The diving thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

Papley gets like 1 free a game. He's ranked like 115th in Frees For this year. Completely unremarkable for a guy now playing a fair bit of midfield minutes.

If he's diving to get frees, he's not doing it particularly well or often.

Sydneys Ballantyne. Sucks people in just like Ballantyne in his prime.

He got one match. So your Hodge example is shit and again we're back to square one, so I'll ask again, even if we call Papley going down and getting up again within seconds of being hit in the solar plexus a dive, what's another example?
Duncan got two matches. The MRP says Papley didn't dive, although you conceded earlier that he did.

Square one: Papley is a diving little squib.

Duncan got two matches.
The MRP offered him one game, he'll miss one game.

The MRP says Papley didn't dive, although you conceded earlier that he did.
Nah, I said even if we accept Duncan's hit as a dive, there aren't other examples.

Look, this has been another rewarding encounter with a broken Hawks fan, but until you can come up with an example that doesn't involve having to imagine what the incident looked like, this has run its course

RmSm5p4.jpg

Considering the past 5 game logs he is making the next step into becoming a very good footballer
Not going to make it at the dogs having an 8 and 2 free kick count. Ratio should be at least 10:1

The MRP offered him one game, he'll miss one game.
Basic facts hard to digest for Sydney fans?

upload_2017-8-7_20-0-48.png

No visualisation necessary, he's been all over the tv two weeks running, players are missing games on account of this turd's antics.

This has run its course: Papley dives and you kid yourself thinking otherwise.

Plowman and Papley building their legacy nicely. 'Yep we've managed to get two blokes each rubbed out by falling over and pretending we have been injured... high five!'

Hope Plowman goes to Papely when they meet next. They might both fall over and roll around on the ground as soon as they match up.

Basic facts hard to digest for Sydney fans?
Why not highlight the section that shows the sanction Duncan was actually offered? The part that says one match.
No visualisation necessary, he's been all over the tv two weeks running,
Oh good, then there's footage of Hodge's off the ball hit that Papley apparently dived after. I haven't been able to find it but no doubt you can show it. I look forward to it.

What is it with Carlton players, they seem to be members of the 'Alex Rance school of delayed reaction'.
Also have the best medical staff in the league, if not the world, amazing recovery stats for concussed players.
PS.do something different and reply with something like 'coming from a drug club blah blah.'

Why not highlight the section that shows the sanction Duncan was actually offered? The part that says one match.
Because the incident was classified as a two match sanction. Are you the full quid?

Oh good, then there's footage of Hodge's off the ball hit that Papley apparently dived after. I haven't been able to find it but no doubt you can show it. I look forward to it.
Your research skills on par with your comprehension. I googled "Hodge Papley" and this was the first result:

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/2017-07-31/hodge-charged-by-mrp

Because the incident was classified as a two match sanction. Are you the full quid?
He didn't get two matches though. I get you're trying to make it sound worse, but the actual outcome of this is a one match suspension where the player will miss one match.

Your research skills on par with your comprehension. I googled "Hodge Papley" and this was the first result:

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/2017-07-31/hodge-charged-by-mrp
Right, so Hodge wound up and gut punched someone running by, off the ball who wasn't looking and your issue is that the punched player went down. Broken.

What is it with Carlton players, they seem to be members of the 'Alex Rance school of delayed reaction'.
Also have the best medical staff in the league, if not the world, amazing recovery stats for concussed players.
PS.do something different and reply with something like 'coming from a drug club blah blah.'
What a sooky la la post. Transparent much? Its obvious you are sooking up because Merrett had a brain fade and whacked plowman when he wasn't looking or expecting it.

Kruezer was concussed in the second quarter and missed the rest of the game; that's why it was deemed a concussion.

How about you get a mate (if you've got any) to punch you in the guts when you aren't prepared for it. What do you reckon youd do Einstein?

Papley's really distinguished himself as a good bloke this weekend. It's one thing to dive in the heat of the moment, and quite another to continue with the charade and get a bloke suspended.

Alex Rance - "Greatest of all time back man" - you mean?

I admit Carlton's medical staff need an examination, but lets not minimize Essendon as a drug club. Essendon Football Club systematically doped. That isn't just my opinion either - that is FACT. Essendon is a drug club. No, Essendon are drug cheats. When a club participates in the drugs the way that Essendon did, and get caught, they are not just labelled drug cheats - they are drug cheats.

What stats would those be? Jed Lamb missed a game and a half from concussion, Kreuzer missed the rest of the Geelong match, what are the 'amazing recovery stats' of which you speak?

The real point regarding Papley has been missed by a country mile. Don't be an idiot and you won't get suspended.

I admire the Cats (unlike their bitches the Hawks) but Duncan has himself to blame. Most Cats supporters seem to agree and are naturally disappointed. I too would prefer they had a full strength team to take down a few going into the finals.

Hodge has a history of stupid thug acts and once again he's set a poor example for the young players and let the side down. How dopey do you have to be ? Mind you, as he plays for the Hawks I don't give a toss. That team is done for the year and he's just about done too.

As for Papley. What a little gem.

The real point regarding Papley has been missed by a country mile. Don't be an idiot and you won't get suspended.

I admire the Cats (unlike their bitches the Hawks) but Duncan has himself to blame. Most Cats supporters seem to agree and are naturally disappointed. I too would prefer they had a full strength team to take down a few going into the finals.

Hodge has a history of stupid thug acts and once again he's set a poor example for the young players and let the side down. How dopey do you have to be ? Mind you, as he plays for the Hawks I don't give a toss. That team is done for the year and he's just about done too.

As for Papley. What a little gem.
Just as we all thought.
No Hodge, less competitive Hawthorn.
Well done Paps for proving it.

He got him square in the chest, no way he was clocked in the diaphragm or any sort of plexus, Papley just faked it, it's like getting hit on the shoulder and going down clutching your face, that's not accentuating the action
The solar plexus (or celiac plexus) is located in the upper part of the abdomen above the stomach, between the ribs and just below the sternum. There's no question that Duncan punched him with a clenched fist but from a side view it isn't clear whether the punch hits the ribs or between the ribs. So I think it's a little disengenuous to claim he missed the solar plexus without additional vision. Where exactly it hit probably isn't so important to the MRP. To them it was an illegal dog act deemed worthy of suspension. It's also quite likely they may have had access to some vision of the incident. Regardless, a blow to this region can cause great pain. So don't be too quick to sit back on a sofa and make judgements. Maybe you should ask Papley to come around and demonstrate where he got hit.

Just as we all thought.
No Hodge, less competitive Hawthorn.
Well done Paps for proving it.

They can only hope a new generation (of umpires) will come through. Fancy losing your best players to the Dogs.