tackled

Danger flopped once and won a free, not ideal but Betts did the same and no one says boo.

Think sloane won the most free kicks for the night didn't he? Fair enough too, he attacks the ball in the same way

Lol so so salty. I agree Geelong won't be in the GF though. Rely too much on danger and the umps.
The Crows are way off the mark also. Both games this year were wins for the home teams Cats by 22 at SS and the Crows tonight by 21 at AO. If they meet at the G in a final the Cats will slaughter them...

Danger flopped once and won a free, not ideal but Betts did the same and no one says boo.

Think sloane won the most free kicks for the night didn't he? Fair enough too, he attacks the ball in the same way

Yeah.....I am referring to your mate Selwood.
And we are not talking only about one game tonight......has been doing it pretty much all of his career.
I would be embarrassed seeing that if it was the Hawthorn captain

The last quarter is atrocious. Geelong just doing whatever they like. Ducking, throwing, diving. The worst part is that they're getting the frees for it
We deserved all 29 of those frees after quarter time and I was laughing so much all night live while the flogs in the crowd booed the living shit out of the umps.

Also on another note.. as someone who saw the game live, apparently Razor paid all 31 of our free kicks and 0 of Adelaide's 30... he copped it hard when he was fair for once

No, Other teams get these frees as well it's just that your team openly encourages this sort if behavior, Your captain leads by example. Definitely looks coached to me.
Finally the only smart comment in the thread. On a night like tonight all I could do was laugh when the Crows fans would boo because I couldn't defend the bullshit frees we were getting. Some of them were there but there was at least 10 piss weak ones.

29 after QT. However that doesn't excuse the fact this was the worst crowd I've ever sat amongst and I regularly go to Port games.

Was waiting for dangerfield to go down holding his head when he dropped an easy chest mark at the top of the 50 in the last quarter

If you look slightly to the left of the screen you will see Selwood go down like a bag of shite holding his head when he realises the ump isn't paying a free to Danger.

i have seen others team much worse than geelong in recent time yet dont receive as much attention.

Selwood is the most wonderful brave player ever.

Who is a weak dog

I didn't see the game tonight. Sounds like I did the right thing. Who would have thought players would exploit the 'over the shoulder' rule? Selwood's the best exponent of it. But he'll pay the price. Just like Greg Williams, he won't remember many of his playing days. I hope he's enjoying himself right now. It's obviously driving footy fans crazy, but the AFL won't budge. We'll just have to suck on it until Selwood retires. He's 29, so that's about four more years. Oh god - 4 years. I don't think I'm gonna make it.

The Crows are way off the mark also. Both games this year were wins for the home teams Cats by 22 at SS and the Crows tonight by 21 at AO. If they meet at the G in a final the Cats will slaughter them...

Crows are way off the mark? Yet they're a game and a half clear on top of the ladder?

If anything the G is more likely to suit the Crows against the Cats, being a much bigger oval.

Not a dig at Geelong in particular, but should players who duck with the intention of winning free kicks be penalised at the MRP in the same way diving is punished?

Diving is punished? According to the MRP nobody in the AFL has dived for 5 years.

Easy fix would be that they stop paying frees when players initiate high contact. Won't happen until Selwood retires

Diving is punished? According to the MRP nobody in the AFL has dived for 5 years.

Easy fix would be that they stop paying frees when players initiate high contact. Won't happen until Selwood retires

It doesn't happen often and anywhere near enough but you can be suspended for diving yes.