Mega Thread The "everything sucks" thread.

There was no real pressure on that one.

The second sideways/back kick in the last quarter which he himself dropped was not on at all. Caused Ross to leave the box.

Unless you have elite kicking skills, the time taken to reach team mate allows opponents to create pressure.

He also should have known it was Sheridan, a player with lack of finals experience.

I think when we take stock we'll realize the smattering of a and b graders are stymied by the bottom 4 we all know and discuss. RTB has a style that minimizes the impact of playing those bottom 4 but similarly it restricts the flair and opportunity that may be created within the a graders.
It's a case of having your cake and eating it too, we can't laud a season of wins and consistency by grinding out wins only to turn on ourselves in finals when the better teams get 'off the chain' so to speak or put the pedal flat. We just don't have another gear and Ross can't simply 'pull something out of the hat'.
As much as it hurts me to say, the talent and positional gaps in our squad are too big to breach and win the big dance anytime soon. RTB has done an amazing job with the list at his disposal.
It's possibly a crossroads point now, does the club stay with RTB's approach and maintain a high end ladder position but ultimately limited game plan and personnel, or do we make the biggest call of our history and start a rebuild, a rebuild that would possibly involve a different coach.
My thinking is Ross is a smart guy, he needs to now be a ballsy one too and take a risk with a new plan. Less defense oriented and something new, yet unseen at afl level.
I'm cloud thinking here and just dreaming in my state of comedown. We're all gonna have a lot to discuss this offseason

Umpires, AFL, WAFC and the Media. We have a well organised club but the powers don't want Freo to succeed.

We get two goals within the Hawks, then another free kick to Hawthorn.

First game, I lost interested in game.
I'm gfeeling it.
First quarter, that old familiar sick feeling set in. I went out to have a cig and knew we were done. Tried to convince myself we still had a chance.

There are always going to be those who think we're making excuses.
But sometimes, your grandmother has actually just died and you can't go to work that day.

In my case, maybe not even next season.
Love you, Freo, but maybe it's time to find another hobby.

Agreed... Might watch WAFL next year instead. Over the biased umpiring and Victorian media. Sad for Freo. Sad for Pav (IF he retires).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The strongest steel is made in the hottest furnace . We really have overachieved so far with so many GOP 's in our team. I reckon we will go one step further next year.
I agree we'll be in the mix next year but we need some moves in the offseason.

This weak as piss excuse-filled attitude is why our club is unsuccessful. There's no conspiracy at play here. A great club would have won despite dodgy umpiring.

Rubbish - the difference in the way the two teams was umpired was obvious. We could have won, but it was so far from a level playing field that the word corrupt comes into play. Needs addressing strongly by the club - we've suffered from it all year and tonight it was at its worst.

Rightly or wrongly, I feel similar.

We clearly weren't good enough when it mattered, but, the way the game played out had me so frustrated that I'm not sure I'll ever be able to watch AFL again without a jaded view.

Its a multi billion dollar industry thats run like the bush leagues at the end of the day.

I'll still watch and always keep track, but, there is no way I can see myself as invested in the AFL next year as I have been for the last 20.

Thanks for the memories.

Meh. Those first quarter decisions were particularly bad, but the missed marks by Taberner and Pav were worse, as was the missed shot by Mayne and his overrunning of the ball over and over again.

I was incensed in the first, but we were never good enough to steer back a three goal deficit at 3QT. Have never been good enough.

Rightly or wrongly, I feel similar.

We clearly weren't good enough when it mattered, but, the way the game played out had me so frustrated that I'm not sure I'll ever be able to watch AFL again without a jaded view.

Its a multi billion dollar industry thats run like the bush leagues at the end of the day.

I'll still watch and always keep track, but, there is no way I can see myself as invested in the AFL next year as I have been for the last 20.

Thanks for the memories.

Stay in a bubble for the next couple of months. Once draft and trading comes around, you will be right back. It is always harder when you are that close.

He did not have a shocker. That kick in the 4th was not good. If you want to look at a shocker look at Sandilands, did not have the influence we needed.
Funny how we all see things differently. I thought Sandi and Mzungu were ok and that Neale had the shocker. With Fyfe injured, really needed Lachy to win some clearances. Haven't checked the stats but would think that he had his worst game for the year especially clearance and disposal wise..

Unless you have elite kicking skills, the time taken to reach team mate allows opponents to create pressure.

He also should have known it was Sheridan, a player with lack of finals experience.

Again - there as no pressure on Sherro and Mzungu was entitled to believe an AFL footballer would watch it all the way into his hands. Just like he did on many occasions earlier in the evening.

Never cheered so loud before
Never heard the Crowd so loud in my life
Never felt so let down and dissapointed

I guess for me it's the realisation that we've missed our opportunity and we simply arnt good enough. Siiigh

I'm not gonna say too much because I would blow a gasket. But we just can't keep doing the same things and expecting different results. Speed, skills, marking, KPP's. All vital areas in which we need to improve. With Pav and Mcpharlin likely gone we need to do it soon.

You ever get the feeling the AFL HQ and the footy gods are against us?

:(
Yes. McPharlin always being injured come finals time. Ballas played sick in the GF, McPharlin & Johnson played injured in that game too.
2014 - No McPharlin, Johnson, Ballas gets injured.
2015 - No McPharlin, Fyfe plays injured, Pav plays hurt

Feel for McPharlin, he has the worst luck, in fact Johnno and Ballas seem to have bad luck come finals time too.