The food and wine thread

I'm paying less than $12 for 200ml, I saw this and my heart stopped:

http://www.gourmetgroceronline.com.au/cavedoni-piccola-balsamic-vinegar-250mls

That $95 is not even for the top shelf stuff! :eek:

The top shelf stuff seems to be aged for 12+ years (My, haven't I been doing my homework over the last 24 hours! :) ). It makes sense that's it is so expensive. A bottle of wine aged that long could easily cost that much, and Balsamic is made using very similar processes.

The better stuff is less like vinegar and more... balsamic. It has a kick but not the way skipping girl vinegar makes you wretch. And yes, it's aged in oak barrels just like fine wine.

Can you recommend a decent balsamic?

I've been out to restaurants that have had balsamic that's so good that I've ordered another round of bread and balsamic and oil instead of a mains (* Note). It's a really good look on hot dates, it makes me look worldly and sophisticated.

But I've never been able to find balsamic that's anywhere near as good in the shops. Even the expensive stuff at the Italian deli across the road doesn't come close.

I understand they come in different grades, corresponding to consistency. I'm after the good stuff. (Well, not the really good stuff that's super old and mega expensive, but something that's really good that I can buy for a reasonable price)

Has anybody ever thought to open a Balsamico Bar? Kind of like a wine bar, or a whiskey bar, but specialising in balsamic and olive oils instead? I would be there every night gluttonously dribbling balsamic and olive oil down the front of my shirt. Yum!

* Note: No, I lied, I've never really done that, I'm just exaggerating for dramatic effect :)
I'm no expert but my basic home one is Colavita.

If you can find it try Mazzetti (Bal Vin of Modena) might be worth a try. I found a bottle at my mum's house, that must've been around for years, it's absolutely fantastic. It's a 250ml size bottle & says 6% Acidity. Ha I don't even know if that's good!

Caveat, don't know if you can get it, if it's still good or whether my taste buds are any guide.:p

Re the economics of balsamic, or any expensive aged vinegar, I tend to think of them as good value. For one thing, the better the vinegar the less you need. Also, an equally expensive bottle of aged wine would last one night at our place, whereas vinegar (of course) lasts a lot longer!

May 15, 2010
Here's how the good stuff is made ($4000 / litre :eek: )

Going into a bit more detail. Those recipes at the end with drizzled balsamic would make me want to lick the plate! :)

A short doco talking about the history and traditions ...

May 15, 2010
I had the lamb cutlets tonight CFC2010, they were delicious. Very tender and great flavour, I'll be sure to put the extra effort into them from now on and allow them to marinate for a couple of days whenever I'm doing them. I'll use the rest of the marinade in a tomato and onion pie tomorrow night to go with some lamb shanks I decided to marinate as well with a a few adjustments.

I also went and bought some of that Mazzetti Balsamic Obese Arachnid but I realised just before that I got the wrong one. I got this one https://www.woolworths.com.au/Shop/...zetti-vinegar-balsamic-modena&productId=99709

But I should have got this one https://www.woolworths.com.au/Shop/...egar-balsamic-vintage-4-leaf&productId=224075

The second one is 4 leaf, I'll get it next time and just deal with having 3 bottles of balsamic in my pantry haha.

I've realised I must be an advertisers target audience for impulse buying...

I had the lamb cutlets tonight CFC2010, they were delicious. Very tender and great flavour, I'll be sure to put the extra effort into them from now on and allow them to marinate for a couple of days whenever I'm doing them. I'll use the rest of the marinade in a tomato and onion pie tomorrow night to go with some lamb shanks I decided to marinate as well with a a few adjustments.

I also went and bought some of that Mazzetti Balsamic Obese Arachnid but I realised just before that I got the wrong one. I got this one https://www.woolworths.com.au/Shop/...zetti-vinegar-balsamic-modena&productId=99709

But I should have got this one https://www.woolworths.com.au/Shop/...egar-balsamic-vintage-4-leaf&productId=224075

The second one is 4 leaf, I'll get it next time and just deal with having 3 bottles of balsamic in my pantry haha.

I've realised I must be an advertisers target audience for impulse buying...

I bought the Mazzetti 4 leaf bottle earlier today.

It's fig season, so I made myself a salad of figs, fetta cheese and hazelnut (almonds work better, but I tend to stay away from them because I was once told by an allergist that I have a slight allergy to them). I lightly drizzled the balsamic over the salad.

TBH, I wasn't impressed. The balsamic was extremely acidic (If my understanding is correct, 4 leaf should not be). It tastes of stuff that you might might make a vinaigrette out of and put on a salad, it certainly wasn't stuff that should be drizzled directly on a salad, let alone have with icecream (as 4 leaf should be able to do).

I'm going to stay away from the Mazzetti brand and try something else next time.

FWIW, this will probably be the next one I try here (I haven't had it before, but I like the idea of somebody local (Mudgee, NSW) having a crack at making it - I'd like to support them by giving it a go)

May 15, 2010

It's fig season, so I made myself a salad of figs, fetta cheese and hazelnut (almonds work better, but I tend to stay away from them because I was once told by an allergist that I have a slight allergy to them). I lightly drizzled the balsamic over the salad.

TBH, I wasn't impressed. The balsamic was extremely acidic (If my understanding is correct, 4 leaf should not be). It tastes of stuff that you might might make a vinaigrette out of and put on a salad, it certainly wasn't stuff that should be drizzled directly on a salad, let alone have with icecream (as 4 leaf should be able to do).

I'm going to stay away from the Mazzetti brand and try something else next time.

FWIW, this will probably be the next one I try here (I haven't had it before, but I like the idea of somebody local (Mudgee, NSW) having a crack at making it - I'd like to support them by giving it a go)
Nice, I have no idea what this one here is like but it says it's a Gold Medal Winning Product at the Australian Food Awards 2016.
https://www.stickybalsamic.com.au/sticky-balsamic/sticky-balsamic-original
They also have a fairly comprehensive list of stockists.

Haha, I enjoy trying to find the best of things, last year I started a thing with some mates to find the best specific products. The idea was that each month we'd have a new product to look for. We'd spend a few weeks searching and tasting on our own. Then after a couple of weeks we'd say which was the best brand we found for that particular product and where we got it. Then we'd all taste the one's others had recommended to find the one we liked the most.

The idea didn't get far, the first month we tried to find the best pickles (pretty random but mainly just because I was trying to find the best pickles when I asked them if they wanted in). As I said, it didn't get far, but we did eat a lot of pickles in that month. I guess you don't want to select a product that is too broad or too narrow. If you were going to do cheese for example, I think you'd need to limit it to a specific type of cheese because they're all so varied and people will have a preference to a particular type rather than brand.

We ended up changing the idea to a recipe we'd come up with which we'd share and try to out do each other. That didn't really take off either and to be honest haha, I liked the first idea better because I like knowing which brands are the best (and not necessarily the most expensive). The second idea was really just a d!ck swinging contest to see who could make the best food to eat while we watch the footy.

Nice, I have no idea what this one here is like but it says it's a Gold Medal Winning Product at the Australian Food Awards 2016.

Cool, thanks, I'll try it out!

Haha, I enjoy trying to find the best of things, last year I started a thing with some mates to find the best specific products. The idea was that each month we'd have a new product to look for. We'd spend a few weeks searching and tasting on our own. Then after a couple of weeks we'd say which was the best brand we found for that particular product and where we got it. Then we'd all taste the one's others had recommended to find the one we liked the most.

The idea didn't get far, the first month we tried to find the best pickles (pretty random but mainly just because I was trying to find the best pickles when I asked them if they wanted in). As I said, it didn't get far, but we did eat a lot of pickles in that month. I guess you don't want to select a product that is too broad or too narrow. If you were going to do cheese for example, I think you'd need to limit it to a specific type of cheese because they're all so varied and people will have a preference to a particular type rather than brand.

Have tried double blind tests? They can sometimes be fun amongst a bunch of mates (in a nerdy kind of a way)

It works like this ...

A bunch of people catch up (eg: watching footy at someone's house). Everybody brings something to test (eg: a jar of pickles). One person takes all the jars into a room and empties them into containers labelled A, B, C, D, etc, taking careful note about which letter corresponds to which brand. That person then leaves the room, and another person then goes into the room and randomly swaps all the letters for numbers, 3, 2, 4, 1, etc, taking careful note about which number corresponds to which letter. So you end up with a bunch of numbered containers, and no one person knows what container corresponds to what brand of pickles / wine / balsamic vinegar. Everyone then takes turns at sampling them. They can be broken down into a series of 'A / B tests' (compare 1&2, if 2 is better then compare 2&3, if 2 is better then compare 2&4, etc, etc, until each person ends up with their favourite)

It's a good way to find the best / favourite thing in a way that's unprejudiced by brand / cost.

After all the testing is done, the two people who did the switching at the start come together and correlate what number corresponds to what brand (Brand 'Bob's pickles' was C, C was number 2, therefore number 2 was 'Bob's pickles')

We tend to cook more Asian inspired food than Mediteranean, although we love the latter too.

On the topic of the best brands of staple Asian ingredients, we tried several sesame oils before hitting on this one. I buy it from the local organic store in Smith Street, Fitzroy.

It is more subtle than the cheaper supermarket brands, which tend to be harsh. It has a delicious nutty toasted flavour. I use it a lot (but in modest amounts) on Asian greens, together with a small amount of oyster sauce (haven't identified the best brand yet). You can use any of the many greens, with names like Gai Lan. Trim the rough ends off, bring a pot of water to the boil, boil the greens for one minute or so (never too long, to keep them bright green), drain and then serve with the drizzled over sesame and oyster sauces, but dont go overboard! One to two tabs of each, depending on how many greens. Some cooks also drizzle over (before serving) one tablespoon of peanut or canola oil which has been heated to smoking point. The greens will then look like this. Delicious!

choy-sum-6.jpg

We ended up changing the idea to a recipe we'd come up with which we'd share and try to out do each other. That didn't really take off either and to be honest haha, I liked the first idea better because I like knowing which brands are the best (and not necessarily the most expensive). The second idea was really just a d!ck swinging contest to see who could make the best food to eat while we watch the footy.
If you like the best in food and also fetta, then this is the best. Use it in all recipes that call for fetta.

For some strange reason, both Coles and Woolies are much more expensive than IGA (about $1.10 more).
2017-01-30_091730.png

Heehee, perhaps the fact the one I got from mum's I'm guessing is 15+ years old might make it a bit better but balsamic is an area I'm just getting into. Recently I made another batch of beetroot relish but I just use the Colavita for that.

I bought this today from the only supplier in metro Sydney, and they said that once their current stock is sold they won't be replacing it (the rep stopped coming apparently). I bought a bottle of the straight normal sticky balsamic which I tried (results below). I also bottles of pear flavoured and lemon flavoured but I haven't tried those yet.

It is pretty good ... tastes much better than the standard stuff at Coles, but not as good as the best stuff I've had.

It's got cane sugar in it, so they sweeten it up.

I tried it as ...

- salad dressing (reasonably good)
- on figs (very very yum)
- on Brie cheese (yum)
- for bread dipping with olive oil. Hmmm, didn't work as well as I've seen others do.
- on ice cream (super yum! :) )

It's got cane sugar in it, so they sweeten it up.

I tried it as ...

- salad dressing (reasonably good)
- on figs (very very yum)
- on Brie cheese (yum)
- for bread dipping with olive oil. Hmmm, didn't work as well as I've seen others do.
- on ice cream (super yum! :) )
It's nothing like the real thing if it's been sweetened, and you would never use a thick syrupy aged (15yrs) balsamic with olive oil. They are used more for fruit and cheese as you said.

See if you can find an Enoteca - somewhere that imports the real thing. Fresco Fratellis in Potts Point might have some. It's worth the money and lasts a very long time as you only need to use a tiny amount.

I go there when I visit my daughter in Sydney. Fantastic store/restaurant, but a warning - the products are expensive.

photo.JPG

Woke up feeling great today so decided to take a trip to Nice and Tasty (thanks CFC2010), nice friendly staff and I also asked about shops where one can buy. Said they sold to a number of IGA stores and mentioned Oakleigh and Roxborough Park but surprisingly more Eastern and outer suburbs, so if anyone interested, try them

I am such a consumer! Couldn't help my self as the others sounded nice and I always use Lemon Pepper in almost everything.
Very cheap too (I think) total cost $18.00.

CFC2010

10k Posts Collingwood Magpies - Brayden Sier 2019 Player Sponsor Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson Player Sponsor 2018 Collingwood - Matthew Scharenberg Player Sponsor 2017 Collingwood Magpies - James Aish Player Sponsor 2016
Aug 22, 2014
View attachment 334302

Woke up feeling great today so decided to take a trip to Nice and Tasty (thanks CFC2010), nice friendly staff and I also asked about shops where one can buy. Said they sold to a number of IGA stores and mentioned Oakleigh and Roxborough Park but surprisingly more Eastern and outer suburbs, so if anyone interested, try them

I am such a consumer! Couldn't help my self as the others sounded nice and I always use Lemon Pepper in almost everything.
Very cheap too (I think) total cost $18.00.

You have to tell me what you think once you try them.............remember it has to marinade for two days.

By the way the lemon pepper marinade I see you bought tastes amazing on calamari...........I think I might have lunch now you made me hungry! :)

You have to tell me what you think once you try them.............remember it has to marinade for two days.

By the way the lemon pepper marinade I see you bought tastes amazing on calamari...........I think I might have lunch now you made me hungry! :)
I often marinate for 3 days and as for lemon pepper, seriously use it on almost every thing, spag sauce, stews, soups, meat, fish, poultry.
Only thing I have used it on are salads.
Thank you I am really looking forward to trying them all. They had so many different types, could have bought and tried them all.

CFC2010

10k Posts Collingwood Magpies - Brayden Sier 2019 Player Sponsor Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson Player Sponsor 2018 Collingwood - Matthew Scharenberg Player Sponsor 2017 Collingwood Magpies - James Aish Player Sponsor 2016
Aug 22, 2014
I often marinate for 3 days and as for lemon pepper, seriously use it on almost every thing, spag sauce, stews, soups, meat, fish, poultry.
Only thing I have used it on are salads.
Thank you I am really looking forward to trying them all. They had so many different types, could have bought and tried them all.

Just around the corner you should have stopped in for a coffee! :coffee:

Enjoy the food spice experimentation! :spaghetti:

Just around the corner you should have stopped in for a coffee! :coffee:

Enjoy the food spice experimentation! :spaghetti:
Damn! PM me the details for next time I am in the area as I noticed a place on the corner that may fix my jigsaw.

I hope the Lemon Pepper is good as the brand I use is more pepper than lemon.

For those interested in the discussion on Balsamic Vinegar there is a post on my visit to an Acetaia in Modena in the 'postcards' thread.

(Sorry having a bit of trouble finding things in tapatalk)

Axl the great

Sep 14, 2007
Just re-visited this thread and have a lot to add as I love my food (A bit too much) but wanted to start with the humble sausage, I love them but it is really hard to find decent ones, even at good butchers.
But I have been getting these ones for a while and I challenge anyone! to find a better range of snags than these guys.
They do a lot of farmers markets and you will actually travel out of your way once you try them. The Turkey cranberry and basil are hands down the best sausages you will eat along with the chicken cheese and asparagus. Quite expensive (about $10 for 4) but worth every penny.
lockton-farm-gourmet-sausages-markets-caulfield-ma1.jpg

Just re-visited this thread and have a lot to add as I love my food (A bit too much) but wanted to start with the humble sausage, I love them but it is really hard to find decent ones, even at good butchers.

Our old butcher used to call sausages 'mystery bags'.:)