Mega Thread The Former Player Thread

If anyone is watching, Vez is pretty much going even with Boyd for disposals so far. Probably our best player so far vs Freo.

11 possies so far and has looked dangerous, 5 inside 50's and a goal a bit over halfway through the 2nd quarter.

Out of curiosity Gus, how's my main Bulldogs man going King Tutt? LOL

He's done a few things in the midfield, kicked a ripping goal from the boundary that looked like it may have been touched, but it was given.

Loves to take them on.

Vesz finishes with 19 disposals (17 kicks), 7 marks and 2 goals. Played a bit more as a midfielder than a forward. Seemed up the ground more than I thought he would.

And of course, Bazza finishes with a 5 goal haul.

Vesz finishes with 19 disposals (17 kicks), 7 marks and 2 goals. Played a bit more as a midfielder than a forward. Seemed up the ground more than I thought he would.

And of course, Bazza finishes with a 5 goal haul.

He did butcher it a bit but credit where its due, gonna miss watching Hall though.

Guys.....we got a sneak look at what Veszpremi might bring to the table today.

This year he has worked very hard at Williamstown without really killing it and never dropping his head. He got his opportunity as the sub for the dogs in the last couple of games and today he got a full game. He was just a bundle of energy, jumping up and down on the mark like a mad man and chasing and pressuring. He has got some pace as you guys would know and of course he can kick a long goal. But the other stuff is what has been standing out about him even at Williamstown. This kid wants to make it and it seems to me that he just needs some confidence.

Anyway, good luck in the finals.

This year he has worked very hard at Williamstown without really killing it and never dropping his head. He got his opportunity as the sub for the dogs in the last couple of games and today he got a full game. He was just a bundle of energy, jumping up and down on the mark like a mad man and chasing and pressuring. He has got some pace as you guys would know and of course he can kick a long goal. But the other stuff is what has been standing out about him even at Williamstown. This kid wants to make it and it seems to me that he just needs some confidence.

I wish him all the best, but its his workrate that lets him down.. Bundle of energy jumping up and down etc was never his problem, but his actual game workrate is the question and still is. He will improve Im sure.

thats my patty

he just need someone to believe in him and then he will believe in himself i seriously know hes going 2 be a good footy player and hes so exciting to watch and nothing makes me happier when i see him celebrate his goals

wish you guys all the best too

This is interesting.

mid season reports were that Vez wasn't working hard enough and continuing with an off the field/training track attitude that suggested his intent wasn't great.

If someone took him behind the rooms at Whitten oval and shook the beejus out of him and told him to wake up to himself than well done... perhaps it was Mr Hall.

Also noticed Barlow was regarded as having a reasonable game but that is his style, dead rubber specialist.

This is interesting.

mid season reports were that Vez wasn't working hard enough and continuing with an off the field/training track attitude that suggested his intent wasn't great.

If someone took him behind the rooms at Whitten oval and shook the beejus out of him and told him to wake up to himself than well done... perhaps it was Mr Hall.

Also noticed Barlow was regarded as having a reasonable game but that is his style, dead rubber specialist.

Ed has been an interesting one. He's played a few games this year and has looked pretty good. I wasn't really sure what to expect with him, you guys seemed to think he was a bit soft. I reckon from what I have seen that at times he looks to be in a day dream, not switched on, and that lack of intensity makes him look a bit soft maybe. Becuase when he's up and about he has shown that he can be hard at the ball.

But overall I think he added something to us when he played. He's seems to find the ball, is pretty good in heavy traffic. He is a good size and can run and run.

I'm not sure if we'll elevate him to the senior list for next year. I suspect not. But he's a handy guy to have about, still young and who knows. Worthwhile pick up for us.

Veszpremi did have an injury early on in the season and that set him back. But I think fitness is his main physical issue. He maybe does not have the natural big tank. He'll need to work really hard I guess. But he looks like a bloke who wants it pretty bad I have seen him train also. If he does, and he gets some confidence in himself then he will be a really good player. Lots of ifs in there.

For all the banter on the bay, Pat's a good kid and I hope he does well. He certainly never seemed resentful about not getting a game or being held back for so long. But then, you probably wouldn't divulge that to a fan.

Re: Barlow, I agree that he's not soft. Just gets muddled by options. If he only has one option, he'll get through it fine, it's when he has two or three to assess, he can't do it fast enough.

Is it possible that Pat is a little strange in the head? Like ADHD or something?

I've been told he marches to the beat of a different drum than everyone else sometimes.

Who knows? It's hard to assess what they're like from second and third hand recounts. It got mentioned in that article a month or so about him that he has a body that just isn't right for footy and so he has to put in a shitload of extra work just to stay at a base level.

Interestingly though, with his fitness struggles I thought the sun rule would be the end of him, but it might end up being perfect for him. He can play as an impact player and have his game time increased as his tank develops.

Good on you for giving him a go but fair dinkum, he is rubbish. That has got to be our darkest hour in the history of the draft.

Ed has been an interesting one. He's played a few games this year and has looked pretty good. I wasn't really sure what to expect with him, you guys seemed to think he was a bit soft. I reckon from what I have seen that at times he looks to be in a day dream, not switched on, and that lack of intensity makes him look a bit soft maybe. Becuase when he's up and about he has shown that he can be hard at the ball.

But overall I think he added something to us when he played. He's seems to find the ball, is pretty good in heavy traffic. He is a good size and can run and run.

I'm not sure if we'll elevate him to the senior list for next year. I suspect not. But he's a handy guy to have about, still young and who knows. Worthwhile pick up for us.

Veszpremi did have an injury early on in the season and that set him back. But I think fitness is his main physical issue. He maybe does not have the natural big tank. He'll need to work really hard I guess. But he looks like a bloke who wants it pretty bad I have seen him train also. If he does, and he gets some confidence in himself then he will be a really good player. Lots of ifs in there.

If the Doggies were to be a top 6 team in 2012, then you can be pretty confident that these 2 players wouldn't be regular members of the starting 22. The fact that they couldn't break into our team when we began to introduce some younger players to senior football, is proof of that.
They are great reserve grade & fringe players, but that's it.

I went to a few Doggies games that Barlow played in. He tried hard, which may have been fine for your second half of the year, but that's not enough for a team that's on song, as you were in 2010. As for Vezpremi. He reminds me of someone that gets excited short term, but then the novelty wears off & boredom sets in, followed by the blame game as to why they're not at their best.

You have more promising players in your twos that would be given first crack at senior football before these two, under your new coach.
Just my thoughts.