The Farce that is the free kick differential number

giphy.gif

giphy.gif
But but but it's a conspiracy!

Check OP.

Yep, Richmond supporter.

Surprise surprise.

And yet his point is valid. Do try to keep up.

There is no doubt that at some grounds, particularly interstate, certain teams very much get the rub of the green.

The problem then happens that these teams are made to be better than they are, they come to the MCG in September, where the umpiring is more balanced, get beaten and then we hear complaints about finals at the G.

The AFL wants inter-state teams in the finals, so don't expect a change any time soon...

Our high free against stat is a bi-product of the way we play.

Exactly.

Perhaps if it's seen to be an issue detrimental to a team winning (it's not for Richmond), they should change the way they play.

Really, I find the free kicks that aren't paid to be more inficative of bias, but that's open to interpretation, and there's no stats kept for those.

Nice rant. Maybe your side gives away more frees than other teams. Maybe West Coast wins more frees than other teams.

I honestly believe the WCE are the biggest duckers (penalty pullers as Roy and HG would say) followed by the Cats, Dogs and a certain #freekickteam based in Melbourne's eastern suburbs.

Richmond can only dream and ponder of a rort like this,handballs out,gets pinged lmao.

Steve Smith a gentleman compared to the fluros.

RFC will not say anything,we will praise the umpires.

And get sandpaper in return.

He took on two blokes, saw Yeo, shat his pants, fell down and dropped the ball as Yeo was in the act of tackling him

Really don't see how you could see it any differently. If you take on the tackler and get caught again it is always htb.

Richmond 2017-18

Year|Rd|Opp|For|Ag|Diff
\2017|1|Ca|12|25| -13
\2017|2|Co|21|25| -4
\2017|3|WC|21|26| -5
\2017|4|Br|20|28| -8
\2017|5|Me|23|21|+2
\2017|6|Ad|14|20| -6
\2017|7|WB|13|25| -12
\2017|8|Fr|16|17| -1
\2017|9|GWS|18|17|+1
\2017|10|Es|18|15|+3
\2017|11|NM|17|14|+3
\2017|13|Sy|23|18|+5
\2017|14|Ca|23|21|+2
\2017|15|PA|12|18| -6
\2017|16|St|15|18| -3
\2017|17|Br|17|22| -5
\2017|18|GWS|25|33| -8
\2017|19|GC|20|26| -6
\2017|20|Ha|16|18| -2
\2017|21|Ge|17|28| -11
\2017|22|Fr|21|14|+7
\2017|23|St|18|16|+2
\2017|QF|Ge|17|15|+2
\2017|PF|GWS|27|28| -1
\2017|GF|Ad|24|19|+5
\2018|1|Ca|22|20|+2
\2018|2|Ad|14|28| -14
\2018|3|Ha|16|24| -8
\2018|4|Br|27|26|+1
\2018|5|Me|20|22| -2
\2018|6|Co|16|27| -11
\2018|7|Fr|19|24| -5
\2018|8|NM|24|33| -9
\2018|9|WC|10|21| -11
So after losing a seventh consecutive count at Geelong in R21, Hardwick says his piece and Richmond subsequently receives a nice little run culminating in the GF which is viewed by all and sundry as a heavy bias in favour of Richmond.

Coincidence or genius? I reckon Dimma is saving up a nice little spray for an opportune time.

The dark side of self- and social perception: black uniforms and aggression in professional sports
An analysis of the penalty records of the National Football League and the National Hockey League indicate that teams with black uniforms in both sports ranked near the top of their leagues in penalties throughout the period of study. On those occasions when a team switched from non-black to black uniforms, the switch was accompanied by an immediate increase in penalties.

Richmond can only dream and ponder of a rort like this,handballs out,gets pinged lmao.

Steve Smith a gentleman compared to the fluros.

RFC will not say anything,we will praise the umpires.

And get sandpaper in return.

Surely sarcasm, yeah? That's about as black and white a free kick as you can get.

Richmond 2017-18

Year|Rd|Opp|For|Ag|Diff
\2017|1|Ca|12|25| -13
\2017|2|Co|21|25| -4
\2017|3|WC|21|26| -5
\2017|4|Br|20|28| -8
\2017|5|Me|23|21|+2
\2017|6|Ad|14|20| -6
\2017|7|WB|13|25| -12
\2017|8|Fr|16|17| -1
\2017|9|GWS|18|17|+1
\2017|10|Es|18|15|+3
\2017|11|NM|17|14|+3
\2017|13|Sy|23|18|+5
\2017|14|Ca|23|21|+2
\2017|15|PA|12|18| -6
\2017|16|St|15|18| -3
\2017|17|Br|17|22| -5
\2017|18|GWS|25|33| -8
\2017|19|GC|20|26| -6
\2017|20|Ha|16|18| -2
\2017|21|Ge|17|28| -11
\2017|22|Fr|21|14|+7
\2017|23|St|18|16|+2
\2017|QF|Ge|17|15|+2
\2017|PF|GWS|27|28| -1
\2017|GF|Ad|24|19|+5
\2018|1|Ca|22|20|+2
\2018|2|Ad|14|28| -14
\2018|3|Ha|16|24| -8
\2018|4|Br|27|26|+1
\2018|5|Me|20|22| -2
\2018|6|Co|16|27| -11
\2018|7|Fr|19|24| -5
\2018|8|NM|24|33| -9
\2018|9|1WC|10|21| -11
So after losing a seventh consecutive count at Geelong in R21, Hardwick says his piece and Richmond subsequently receives a nice little run culminating in the GF which is viewed by all and sundry as a heavy bias in favour of Richmond.

Coincidence or genius? I reckon Dimma is saving up a nice little spray for an opportune time.

I remember the uproar on fruity footy when we got 5 more frees after an 8 goal win.

“how dare they?”

lol

Amazing isn't it?

What CD (they do do it, but don't publish it) and the media don't do yet, is actually categorize free kicks into: OOB, HTB, Push, Hold etc

What the OP doesn't understand is, 3 or 4 of those free kick differentials could of simply been Richmond kicking the ball out on the full kicking for goal or with a bad skill error.

I'd love to see Hawthorn's HTB numbers. Watching a game I'd probably call 15 for, 5 against, then we only get 2 for, but have 5-6 (different ones) against.

There's a clear pattern to how the umpires adjudicate - which Hawthorn don't follow, and would go a long way to explaining why we are so consistently on the receiving end of "poor" umpiring.

Hawthorn players generally don't throw/drop when tackled - throwing/dropping is encouraged as keeps the game flowing.
Hawthorn players generally don't keep their feet with heads down to get the ball - head-high kicks paid to 'protect the head'.
(Hawthorn players DO evade by ducking/collapsing) = AFL mandates not to pay these frees
Hawthorn players go to ground to win the ball - considered "prior" = immediate penalty if no disposal.
Hawthorn players go to ground to win the ball - "below the knee" = immediate penalty.
Hawthorn players don't "salmon" when tackled - "no genuine attempt" = penalty.
Hawthorn players don't concede when tackled and fight on - umpire gives additional time before whistle = prior opportunity (even when tackle starts before taking possession).

It's part of the Hawthorn gamestyle, and almost as if we are specifically coached to do it the "right" way (as we were taught in junior/amateur football), despite it being the absolute opposite of the way the umpires are taught to adjudicate - as they look for players exploiting the rules.

It's also why IMO Hawthorn outperforms itself in finals - our 'style' is negatively impacted by umpiring so dramatically that when the umpires "put the whistle away" in finals our natural gameplay is more effective.

You post them. Post up Concas illegal disposal that led to Junk time Jack's goal in the second quarter, too.
Do you know what junk time is? Kicking a goal to bring it back to 6 points at half time isnt junk time, m8.

There you go.
Not sure how you think thats holding the ball. He wasnt just tacked as soon as he got it, he was being tackled BEFORE he even touched it. You do know what prior is, right? And then it just spills out by the looks of it from the West Coast players arm knocking it free. Which is shown by the fact Conca tried to grab the ball again after it came out.
Easiest non call ever. Well to be fair to you that wouldve been a free if it was in the second half. Umps decided to judge the game differently and completely forgot about prior.

Do CD record them on the basis of

-Marking Content
-Rucking Contest
-Defensive Error (holding the man, too high, push in the back)
-Offensive Error (HTB, throw, deliberate)
?

I think if those numbers were more clear, it would make it a bit easier to understand.

Ie: If Richmond give away a lot more marking contest & rucking contest free kicks it could be argued it is a byproduct of the shorter line up. You could also use those stats when analysing a players effectiveness.

I (like I think most people think about their team) think we have been pretty hard done by this year, though we do also play a style of game that is likely to give free kicks away so I don't think either of the narratives fit perfectly(Richmond do it all to themselves vs Richmond are so hard done by and all free kick counts should be even)

Do you know what junk time is? Kicking a goal to bring it back to 6 points at half time isnt junk time, m8.

There you go.
Not sure how you think thats holding the ball. He wasnt just tacked as soon as he got it, he was being tackled BEFORE he even touched it. You do know what prior is, right? And then it just spills out by the looks of it from the West Coast players arm knocking it free. Which is shown by the fact Conca tried to grab the ball again after it came out.
Easiest non call ever. Well to be fair to you that wouldve been a free if it was in the second half. Umps decided to judge the game differently and completely forgot about prior.

Haven't seen the incident prior, or in context but to me that looked like Conca 'released' the ball - part of my biggest criticism over the HTB rule is that this ISN'T paid often enough.

The problem is the umpire is (in real time and from distance with other players in the way) trying to interpret how the ball came loose - did an Eagle touch it? Or did Conca release the ball and drop it? So it's the rule (and inconsistent application) rather than the umpire IMO.