The economics of footy tourism & finals

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
The many claims made for the value of sports tourism returning financial gains for cities tends to be taken sceptically by many ordinary punters but WA is salivating over the prospect of its AFL clubs finishing 1-2 in 2015 thus ensuring 4 finals for Subi (aka Domain Stadium):

The WA economy is set to reap a windfall of at least $30 million if West Coast shore up a top-two berth by beating St Kilda at Domain Stadium tonight.

An Eagles victory will trigger an unprecedented four finals in Perth.

The top two ladder positions would mean two qualifying finals in Perth next week, probably involving West Coast and Hawthorn next Friday at 6.10pm and Fremantle and Sydney on Saturday at 1.20pm.

It would also guarantee each team another home final, a semifinal the following week in the event of a loss, or a preliminary final on Friday, September 25, or Saturday, September 26.

.... the major boost comes in tourism figures which indicate that any one final is likely to add about $8 million to the economy.

Figures from last year’s semifinal between Fremantle and Port Adelaide indicate that almost 8000 people travelled to WA for the game — a boost of more than $8.2 million to the local economy. Fremantle’s 2013 preliminary final clash with Sydney earned an estimated $8.37 million for the economy.

The article in full deals with other revenue streams:
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/wa/a/29443217/30m-windfall-for-wa-if-eagles-beat-st-kilda/

As an Eagles fan I was reassured by the words of Alan Cransberg
West Coast chairman Alan Cransberg stressed his club still had to secure a win against St Kilda tonight to hold second spot and admitted some surprise at the club’s rapid rise.:thumbsu:

Figures from last year’s semifinal between Fremantle and Port Adelaide indicate that almost 8000 people travelled to WA for the game — a boost of more than $8.2 million to the local economy.

Where do these figures come from? I remember Port talking up 5000 of their own fans coming to the game, but meanwhile in reality they had perhaps 1000 (1500 at a hugely optimistic estimate) at the game and that would include Perth based Port fans.

And why would thousands of people come over and not actually go to the game?

Where do these figures come from? I remember Port talking up 5000 of their own fans coming to the game, but meanwhile in reality they had perhaps 1000 (1500 at a hugely optimistic estimate) at the game and that would include Perth based Port fans.

And why would thousands of people come over and not actually go to the game?

I'm sure *some* would...Partners of football nuts who don't have the same passion, etc. But they would surely be the minority.

10-16,000 people coming to WA (5-8,000*2 for 2 games)....Given the stories of transport hell when finals are elsewhere, surely that'd be at least a noticeably impact of flight & hotel availability and costs.

I'd also question the idea that these 8,000 people would spend $1000 each (above transport costs presumably)

Yeh. 8000 people is like 50 flights carrying 160 people each!

Any aviation types out there, travel agents .... any idea how many flights/capacity into Perth these days.

Clearly the scepticism over numbers like this attached to sporting events are alive & well - hopefully we will be advised how many Hawks/Swans members get seats.
Be more than a few business meetings in Perth late this week, must attend trips.

First. I think it's great the two qualifying finals are in Perth. It's better than seeing Carlton pick up the wooden spoon. I think Buddy pulling out has guaranteed a Freo win. Ok, I doubt we could have won with him.

Is it possible to get a break down of the $8m? Either the hotdogs will be $20 each, the casino is looking to fleece Hawthorn/Sydney fans, advertising at the ground will really expensive or the WA government is backing a West Coast/Freo double @ $1.40 using $20m of state money.

If the both preliminary finals are played in Perth & both Sydney & Hawthorn have to make return trips, will Hawthorn be given the VFL title?

First. I think it's great the two qualifying finals are in Perth. It's better than seeing Carlton pick up the wooden spoon. I think Buddy pulling out has guaranteed a Freo win. Ok, I doubt we could have won with him.

Is it possible to get a break down of the $8m? Either the hotdogs will be $20 each, the casino is looking to fleece Hawthorn/Sydney fans, advertising at the ground will really expensive or the WA government is backing a West Coast/Freo double @ $1.40 using $20m of state money.

If the both preliminary finals are played in Perth & both Sydney & Hawthorn have to make return trips, will Hawthorn be given the VFL title?

Questioning Dee - cynicism of the guesstimaters. Bean counters have more cred !!
http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/a...-for-dockerseagles-games-20150907-gjgwwc.html
Bridgetown girl, no dills there.

See the WA Government putting its money up in the sports tourism space, through Tourism WA a deal has been inked with the V8 supercars circus:
The West Australian Government has extended its partnership with V8 Supercars to guarantee a round at Barbagallo Raceway for at least the next three years.

The deal, between Tourism WA, the WA Sporting Car Club and V8 Supercars, locks in a Perth event until at least 2018.

“For West Australia and tourism, great national television coverage. Also the international coverage is a huge boost for Western Australia as we build up our events calendar.”

http://www.v8supercars.com.au/news/championship/wa-locks-in-v8-supercars

Questioning Dee - cynicism of the guesstimaters. Bean counters have more cred !!

Battle of the professions. Here's an old one. What does CPA stand for? Can't Pass Actuarial.

The Hawks might be different but I doubt there will be 8,000 Swans fans flying to Perth. Especially when it was a struggle to get 35,000 to travel out to Homebush for a Saturday afternoon/evening game. Don't take offense but shopping, Melbourne>Sydney>Perth. How's the Moodah Brook Verdelho these day

Battle of the professions. Here's an old one. What does CPA stand for? Can't Pass Actuarial.

The Hawks might be different but I doubt there will be 8,000 Swans fans flying to Perth. Especially when it was a struggle to get 35,000 to travel out to Homebush for a Saturday afternoon/evening game. Don't take offense but shopping, Melbourne>Sydney>Perth. How's the Moodah Brook Verdelho these day

It's more to do with the fact Perth is so far away that it is expensive and time consuming to get to. Couple that with the fact that finals are in no way a novelty for Sydney and Hawthorn supporters, I doubt all that many would be making the trip over.

You're right about the finals not being a novelty. 12 times in the last 13 seasons the Swans have made the finals. Sydney people get bored easily.

I've only flown to Perth for work & was forced to suffer in business class.

You're right about the finals not being a novelty. 12 times in the last 13 seasons the Swans have made the finals. Sydney people get bored easily.

I've only flown to Perth for work & was forced to suffer in business class.

So have you ever got on a plane/train or bus to attend a sporting event ?

That'd be Moondah Brook as in http://moondahbrook.com.au/moondah-brook/verify-age?destination=taxonomy/term/23

Perhaps a beer is more your style:
Following a nationwide public vote, The Local Taphouse has released the results of its annual Hottest 100 Aussie Craft Beers poll.
Now in its eighth year, the poll encourages thousands of beer lovers from across the country to vote for their favourite brew of the year. More than 1,800 beers were listed in the 2014 poll.
Taking out the number one spot for the third year running was WA micro-brewery, Feral Brewery for its Hop Hog American Pale Ale. Feral was followed by Byron Bay’s Stone & Wood Pacific Ale who took out second place, and Manly’s 4 Pines Brewery came in third with its Pale Ale.
https://www.feralbrewing.com.au/

After your trip business class were you asked how you got over the fence? The rabbit proof fence designed to keep the wise men from the east out. :confused:

So have you ever got on a plane/train or bus to attend a sporting event ?

Friends & I have the 'Boys Trip to the AFL' every year outside of Brisbane. We coordinate it usually for when Geelong & Sydney play in Melbourne on the same weekend. This year we decided on Sydney vs Geelong at Homebush. One is from Sydney & I lived there for 5 years so we know how to get around. We stay in a cheap but tasteful hotel in Chatswood and spend the whole day out until game time. A tour of the pubs between Surry Hills and Paddington. It's a long day. Dinner in the Inner West around Ashfield. Then the train out to Homebush. Plus a kick in the park if Dave brought the Sherrin. A group of mid 40's guys kicking an old football in a park. Looks pathetic.

You would have done some good trips. Especially the Melbourne weekends.

That'd be Moondah Brook as in http://moondahbrook.com.au/moondah-brook/verify-age?destination=taxonomy/term/23

Perhaps a beer is more your style:
Following a nationwide public vote, The Local Taphouse has released the results of its annual Hottest 100 Aussie Craft Beers poll.
Now in its eighth year, the poll encourages thousands of beer lovers from across the country to vote for their favourite brew of the year. More than 1,800 beers were listed in the 2014 poll.
Taking out the number one spot for the third year running was WA micro-brewery, Feral Brewery for its Hop Hog American Pale Ale. Feral was followed by Byron Bay’s Stone & Wood Pacific Ale who took out second place, and Manly’s 4 Pines Brewery came in third with its Pale Ale.
https://www.feralbrewing.com.au/

After your trip business class were you asked how you got over the fence? The rabbit proof fence designed to keep the wise men from the east out. :confused:

That pub looks so cool. Definitely on the bucket list. I like the Moondah Brook website asks if I was over 18.

The Perth trip was when I worked in Canberra. There were no direct flights to Perth so I had to travel via Melbourne. The public service rule was if the flight was more than 4 hours, I get bumped up to business class. Such a rort. The Australian government id got me over the rabbit proof fence.

Should be a fantastic weekend in Perth. Starting COB tonight. Hopefully both games are telecast into restaurants and pubs all over Perth.

Have you got your ticket for tomorrow night?

That pub looks so cool. Definitely on the bucket list. I like the Moondah Brook website asks if I was over 18.

The Perth trip was when I worked in Canberra. There were no direct flights to Perth so I had to travel via Melbourne. The public service rule was if the flight was more than 4 hours, I get bumped up to business class. Such a rort. The Australian government id got me over the rabbit proof fence.

Should be a fantastic weekend in Perth. Starting COB tonight. Hopefully both games are telecast into restaurants and pubs all over Perth.

Have you got your ticket for tomorrow night?

Mate, no chance tomorrow night, work & family severely limit 'for fun' travel at this time - got to earn it to spend it. My corporate days are well gone along with travel up front, cattle class is my go.

Big (biggest) winners regardless are the AFL:
Research byWestBusiness has found the AFL, which controls all ticket sales to the AFL finals including corporate hospitality, expects to bank a $20 million profit from this year’s finals series. And with an unprecedented four finals matches at Domain Stadium, a big chunk of its 2015 profit will come from WA’s corporate sector.

The AFL refused to respond to questions from WestBusiness about the financial breakdown of its corporate suites and boxes. But sources suggest the AFL banks about 85 per cent of the profits from the lucrative trade.

The clubs, which sell most of the catered boxes and suites to sponsors and clients on behalf of the AFL, receive a “small commission” after the sale of the ticket is subtracted.

Insiders have suggested Fremantle and West Coast will bank about $80,000 to $100,000 per game from their cut of the corporate hospitality loot, with the rest, estimated at $500,000 per game, banked by the AFL.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/business/wa/a/29492195/afl-the-winner-in-finals-banquet/

Research byWestBusiness has found the AFL, which controls all ticket sales to the AFL finals including corporate hospitality, expects to bank a $20 million profit from this year’s finals series. And with an unprecedented four finals matches at Domain Stadium, a big chunk of its 2015 profit will come from WA’s corporate sector.

The AFL refused to respond to questions from WestBusiness about the financial breakdown of its corporate suites and boxes. But sources suggest the AFL banks about 85 per cent of the profits from the lucrative trade.

The clubs, which sell most of the catered boxes and suites to sponsors and clients on behalf of the AFL, receive a “small commission” after the sale of the ticket is subtracted.

Insiders have suggested Fremantle and West Coast will bank about $80,000 to $100,000 per game from their cut of the corporate hospitality loot, with the rest, estimated at $500,000 per game, banked by the AFL.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/business/wa/a/29492195/afl-the-winner-in-finals-banquet/

AFL must have looked at the SANFL/SMA's regular season business model.

Does Subiaco footy club get any flowing to them?

Yes, the AFL banks a lot from finals...They do it every year, at every ground. Somebody has to pay for football in NSW/QLD/Tas, but before you complain about them ripping money out of WA, think for a moment about the AFL's deal with the MCG... Do you think the AFL pays the same price to 'rent' the ground that the clubs pay during the year, or are the Vic clubs, once again, subsidising the rest of the league?

A minimum of 4 finals a year at the MCG makes a mint for the AFL, and unlike the WA clubs in this article, the clubs will be lucky to get anything, and the local league nothing (VFL not being ground manager).