FTA-TV The Footy Show 2017

• Thread starter Thread starter parano1a

Looks like CH9 management have emasculated Sam. Naturally you wouldn't be happy about that, but he is paid big bucks to perform and he did not perform. So he should get his pay docked....see how he likes that.

Will be interesting to see if anything is said in the podcast (if they put one up), as they are usually a bit more open about things on it.

The Nine Network will have to come out on the front foot now and announce that the 2017 Grand Final edition of The Footy Show will be the last one, as after 2017 it will be axed and replaced by a general sports show to be shown on a Thursday night from 2018 onwards.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Will be interesting to see if anything is said in the podcast (if they put one up), as they are usually a bit more open about things on it.

We built the internet for to host that crap?

Wah wah wah people tell me my views are archaic wah wah wah. Seriously....glorified shock jock. The snowflake should get over himself

What a complete load of bullshit haha, he gets called archaic by the media. The same media who watch the show and wait for any sentence they can blow up into a front page story followed by 'time to end the footy show'

I like him even more that he seems to have personally insulted you despite you having never met him. Sucked in haha

I think its more I have the opinion comedy shows/comedians have a life span of 6-10 years then I get bored of it/find it repetitive.

That's what Seinfeld a genius. Stop at the height of success for he got old and lame.

Hey just my opinion though

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Fair enough :thumbsu:

But the grouchy behaviour didn't stop there. When asked who he thought would prevail when the Bulldogs and Gold Coast go head-to-head on Saturday, Newman said "I really don't give a stuff who wins". :D

God damn it, I wish I had watched it.

It does go to show you how ****ed the world has become if that was a protest because he was muzzled on certain issues. I like the symbolic nature of saying fine if you can pick and choose what I should have an opinion on ill have no opinion on anything then

Nine managed to **** up this show the same way BBC managed to **** up Top Gear. Sam, Gary, Brayshaw and Brownless only really work well as an ensemble. Once any one of them's gone the show's dead. Either get rid of all of them and start over or end the show. Also just watched a bit of that clip above and now that ****wit Hughesy's on that? Which idiot decided to give him a contract?

What a complete load of bullshit haha, he gets called archaic by the media. The same media who watch the show and wait for any sentence they can blow up into a front page story followed by 'time to end the footy show'

I like him even more that he seems to have personally insulted you despite you having never met him. Sucked in haha

I do agree with people being outraged by sam is quite stupid. He's someone these PC types don't like anyway, so why are they outraged someone they don't like said some thing they find offensive?

Anywho, Sam is a parody of himself and has been for a long time, I think the tipping point was when he got to boot from triple m as a special comments man and then stopped being a serious footy commentator in anyway and more a old man telling young people to get off his lawn kind of guy.

I loved him in the 90s as he has interesting things to say about footy as well as other things. Sure he was a bit non PC, but he didn't seem built up with hate and disdain for the world like he has become.

He's pretty much become what Jeremy Clarkson would be if he begun to not give a stuff about cars and just just wanted to stay relevant by any means possible (some may say that has happened but I digress)

The segment with the two of them doing commentary for different barrels from old games. It was cringeworthy so I changed channels

Really? 2 of the best commentators of all time doing a piss take. It was awesome.

Glad you liked it. I didn't

Doesn't make either one of us wrong just that we like different things

I do agree with people being outraged by sam is quite stupid. He's someone these PC types don't like anyway, so why are they outraged someone they don't like said some thing they find offensive?

Anywho, Sam is a parody of himself and has been for a long time, I think the tipping point was when he got to boot from triple m as a special comments man and then stopped being a serious footy commentator in anyway and more a old man telling young people to get off his lawn kind of guy.

I loved him in the 90s as he has interesting things to say about footy as well as other things. Sure he was a bit non PC, but he didn't seem built up with hate and disdain for the world like he has become.

He's pretty much become what Jeremy Clarkson would be if he begun to not give a stuff about cars and just just wanted to stay relevant by any means possible (some may say that has happened but I digress)

He's just playing a character. The show used to have a lot of entertaining guests. Lyon Dunstall Hawkins Crawford Fevola Hird Sheedy Brownless Brereton etc. Then the players started being muzzled by the clubs so it became about Gaz JB and Sam. Then they left so now Sam has to play a different character because no one else's offers anything. Any one with any semblance of intelligence needs to realize he is playing a role and always has, the amount of people who talk about how different he is off camera speaks volumes to that.

Glad you liked it. I didn't

Doesn't make either one of us wrong just that we like different things

Are you old enough to remember listening to them? Rex Hunt was my childhood on the radio and it brought back a lot of memories

He's just playing a character. The show used to have a lot of entertaining guests. Lyon Dunstall Hawkins Crawford Fevola Hird Sheedy Brownless Brereton etc. Then the players started being muzzled by the clubs so it became about Gaz JB and Sam. Then they left so now Sam has to play a different character because no one else's offers anything. Any one with any semblance of intelligence needs to realize he is playing a role and always has, the amount of people who talk about how different he is off camera speaks volumes to that.
This is the thing that annoys me with people like you - you only understand half of what it is to live in a liberal democracy. One can exercise their right to free speech, one can disagree and call them a buffoon and a company can decide That those views are inconsistent with what they stand for. You can't have one without the other.

See now your annoyed by another person you have never met. You must be easily offended champ. I imagine your the type of person who sends in letters saying TV ads are offensive

I should have known trying to engage in a semi-intellectual conversation with you is out of the question. Let's strip it back to basic huh?

I'm not offended by anything Sam Newman says or does. I think he is an idiotic Shock jock who baits people but when they bite back he whines and moans like a baby. If channel nine do not want him on their channel anymore that is their right as it is Sam Newman's right to free speech, as it is people's right to criticise him as it is your right to defend him.

Would you like me to sing that to you with spaghetti on a fork playing open mouth for the choo choo train or has that gotten through

I should have known trying to engage in a semi-intellectual conversation with you is out of the question. Let's strip it back to basic huh?

I'm not offended by anything Sam Newman says or does. I think he is an idiotic Shock jock who baits people but when they bite back he whines and moans like a baby. If channel nine do not want him on their channel anymore that is their right as it is Sam Newman's right to free speech, as it is people's right to criticise him as it is your right to defend him.

Would you like me to sing that to you with spaghetti on a fork playing open mouth for the choo choo train or has that gotten through

Haha and now you have tried to resort to insults. You're a miserable person mate lol

Funny that the Footy Show and its awful hosts completely shit the bed when faced with the first bit of competition they've had in 20 years.

Haha and now you have tried to resort to insults. You're a miserable person mate lol

You are incapable of debating substance so you try to derail conversations with irrelevant and trivial points like...'you're offended by someone you've never met'...ok I won't have an opinion on anyone or anything I've never personally met...

No I just don't want to debate it with you I've got better things to do than try an have an intelligence pissing contest with someone on the Internet.

Hahaha righto. Classic 'I'm out of my depth' move. You could have told me a few posts ago. I wouldn't have wasted my time engaging in a discussion about freedom and responsibility in liberal democracies.

I have to commend Sam on staying on TFS for as long as he has. I don't like Sam, although I have agreed with him on some points he has made about the game. He has copped a lot of unfair jokes and been able to laugh at himself.
His problem is he attacks people who aren't there to defend themselves and does it in a completely unfair manner.
There is a big difference between being controversial and being a bigot. He appeals to his own audience. A group of 'left behind' people who believe "political correctness has ruined this country" and think that free speech gives them the right to be sexist, homophobic, racist or just plain disgusting and they are "just voicing their opinion". Whether it is his real self or not he has created a persona that refuses to conform and move with the rest of the world and now feel left behind. His political rants are unnecessary, they have always been unnecessary, just now people pick up on these types of opinions a lot more. He has always relied on being 'controversial' to get a laugh. His problem is Australia has grown up, he just refuses to.

He's had a sook because finally someone has told him to not say something.