The Footy Show - UK Comp Winner

• Thread starter Thread starter topdon

Do you think the London Bound comp was unfair (rigged)?

• Yes

Votes: 23 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

T

topdon

I know this is going to rattle a few cages, but what do some of you guys think about the winner of the 'London Bound' trip?

The guy who won was doing a Lou Richards impersonation, at Jock McHale Stadium. The winner will be flying Emirates to London. Which club does Emirates sponsor in the AFL? Who is the president of the Collingwood Football Club? What does Lou Richards have to do with The Footy Show and Collingwood in particular. These are the questions you have to ask yourself.

The winning skit was as unfunny as one could imagine! Those who saw it would know what i mean! It's not there was a 'great' bunch to pick from, but there were others that were more worthy winners.

I think the guy who won knew what he was doing! Suck up to Eddie and Emirates as much as possible, and you may as well pack your bags. :rolleyes:

C'mon Alf...it was more than a f*cking coincidence don't you think?

Don't be so precious Alf...i don't give two hoots about your club. If for example, Ian ****er was the host of The Footy Show, Hawthorn were sponsored by Emirates, and the contestant made a video impersonation of Dippa.......$9.99!! ;)....from the stands of Glenferrie, i'd be thinking something was suss.

Stop thinking that we think you club is more important than it actually is :rolleyes:

Yeah, Chris, that's what I thought. Les Patterson or something. It wasn't very good. Must have been the best of a bad lot. The other ones they showed were terrible too.

I think Topdon has got his balls in a knot because he didn't win.

Ah well. Buy a ticket in the Essendon chook raffle next week, Don. You might get lucky. It's probably rigged too.

obviously RIGGED! darren james on 3aw this morning said that eddie was mates with the guy and also hinted that it was rigged!

gee eddie really is mr credability lately aint he!!!

i also thought puppetry of the pussy deserved to win

very very sad indeed..just like collingwood

I thought the winner was the worst of a bad lot!

It wasnt even close to funny!

Wasn't funny at all...seems very suss to me, hope it all blows up in Eddie's face and he's forced to admit it was rigged. That puppetry of the pussy skit was heaps funnier than that.

I didn't even know who he was trying to imitate until they told us.

lol.. i knew this would happen as soon as they announced the winner.

what a bunch of ill-minded wankas you are!

Ed would have nothing to do with deciding on who the winner is. it was emirates comp, they would decide the winner, and really you should comment on it...because its their comp, and they are free to choose whoever they wish...

you just cant handle that a collingwood bloke won it...

for people to say eddie rigged it, is absolute crap! and if you genuinely beleive it, you are a ****in idiot... get a life...

leave him alone.. he is better than every single one of you ****heads!

If Eddie thinks he doesn't have a conflict of interest,then maybe he should read this board.
As soon as someone has a go at Eddie the Collingwood supporters have a hissy fit because they think we're attacking the club.

Just because we have a go at Eddie DOESN'T mean we're having a go at Collingwood.

Well i thought he was absolutely hilarious, a well deserved winner. In fact, i'm going to see if we can book him for our Team of the Century night. He will be the perfect compliment to the Slim Dusty performance which will no doubt bring the house down.

Anyway, better get back to my autobiography. Those 478 chapters aren't going to write themselves.

Originally posted by PiesPremiers
Ed would have nothing to do with deciding on who the winner is. it was emirates comp, they would decide the winner, and really you should comment on it...because its their comp, and they are free to choose whoever they wish...

oh and heres me thinking it was a footy show comp, how stupid of me

and what makes eddie better than everyone else here?

eddie has chosen his career path mixing football comitments with media comitments last nights show only proved once again that the 2 dont mix at all. the point im making here is if bruce mcavaney was hosting the footy show there wouldnt be such a outrage about who won it but eddie despite the obvious conflict of interests involved in doing both the presidency and being a media magnet seems to think that there is no such thing. last nights show only strengthened the argument and will only intensify next year when ch9 have the footy rights.
time to make a decision edward football or media.
cheers!

Originally posted by PiesPremiers
lol.. i knew this would happen as soon as they announced the winner.

what a bunch of ill-minded wankas you are!

you just cant handle that a collingwood bloke won it...

for people to say eddie rigged it, is absolute crap! and if you genuinely beleive it, you are a ****in idiot... get a life...

Hey Mate, you should try to answer people in a civilised manner sometimes. Oh, I forgot. It's easy to be brave when your just an immature kid hiding behind your computer isn't it? and guess what, those comments came from one of your fellow Pies supporters.
I think it's good to be passionate about your team, but I'm beginning to hate the amount of schoolyard abuse that comes from the mouth of, not so bright, babes.

I reckon the Essendon bloke pumping up the footy deserved to win.

Funniest by a mile.

(Footy show going to London, that's something to get pumped up about)

McGuire should stand down from all media duties!

Eddie McGuire should leave his media career...now! Last night's shameless advertising for Emirates was a complete joke. Its no coincidence that Emirates just happen to sponsor Collingwood. The conflict of interest that Maguire has is spiralling out of control. And when the footy goes to nine next year...it'll be about 100 times worse.

I don't care much about who won the damn comp, but why are Emirates sponsoring it?? Its because Eddie has a conflict of interest that's why! One week its Chris Tarrant's (so called) mark of the century (call the club on 1800 GO PIES and you can order yours for only $299...etc. etc.) and the next its 'lets all wear Emirates caps on the footy show'. Its one Collingwood advertisement after another. I'm sick of it, and so are supporters from the other 15 clubs no doubt.

Conflict of interest, my eye.

So, Eddie is the President of a football club.

So, Eddie is the compere of a TV variety/slapstick/comedy show called The Footy Show.

There is no connection. The Footy Show has got absolutely jack-**** to do with football. It is simply a TV variety/slapstick/comedy show, with a football theme.

There is nothing official about it.

For Christ's sake, get off Eddie McGuire's case. He's entitled to a career. And he's entitled to be the President of his favourite football club.

Just go away, please. This is a non-issue.

Re: McGuire should stand down from all media duties!

Originally posted by Blues2001
Eddie McGuire should leave his media career...now! Last night's shameless advertising for Emirates was a complete joke.

He even managed to mention EMIRATES when talking to Schwarz about the pie incident.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews
So, Eddie is the compere of a TV variety/slapstick/comedy show called The Footy Show.

There is no connection. The Footy Show has got absolutely jack-**** to do with football. It is simply a TV variety/slapstick/comedy show, with a football theme.

That doesn't make sense. You said the Footy show has got NOTHING to do with football then you say it's (the Footy Show) a variety show with a football theme.

To me that means it's a football show.

Gee, trip to London, what's the big deal? I walk out the front door and its there!

And Emirates is a mighty fine airline. I'll be flying home with them again come September.