The experiment thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Frigate

id like to see crowley go from being an all out tagger to a defensive half forward. he can kick goals, he is good overhead, and disciplined/fit/strong enough to take players like hodge, mcleod, gram etc. it would also allow us to have matt deboer in the side as the tagger.

I was thinking that McPhee could take that role. Do most people think that DeBoer is best suited to a tagging role only?

Dessie in the square, Pav 25 metres from goal, Ballantyne in the pocket, Johnson as CHF/back up ruck and Solly/McPhee/Mayne/Hill/Morabito/Walters rotating through the half forward flanks.

yep, although I had Johnno at FF and Pav plonked at CHF.

I Agree with some of what you say, but, James Hird was always in 2nd and 3rd gear, always had time, looked slow but wasnt, but he never copped any bagging (I know I know its James Hird). THE ONLY reason Mundy cops it is due to his laconicity (I just made up a word).
He's one of our best players, his decision making is A grade (I'm not taking watching it on TV, im talking live) and he rarely buggers up, and he doesnt mind some rough stuff. Did I mention his kicking.....

Hird never looked laconic when the ball was there too be won or when a shepherd needed to be applied though.

Late last week I watched the win over Essendon from late last season and Mundy was outstanding. Went in hard, ran all day and his skills as usual were excellent but that's not the norm for him unfortunately. If we're going to take a large step forward the likes of Johnson, Ibbo, Mundy and Schammer need to not only improve but to play to their best consistently.

He only looks Laconic, he is a gun, any other team would love to have him, there are so many other crabs on our list before him.

Definately.

What did he come n our F&B? any one know?

Sixth, but considering that he played 22 games that's a tad disappointing.

I was thinking that McPhee could take that role. Do most people think that DeBoer is best suited to a tagging role only?

mcphee has a good contested mark, i would think he would play as a forward in his own right, crowley i reckon has the discipline and physical attributes to tag, i think thats what he is best at, he also has an inate ability to annoy the opposition.... against west coast, there would be nothing better than sticking him on hurn and driving that heartless dud crazy all day inabling him from using his only good attribute, his left footy.

im not sold on deboer like a lot of people on this board. he has heart, adn is tough, im just not sure he ahs the skills required to be anything other than a tagger

I Agree with some of what you say, but, James Hird was always in 2nd and 3rd gear, always had time, looked slow but wasnt, but he never copped any bagging (I know I know its James Hird). THE ONLY reason Mundy cops it is due to his laconicity (I just made up a word).
He's one of our best players, his decision making is A grade (I'm not taking watching it on TV, im talking live) and he rarely buggers up, and he doesnt mind some rough stuff. Did I mention his kicking.....

He only looks Laconic, he is a gun, any other team would love to have him, there are so many other crabs on our list before him.
What did he come n our F&B? any one know?

The reality with Mundy is that there is such a big difference between his best and worst.
22 games 9.9 kicks 8.8 handballs 18.7 disposals 5.0 marks 0.7 goals 0.6 points 3.1 tackles These averages are fairly consistent for every year he has played. They need to improve.

In 3 games last year he had 26 disposals. In 1 game he had 23. Then next is 20. In 3 games he had 5 or less kicks. If these stats are coming from our gun players it is no wonder we finished where we did. He needs to average 25 disposals a game IMO.

Mundy is in my first 10 selections for gameday, so I think he has the talent, however I am critical of his performances over a full season to date.

The reality with Mundy is that there is such a big difference between his best and worst.
22 games 9.9 kicks 8.8 handballs 18.7 disposals 5.0 marks 0.7 goals 0.6 points 3.1 tackles These averages are fairly consistent for every year he has played. They need to improve.

In 3 games last year he had 26 disposals. In 1 game he had 23. Then next is 20. In 3 games he had 5 or less kicks. If these stats are coming from our gun players it is no wonder we finished where we did. He needs to average 25 disposals a game IMO.

Mundy is in my first 10 selections for gameday, so I think he has the talent, however I am critical of his performances over a full season to date.

Good post Frigate.

:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

im not sold on deboer like a lot of people on this board. he has heart, adn is tough, im just not sure he ahs the skills required to be anything other than a tagger

I don't know...I think it'd be a waste if he was pigeonholed as a tagger.

He's your typical midfield workhorse that every side needs. He has good hands, can win the footy inside or outside, and is athletic enough to break the lines. Sure, his kicking lets him down occasionally - though it's not as bad as people make it out to be - but overall he's a good solid player.

Experiment #1

Equipment

1xRyan Murphy
1xSize 20 steel cap Mack Boots

Method

Put boot on kicking machine (also known as 'Pav") and initiate kicking sequence, aiming for the gluteus maximus of one Ryan Murphy.

Observations

Murphy went flying, supporters came from everywhere to cheer, Murphy cried, Pav laughed, Fremantle Football Club became a better team becuase of it.

Unexpected Results

After seeing experiment with Murphy crying and bleeding from the ass, Scott Thornton fell in love with Murphy and would not leave his side. As such, he was never seen again and is supposedly living together in a happy partnership on the Tasmanian Ilses sharing the pain that only those that bleed from the ass can feel.

Conclusions

By kicking Ryan Murphy with the kicking machine and making him cry, it raised morale at the F.F.C causing them to feel better about not having hacks at the team and forcedthem all to work harder so as to not recieve the same fate (mainly Mundy, Ibbo and Headland)............and losing Thornton in the process was just a bonus:thumbsu:

do you really believe that drum & peake are going to get game at the or saints ,cats,dogs, crows,pies if they at full strength.no chance.nor would mundy.

Well I doubt they would have traded for then if they were going to sit at 27 on their batting order.

Farren Ray looked the definition of mediocre at the Dogs but played plenty of games for the Saints.

Well I doubt they would have traded for then if they were going to sit at 27 on their batting order.

Farren Ray looked the definition of mediocre at the Dogs but played plenty of games for the Saints.
both teams ,drafted freo crud namely (peake).drum, if given a fair go under the conschwab dictatorship, may have had a chance, to become a afl regular.what dogs,pies,cats, saints.crows would peake ,drum,mundy,omit out of their best 22?

How can there be a big difference between his best and worst and then his averages be fairly consistent?, I think Mundy is unfairly criticised.

In those 3 games that he had 5 or less kicks, what was his disposal total?

Being Laconic doesnt mean he isnt trying or inconsistant.

Whats the bet Ibbo starts copping the same sh2#$@ as mundy, I see the same laconic style as Mundy......look out ibbo, you had better try h
arder!!

Free at lost? You are so wrong its not funny:thumbsd: you sound like a MUndy hater.

How can there be a big difference between his best and worst and then his averages be fairly consistent?, I think Mundy is unfairly criticised.

Whats the bet Ibbo starts copping the same sh2#$@ as mundy, I see the same laconic style as Mundy......look out ibbo, you had better try h
arder!!

Free at lost? You are so wrong its not funny:thumbsd: you sound like a MUndy hater.
you tell me who mundy would replace,in the cats,saints,dogs,crows,pies full strength 22?

arder!!

I do not intend to explain the simplicity of averages. But I will ask you what is the average of 1, 50 and 100? Is this the same average as 50, 50 and 50?

You can convince yourself of anything you wish, you can do the research and believe the reason we are going to make the 8 this year and push for a flag in the future is because we have players like Mundy that have peaked and are giving excellent performances week in week out.

You seem very defensive reg. Mundy when the only suggestion has been to find a way to get him to reach his potential along with others. I also mentioned MJ and McPharlin but you have not touched on them.

Ibbo is only 21 and he had a good year last year. He needs to keep improving though.

Granted Tarrant to the backline was a god send...But this is one of my biggest issues with the club.

Rule Number 1:

No experimenting with 2nd or third year players (Or those that have only had 1 good year). Please let them develop confidence over a decent amount of time and become settled.

Rule Number 2:

No more swinging poorly performing backmen to the forward line, if you can't cut it as a backmen your not going to cut it as a forward. (Mainly referring to KPP here)

Rule Number 3

No more pinch hit ruckmen, lets develop the pure ruckmen we have. I'm sick of inbetween big men who are supposedly good in the ruck because of their around the ground skills

Those rules aside...

Roger to the forward line is something that has been on the cards for a long time, injuries have prevented that unfortunately.

Ballantyne / Mayne MUST NOT be moved from the forward line.

Hill must not be moved to the backline

Headland to permenant FF for at least half the season

Haselby must never play backline again

This ^ ^ ^ ^:thumbsu:

Plus Broughton never to come out of the backline...

I do not intend to explain the simplicity of averages. But I will ask you what is the average of 1, 50 and 100? Is this the same average as 50, 50 and 50?

You can convince yourself of anything you wish, you can do the research and believe the reason we are going to make the 8 this year and push for a flag in the future is because we have players like Mundy that have peaked and are giving excellent performances week in week out.

You seem very defensive reg. Mundy when the only suggestion has been to find a way to get him to reach his potential along with others. I also mentioned MJ and McPharlin but you have not touched on them.

Ibbo is only 21 and he had a good year last year. He needs to keep improving though.

Enough of the patronising boss.

You said there is a big diff between his best and worst then straight after said his averages were fairly consistant???????? Mate, whats the guy to do? Be really good?, be really bad?, or be really consistant?, cause you cannot be all 3.

You cant say MJ Mcpharlin Mundy need to improve, without including
Pavs 2nd efforts, Dessies 4qtr effort, sollies brain fades, tazz's brain fades to name a few - point being the whole team needs to improve, everyone, why point out 1 or 3 or 6 -(hmm I wonder what the average of that is?, best I try to work it out) that should improve.

I have convinced myself of alot of things, I am convinced Mundy is unfaily targeted. I convinced myself of this long ago.

you tell me who mundy would replace,in the cats,saints,dogs,crows,pies full strength 22?

Geelong - I struggle with..... but perhaps varcoe and wojinski

Saints - dempster gilbert mqualter farren Ray..........lovett

Pies - sidebottom (at the moment) wellingham toovey mccaffer Dale Thomas (Crab) goldsack

WB - I reckon he would fit in really well with the Bullies. Hill, Reid (still young cant really compare) hargrave picken ward

He's a quality player. He's underated and laconic and I have convinced myself of it.

arder!!

Ibbo dropped his head/ didn't go hard enough twice against the Bombers and copped grief for it at the time and rightly so.

Enough of the patronising boss.

You said there is a big diff between his best and worst then straight after said his averages were fairly consistant???????? Mate, whats the guy to do? Be really good?, be really bad?, or be really consistant?, cause you cannot be all 3.

You cant say MJ Mcpharlin Mundy need to improve, without including
Pavs 2nd efforts, Dessies 4qtr effort, sollies brain fades, tazz's brain fades to name a few - point being the whole team needs to improve, everyone, why point out 1 or 3 or 6 -(hmm I wonder what the average of that is?, best I try to work it out) that should improve.

I have convinced myself of alot of things, I am convinced Mundy is unfaily targeted. I convinced myself of this long ago.

OK, look I appreciate your support for Mundy. I have said he is one of our best players, and I do not think I have bagged him at all.

I said his averages over the years have been consistent ie. avg for 2005 ... avg for 2009 . He has improved steadily from 15.5 disposals, 4.6 marks in 05 to 18.7 disposals, 5 marks in 09. He has not imrpoved these stats considerably in this time.

His best game has improved considerably but we need to see this more consistently than 3 times a season. That is my only point here.

no he isnt. he is the best lock down back pocket in the game IMO, how many times have we seen him destroy guys like milne, keeping them to no goals and few touches. id rather him on them than broughton at the moment. hayden with his history of injuries, should be just given a job, let him do that, and give the creative play task to broughton who is young, fit, confident and has great skills to boot. just my opinion

Anchorman is spot on. I think it is why he missed all Australian just too loose. He is my worry for 2010.