Resource The Football History Video Resource

Does anyone have any video of VFA play in the throwing era? (1938-49)

Specifically, I would just love to see a few sections of play where the ball was thrown instead of handpassed.

Does anyone have any video of VFA play in the throwing era? (1938-49)

Specifically, I would just love to see a few sections of play where the ball was thrown instead of handpassed.
There was vision in the Willy Hall of Fame last year of Ron Todd, Des Fothergill, Soapy Vallance & co in the late 30s & 40s. I have it on dvd but just had a quick look on youtube to no avail.

Thanks

I found the 1938 second semi but it is pretty dodgy. I could see a couple of throws though.

It's unbelievable that we have practically zero footage of VFL grand finals 1962/63/64. The other 60s GFs are on dvd. Surely the missing ones were filmed by Ch 7 or ABC. There is a rather crappy news reel of 64. How could this have happened in the TV age?

1962 - footage must exist

The_Wookie can I add videos I have found of non-National level and non-State level footage here? Or would you prefer it to go somewhere else?
If so, what would be a sensible date cut-off? Clearly local grand finals are almost all videotaped now, showing it all would just flood the thread. If it was earier than 1990, would you assess it as "historical"?

We're about history in this section mate. I like 20 year rule when assessing whether something is truly history or not, so 1990 would be fine - anything 1995 or earlier should be cool. if fits not AFL/VFL or other second tier leagues, id start a new thread for it, and ill get arund to updating the index thread.

If you are interested their is a bit of old footage from the Tasmanian state footy final of 1911 between North Launceston & Cananore at the old TCA ground in Hobart. Cananore was the precursor club to the Hobart Tigers. I'm not much chop with computer wizardry, but if you look up Tasmanian football 1911 you will find it on U tube & under the National Film & Sound Archive. The initial crowd shots are magic, as is the footy:p It certainly is an historic piece of film.

Cananore was the precursor to Hobart FC? That's news to me. Out of interest, where did you get that info' from? (My understanding was that the TANFL adopted a district format post-WW2 and the two clubs which did not have a dedicated district, i.e. Cananore and Lefroy, were replaced in 1945 by district teams in the shape of Hobart, and Sandy Bay, with Clarence and New Norfolk following two years later. I'm more than happy to be corrected!)_

I'll try. It was mentioned by a local footy historian to me years ago. I think Cannanore played at the TCA ground & Hobart play their too. Sandy bay were born out of a team called South East Districts. I will see what l can confirm more 'officially'!

If you are interested their is a bit of old footage from the Tasmanian state footy final of 1911 between North Launceston & Cananore at the old TCA ground in Hobart. Cananore was the precursor club to the Hobart Tigers. I'm not much chop with computer wizardry, but if you look up Tasmanian football 1911 you will find it on U tube & under the National Film & Sound Archive. The initial crowd shots are magic, as is the footy:p It certainly is an historic piece of film.

its posted on the first page mate

Hi all,
I'd like to know if anyone has video of a Williamstown Seagulls 1986 and 1990 premierships.

I haven't seen the games, but the '86 celebrations are a ripper:

1916 AF charity fundraiser matches in London played by Australian troops (including former elite players from State Leagues)- some of it has been colourised. This is much more comprehensive than post #17 above.

A written & verbal description of its history is included in this once mislaid video footage. The game & footage, organised after many thousands of troops had been killed near Fromelles & elsewhere, was "...to lift spirits and provide an adrenalin shot of national pride...".

This poignant footage probably contains images of Australians who were later killed, or injured, in WW1.

Women playing, some representing Sth. Melb, in front of a good crowd at Lakeside Oval, in 1947. Probably the sole surviving, earliest moving footage of a women's game
From 2 min. mark to 4 min. mark, Debbie Lee & Sam Lane discuss the prejudice that, sadly, existed against female AF, until recent years.

Enjoy.

The "lost" 1982 Escort Cup match between Richmond v Swan Districts has been found in its entirety.
A huge discovery of one of the 'holy grail' games we've been looking for. Richmond won by 186 pts after Swan District coach John Todd brought a junior side over to compete. Michael Roach kicked 10 goals from 10 kicks in a quarter and half of football.
Recorded off the TV, I have digitised it and placed it up on youtube.

Pre-match + Q1 of the game is at www.youtube.com/RhettBartlett.
(Q2, Q3, Q4 and post-match are in process of being uploaded).

A rare full recording of Channe 7 's Big League Replay show seen on youtube today.

Round 20, 1983. This would have been on from 6-30 pm to 8-30 pm that night like every round was each Saturday.

Hey footy history buffs, I have a quick question about the best way to go about recording and posting old footy footage. I'm of the understanding that these dopey tv networks have destroyed most of the history of our great game. I recently had a client pass away and he had a couple of VHS tapes of Swan Districts games from the late 80's. They were throwing out his VHS to DVD recorder and the tapes so I nabbed them with the intention of transferring to DVD and posting on Youtube. I would like to get the best quality out of it, has anyone done this before and do you have any advice on how to go about it?

Hey mate.
Few options.
just put the VHS in the VCR, and a blank dvd in the dvd part and dub across.
Once that is finished, "finalise" the disc. And then burn the disc onto your laptop computer with a free program (like Handbrake).
Alternatively, I could burn them for you and upload to YT if you need. Who is Swan Districts playing in the games

Cheers thanks Barts. The games are Swans versus Claremont and Subiaco, I looked up a few of the player careers like Peter Mann playing for Claremont in the late 80's to figure out the time period, but I can't be sure of the round without going into it in more depth. Thanks for the generous offer to burn and upload too, but this is something I would like to figure out for future reference, as it is not the only thing I would like to upload.