Jul 2, 2002
In alphabet soup.
Mavs, REDSOX, Cowboys.
What is this guy doing?

I'm not blaming him for our loss, but if the club is serious about ingraining the play we had against Collingwobble, Bowden has to be the first head on the block.

Sideways, getting caught with the ball, wandering aimlessly throughout the centre square, unmanned, his team mates don't have the confidence to give it to him even then. He is a half-baked, pea heart pretender. Even last week when Richmond were dominating by going long and direct, this halfwit was going sideways, cross ways anywhere but to a leading forward. He needs to learn how to improve his disposal at Coburg and win back the confidence of his team mates.

Why do we continue accepting his poor choices? Bring in Thomas Roach and tell him get the ball and move it on as fast as you can.

Yeah,that sounds about right.

Much rather bleed Roach or another kid in place of Bowsdown.
IMO He's no better than Hilton and look at the way he's been treated.
At least Rory has a heart and throws himself at it.

Not a week goes by where he doesn't "squib a hard ball get.
Captain Squib.
I hope our kids know this about him and aren't caught up
in the "Myth of Joel."

Softest bitch in the afl.
He makes my guts writhe.

He wont be dropped he got his 20+ plus touches so the coaching staff will not be gutsy enough to send him back to Coburg. I don't think his hardness was that bad last night it was just some laziness issues such as getting the ball 20 metres in the clear and then getting run down or not bothering to hold up his opponent when he takes a mark and letting them play on straight away instead of slowing them down.

Oh puh-lease!

A shocking effort by most of our team and you want to take it out on Bowden again. Give me a break. There are many players worse than him who are treated as some sort of sacred cows.

Where is the 'Drop Gaspar' thread? Or the 'Drop Stafford' thread? Or the 'Drop Tivendale' thread? Or the 'Drop Rodan' thread?

All these players were far worse than Bowden last night but they escape scot free.

Ever thought that the reason Bowden went sideways and short was because there was noboby running hard to space to create an option upfield. And when he was running through the middle, looking for a long option, where was the talk to tell him he was hot? Where was the player running in to lay a shepherd.

Picking on just Bowden is weak because he is an easy target. Try and think about what the problem is rather than taking an easy option and laying it of on a scapegoat.

I'll start the "drop Gaspar thread". Dont like him, never have, part of the reason is probably is Stuart Maxfield was one of my favorite players, and gee has he done bad since he went to Sydney. Gaspaaar is too thin, too easily brushed aside, too slowand too clumsy. Also, why do I have to be the one to tell him the ball is coming down."GET ON YOUR OPPONENT AND STAY ON HIM!!!!" Yeah yeah I know he does some good stuffbut.....pfffftt most of is isnt good enough

Originally posted by Chilli Afterglow
Oh puh-lease!

A shocking effort by most of our team and you want to take it out on Bowden again. Give me a break. There are many players worse than him who are treated as some sort of sacred cows.

Where is the 'Drop Gaspar' thread? Or the 'Drop Stafford' thread? Or the 'Drop Tivendale' thread? Or the 'Drop Rodan' thread?

All these players were far worse than Bowden last night but they escape scot free.

Ever thought that the reason Bowden went sideways and short was because there was noboby running hard to space to create an option upfield. And when he was running through the middle, looking for a long option, where was the talk to tell him he was hot? Where was the player running in to lay a shepherd.

Picking on just Bowden is weak because he is an easy target. Try and think about what the problem is rather than taking an easy option and laying it of on a scapegoat.

My heart bleeds for Joel Bowden after reading this diatribe.

I am not picking on Bowden, all I am saying is that his game does not fit with Richmond's best football. His current skills and awareness are not suited. Honestly, I admire that you stick up for our players, but I cannot fathom why anyone would be a Joel Bowden apologist.

I am not going to talk isolated incidents with you, but what I am going to say is: Bowden has lost his confidence and Richmond players have lost their confidence in him. Bowden is no scapegoat, he needs to find a new role and confidence.

i have led a campaighn to ge this bloke exited from the club for a long time. He receives the ball wide, cannot tackle, gets soft kicks, is unaacountable as a footballer but still we play him. He is a reason why we are mediocre-because we put up with it! He gets soft touches but cannot play to any defensive game plan. If we have guts we whould drop him and exit him next year, but this is richmond and we put up with it yeh!

he wasnt that bad, see him dive on the ball and Neitz hit him in he head with his knees, Bowden got a free, he went in harder than usual and there were ar more worse players than him. Rodan couldnt touch the ball

Sometimes, I really dont understand what goes on here.. Bowden really put in last night and tried.

As for DAVID RODAN, maybe instead of loving his flashy skills that he does once in a blue moon you could think about what he achives in a game of footy. 84 minutes, 6 posessions..

Give me a break.

Im sick of this.. BigFooty is starting to be the pits. With you guys yelling at everything under the bloody sun its just no fun anymore.

Please, can we try and stay away from PRE articles?

Originally posted by rfctigerarmy
Im sick of this.. BigFooty is starting to be the pits. With you guys yelling at everything under the bloody sun its just no fun anymore.

Who's yelling ?
They're called realities.
Can't brush it aside like the RFC has done for the past 24 years
nor should we.

You're of strong character RFC,surely u can understand the way it works.

Originally posted by Showbag

<snip>

I am not picking on Bowden,

<snip>

Oh yes you are!
You have started a thread called 'The Drop Joel Bowden Thread' How much more direct you you have to be before you are classed as picking on someone.

Here is a newsflash. JOEL BOWDEN WAS NOT THE SOLE REASON WHY WE LOST ON FRIDAY NIGHT.

We lost because 3/4's of our team came out expecting a soft opponent and expected to be able to carry on where we left off last week.

This much was evident in the first 5 minutes WHILE BOWDEN WAS STILL ON THE BENCH AND HAD NOT PLAYED A SINGLE MINUTE OF THE GAME.

Singling out Bowden is a cheap shot at an easy target.

If you're gonna play him the bench is a great spot to start.

Use him like he plays - in spurts !

He has started on the bench for the past 2 games, probably because he's had a shortened pre-season and may not have the fitness to run out a full game.

My view is that Bowden has been OK the past 2 games. Far from our worst and often closer to our best. Certainly one of about 10 who can hold their heads high from last Friiday.

Or the 'Drop Stafford' thread?

Were you at the game ? If so and you really think this is a reasonable request then fair dinkum mate you know very little about footy - or might it be that you know very little about ruck work.

Oh yes you are!
You have started a thread called 'The Drop Joel Bowden Thread' How much more direct you you have to be before you are classed as picking on someone.

Here is a newsflash. JOEL BOWDEN WAS NOT THE SOLE REASON WHY WE LOST ON FRIDAY NIGHT.

We lost because 3/4's of our team came out expecting a soft opponent and expected to be able to carry on where we left off last week.

This much was evident in the first 5 minutes WHILE BOWDEN WAS STILL ON THE BENCH AND HAD NOT PLAYED A SINGLE MINUTE OF THE GAME.

Singling out Bowden is a cheap shot at an easy target.

Damn, you just don't get it. He's had far too many chances for me. You keep supporting him. Watch him for a whole game and you will decide that he needs a run at Coburg, no matter what his stats say.

Doesnt' matter if it's Bowden or whoever, if you're not in form a drop to the 2s should be automatic. Both to get some form and to show no-one is immune.

But Bowden didn't do any worse than anyone else this round. They were all pathetic, with the exception of a handful.

Bowden had a lot of mates on friday night. Neitz kicked so many goals because of the total lack of accountability by our players further up the field. What's a full back supposed to do? Mind you I think our backline is extremely suspect against sides with big forwards. We will get smashed next week by the saints. Gehrig, Hamill, reiwoldt will cause us untold pain. We simply have no matchups for them.

Tommy Roach must come in for Flemming. Why the hell do we continue to persist with this hack? I'd drop him b4 bowden. At least bowden gets the damn ball. Rhodan is a passenger and just doesn't do enough of the hard stuff. Richo's weight gain is a real worry. He's lost his greatest asset...his pace. Not smart enough for one on one. Nicholson got votes because of this. The only one who "took on" melbourne was campbell. Where were his mates?????

Anyway, we can look forward to another lineup display against spuds mates next week. Any saint players retiring next week??

:mad: :mad: :mad:

Don't think many at all can hold their heads high from Friday's performance. Jury is still out on Bowden. 25 possessions would suggest he wasn't the worst player on the field, but the quality of those possessions has to be considered. I still feel he lacks intensity and acts to casual on the field, allowing himself to get caught, or putting other teammates under pressure.

Having singled out Bowden however, he was not the reason for the insipid performance on Friday night. The game plan, if there was one to begin with, was abysmal. We had 500 more marks and 2000 more disposals than Melbourne, good to see the long kicking down the corridor formula continue from Round 1. No pressure whatsoever, no idea really.

The Potato will have some grand gesture in store for next week. Maybe he will get our players to form a guard of honour either side of the St. Kilda banner to spur on his mates.

The drop Joel Bowden Thread