The end could come very quickly for Judd

Harvey was able to play as an outside player for the last 3 years due to his running ability and kicking skills. Was always able to tee it up for a leading forward.

Judd lacks the kicking skills to play this role.

I can't be bothered reading the entire thread to see how many other posters have picked you up on this but surely you're not serious on the 2 points above? Harvey was an inside mid and may have moved slightly to more of a running role in his last year...certainly not his last 3 years. Harvey was an elite inside mid for most of his career but was so good at running that he gave the illusion that he was both inside / outside with the way he would break away from contested situations.

As for Judd lacking the kicking skills to play an outside role, IMO that is complete rubbish. If Judd was released from playing an inside role and told to be a runner only, he would dominate. The issue is not whether his kicking skills are good enough (they are and would get even better with less pressure on him getting uncontested possies) but whether his body would hold up.

For those out there that constantly bag the guns like Ablett and Judd, you're entitled to your opinion but I'm pretty sure you would all be making a mess in your pants on a weekly basis if they played for your team. Amazing what jealousy and bitterness does to people!!

Go Tiges

I can't be bothered reading the entire thread to see how many other posters have picked you up on this but surely you're not serious on the 2 points above? Harvey was an inside mid and may have moved slightly to more of a running role in his last year...certainly not his last 3 years. Harvey was an elite inside mid for most of his career but was so good at running that he gave the illusion that he was both inside / outside with the way he would break away from contested situations.

As for Judd lacking the kicking skills to play an outside role, IMO that is complete rubbish. If Judd was released from playing an inside role and told to be a runner only, he would dominate. The issue is not whether his kicking skills are good enough (they are and would get even better with less pressure on him getting uncontested possies) but whether his body would hold up.

For those out there that constantly bag the guns like Ablett and Judd, you're entitled to your opinion but I'm pretty sure you would all be making a mess in your pants on a weekly basis if they played for your team. Amazing what jealousy and bitterness does to people!!

Go Tiges

Yes mate..you're spot on.

And of course its absolute rubbish....it was written by Hodgepodge.

HP, you should have another account for threads like this, I think it has merit. Unfortunately too many have just attacked the OP or Hawthorn without actually providing any worthwhile discussion.

I cringe at HPs threads about Hodge and Cyril like the rest of you, but if it bothers you, either try and make a decent case against it, or ignore it.

Coming in and posting vitriol is getting nobody anywhere.

These are the 3 posts before me, I mean what is this achieving?

If he is trolling, you're just feeding him.
If he isn't, you're just looking like you're avoiding the question. Try putting together a decent argument. you might suprise yourselves.

Play the ball, not the man.

The argument against is simple; HP is a moron who is judging a champion player based on his last performance which just so happened to be against the club he supports (never mind the other 4 blistering games he has played so far this year). Judd is one of the best kickers in the competition and his hits inside 50 are testiment to that....Last year he led the league in this category - lace out straight down fevola's throat.

Then to argue that he is a product of 'diminishing returns' when his football seems to be going from strength to strength after prooving himself at a new club is just plain wrong.

Furthermore, what player in the AFL couldn't be struck down by injury or have their career curtailed by some event....reality of age, Chris Judd has more chance of surpassing age restrictions than 99.9% of other players in the league because of his physical abilities, his footskills and his ability to read the game....the whole argument wreaks of negativity and jealousy, its as if HP is asphyxiating himself to the supercoach performance of Hodge and Cyril whilst secretly being in love with the bald wonders of Ablett and Judd (and whomever he chooses to criticise)..

Mind you, makes for funny reading!

Harvey was an inside mid and may have moved slightly to more of a running role in his last year...certainly not his last 3 years.

Harvey was an inside/outside mid, but went more outside in his final 3 seasons. His superb delivery into the forward line allowed him to be super effective in this role.

As for Judd lacking the kicking skills to play an outside role, IMO that is complete rubbish. If Judd was released from playing an inside role and told to be a runner only, he would dominate.

He's played the outside role before at Carlton and wasn't very good. Also in many matches he requires a centre clearance or a stoppage to get into the game.

This is why lately he has become statistically weak against sides like Port Adelaide who prefer uncontested football.

Harvey was an inside/outside mid, but went more outside in his final 3 seasons. His superb delivery into the forward line allowed him to be super effective in this role.

Not really having a go at you Hodgpodge but wasn't the main knock on Harvey that his disposal by foot let him down?

As for Judd, no reason why he can't continue for many years to come.

Not really having a go at you Hodgpodge but wasn't the main knock on Harvey that his disposal by foot let him down?

Harvey's only real weakness was in front of goal . . . but he still kicked a respectable number.

As for Judd, no reason why he can't continue for many years to come.

History shows that players who can adapt to a secondary role or outside game prolong their careers.

Judd will need to fix his kicking problems by then in order to have a shot as a winger/small forward.

Judd vs. Pt. Adelaide - 27 disposals, 8 Tackles, 1 goal, 15 CP
Judd vs. St Kilda - 24 Disposal, 5 Tackles, 1 goal, 10 CP
Judd vs. Collingwood - 37 Disposals, 1 tackle, 18 CP
Judd vs Geelong - 30 Disposals, 8 Tackles, 1 goal, 15 CP
Judd vs. Adelaide - 30 disposal, 9 tackles, 1 goal, 15 CP

Just show me where this statistically weak link for Judd is??? He would be near on brownlow form thus far. His biggest outside game was against Collingwood, and let me tell you from actually being there and seeing him, he was very ****ing good. You just seem to have pink eye over the Brown and Gold HP - I just can't see one credible piece of remote argument that could be used to discredit Chris Judd this season. His only 'less influential' games have been against bottom teams such as Hawthorn and Adelaide....he seems to have stepped up against all the top eight teams...

Would not be the best player in our side either.

Surjan, Boak, Pearce, Gray, Salopek, Rodan, and Dom, yeahn we are doing pretty well in the midfield.

O.k then who is a better footballer in your current side that is better than Marc Murphy??? :confused:

Your midfield as a group is passable but very far from Elite and there are no players there that you can honestly say are a better footballer than Murphy.

Judd averages 16 disposals against Port

Oh dear god HP...seriously man...What does he average against the other 14 sides in the competition?

How many games are those statistics based on - i would imagine maybe a few would have been when he was down with groin injuries. Which just goes to show how good Judd is, that both the Eagles and Blues where pretty much prepared to play him on one leg - now that he is rediscovered his pace just how valuable do you think he is - diminishing returns an'all?

I am just not sure what foundation you have to try and discredit Judd - he has been one of the absolute stars of the competition since 2003 - and this includes a time with a severe injury where he has reinvented himself at another club, one that was struggling badly without his influence.

I think your whole argument is just so poor and is based entirely on his two bad turnovers against the Hawks in the last game. The fact is, that the end could come quickly for absolutely any AFl player, including Rioli and Hodge:eek: However, it is in Judd that stands the most probable ability to have a lasting career at the highest level.

The argument against is simple; HP is a moron who is judging a champion player based on his last performance which just so happened to be against the club he supports (never mind the other 4 blistering games he has played so far this year). Judd is one of the best kickers in the competition and his hits inside 50 are testiment to that....Last year he led the league in this category - lace out straight down fevola's throat.

Then to argue that he is a product of 'diminishing returns' when his football seems to be going from strength to strength after prooving himself at a new club is just plain wrong.

Furthermore, what player in the AFL couldn't be struck down by injury or have their career curtailed by some event....reality of age, Chris Judd has more chance of surpassing age restrictions than 99.9% of other players in the league because of his physical abilities, his footskills and his ability to read the game....the whole argument wreaks of negativity and jealousy, its as if HP is asphyxiating himself to the supercoach performance of Hodge and Cyril whilst secretly being in love with the bald wonders of Ablett and Judd (and whomever he chooses to criticise)..

Mind you, makes for funny reading!

Disagree with that. He is a fair kick but has a tendancy to butcher it, this would put him out of the running for 'the best kicker in the competition'. His footy brain, his clearance work and his evasive skills put him in the elite bracket, not his kicking. Common misconception with Judd IMO.

I'm not having a go, I would still say he is one of, if not the best clearance player in the league and is in the top 10.

And as for having a better chance of defying his age, I think its the opposite, that he has less chance than most to continue late into his 30s.
His shoulders are rooted, I dont think he can move to the forward line. What is in his favour is that he is extremely fit and wont lose his ability to break a tackle, he may just continue as an extremely fit runner late in his career a la Crawford or Harvey.

Actually Crawford wasnt a consistent kick either so there is no reason he cant... Im not sure what I think now...

Luckily I dont really care.

Was listening to ABC Radio earlier this week, and almost fell out of my chair when Ratten said he expected Judd to play until the age of 35.

At the moment, I don't see it happening.

For the following reasons . . .

What do the longest lasting players in the history of the game have in common?

Fletcher, Dustin - Became unable to play man on man against the better defenders, re-invented himself as a 'loose defender'. He is able to do this because of his skill by foot and ability to read the play.

Tuck, Michael - Rangy type with good skills and run. Flanker, and outside player, which helps in your latter years. Outside players require skill.

Matthews, Leigh - Became unable to bash it out in the centre square and retired to the forward line at age 32. Had the skills and nous to kick plenty of goals until the age of 35.

Bradley, Craig - Outside player, good skills

Harvey, Rob - Same, but better.

As players age they lose much of their ability to contest with their younger opponents and have to re-invent themselves in some other form. Fletcher as a loose man, Tuck as a running half-back and Matthews as a forward. Harvey and Bradley also played larger roles as outside midfielders as they aged. It was this change that allowed them to prolong their careers.

The problem with Judd becoming one of these players is that he lacks the foot skills or versatility to re-invent himself at this time.

If he's to continue until 35, it won't be in the same role that he plays now.

Given his failing foot skills and lack of nous in the forward line, he may be forced to retire once he can no longer play his current role.

probably could play FP for 3 years

Yeah, same as Gary Ablet, somone said that he wouldn't play footy past 31 years of age, the game is getting faster therefor the players' body's won't be able to go on for a long time, we won't be seeing anymore Robert Harvey's, unfortunatly.

snifff sniff i smell raten trying to justify the club taking and paying someone like judd when by the time they open any sort of premiership window he is retired. MAssive LULZ

Coming from a supporter of a club who traded for Nathan Buckley :thumbsu:

Exactly Judd Has more kicks under pressure than anyone in the comp.

Disagree with that. He is a fair kick but has a tendancy to butcher it, this would put him out of the running for 'the best kicker in the competition'. His footy brain, his clearance work and his evasive skills put him in the elite bracket, not his kicking. Common misconception with Judd IMO.

I'm not having a go, I would still say he is one of, if not the best clearance player in the league and is in the top 10.

And as for having a better chance of defying his age, I think its the opposite, that he has less chance than most to continue late into his 30s.
His shoulders are rooted, I dont think he can move to the forward line.

So there is no way Chris Judd could move to the forward line later in his career like a Jason Akermanis or Stuart Dew ??

Give me a break :rolleyes::rolleyes: This is just getting ridiculous !

So there is no way Chris Judd could move to the forward line later in his career like a Jason Akermanis or Stuart Dew ??

Give me a break :rolleyes::rolleyes: This is just getting ridiculous !

I just dont think his body will hold up past about 32 yo. His shoulders have more strapping than King Tut.

He will probably not need to anyway before then. Very fit man.

Yeah, same as Gary Ablet, somone said that he wouldn't play footy past 31 years of age, the game is getting faster therefor the players' body's won't be able to go on for a long time, we won't be seeing anymore Robert Harvey's, unfortunatly.

Thats the crux of this thread I think. I dont think HP is far wrong saying Juddy's shoulders will struggle with the pace of the modern game.

ITT: A lot of precious Blues fans blindly attacking anyone who doesn't label him a supreme being who will play to he's 40.

Thats the crux of this thread I think. I dont think HP is far wrong saying Juddy's shoulders will struggle with the pace of the modern game.

His shoulders will struggle with the pace of the game?:eek: So will recruiters be looking for players with fast shoulders in future? I sense someone has been smoking the 'wacky tabaccy'.

The end could come very quickly for Judd