The Frawley conundrum

• Thread starter Thread starter The Dr

Can I ask why you think he will go?

Hey Dez!, did you see that interview with Peter Jackson at half time? I think it was Gerard Healy interviewing.

They spoke about Chip and although Jackson trotted out the expected lines, I just got the feeling they feel he's gone.

Sorry I don't have the skills to get the footage up, but Healy specifically pressed on whether Jackson knew anything and it just felt like they both knew damn well.

Jacksons comments such as 'I was led to believe he wanted to see the direction of the club' made me worried.

And also 'he will make his decision at the end of the year' - well I've never heard Frawley say that, he doesn't need the whole season to make his decision.

Anyways certainly have no inside information, I'm just illustrating a few things that are starting to convince me he's gone.

I am very very keen on him staying so hopefully I get a nice surprise!

I'm not sure whether he's staying or going, leaning towards going.

All I know is that these performances aren't good for him or us. He's just floating around out there with no obvious direction or long term benefit.

If he goes it's such a sad/odd state of affairs. One of our best when we were (are?) absolute slop, and now that we're showing signs of promise he's struggling to find a role in the team.

Oh, he has a role mate. Fullback. He just isn't being played there.

FWIW I think McDonald has a future at CHB where his mobility is handy and he has a wider part of the ground to work with for targets and he's just generally further away from goal as opposed to FB.

But yeah, as you say, things are a little topsy turvy.

FWIW I think McDonald has a future at CHB where his mobility is handy and he has a wider part of the ground to work with for targets and he's just generally further away from goal as opposed to FB.

Good point. McDonald and Frawley I rate about the same when it comes to disposal (it was Frawley who kicked OOF to Watts in the 1st Q, yes?) but Chip is definitely less willing to try and do something dumb. Interestingly he was played down back in the last quarter today (I think?) and we only let one goal through. TBH I wasn't watching closely enough to see if he was having an impact down there but that might be significant.

It's like the Bombers and Carlisle. Serviceable as a forward though at his best in defence, and just playing where the team needs him to at the moment. But where the team needs him might not be where he's going to be best.

Agreed in re: McDonald, definitely not a FB, so we'd like to keep Frawley to play there unless we're planning on drafting Durdin/a similar type.

You can build a premiership team around a bloke like Frawley, quick, strong, good 1-1. I'm not phased if he stays or goes, he'll be back to AA if he leaves, that's a given. If he stays and Hogan gets fit, it means, McDonald has to play well to keep his spot. Let's not forget how good he was down back, when we were a reasonable outfit. He's worth every bit of pick 5, and I hope we trade it for the right player if he does leave.

Good point. McDonald and Frawley I rate about the same when it comes to disposal (it was Frawley who kicked OOF to Watts in the 1st Q, yes?) but Chip is definitely less willing to try and do something dumb. Interestingly he was played down back in the last quarter today (I think?) and we only let one goal through. TBH I wasn't watching closely enough to see if he was having an impact down there but that might be significant.

Yes Frawley played the last quarter yesterday in defence, and Dunn went to the forward line. Really interesting move by Roos, clearly the game was over so perhaps Roos is considering moving Frawley back into defence from next week?

It was funny though, I think Frawley forgot he wasn't a forward anymore, some of the moves he was trying down there in the last quarter were super risky!!

Hey Dez!, did you see that interview with Peter Jackson at half time? I think it was Gerard Healy interviewing.

They spoke about Chip and although Jackson trotted out the expected lines, I just got the feeling they feel he's gone.

Sorry I don't have the skills to get the footage up, but Healy specifically pressed on whether Jackson knew anything and it just felt like they both knew damn well.

Jacksons comments such as 'I was led to believe he wanted to see the direction of the club' made me worried.

And also 'he will make his decision at the end of the year' - well I've never heard Frawley say that, he doesn't need the whole season to make his decision.

Anyways certainly have no inside information, I'm just illustrating a few things that are starting to convince me he's gone.

I am very very keen on him staying so hopefully I get a nice surprise!
Don't think much of it, he's always said he'd make his decision at the end of the season.

FFS though keep him in the backline he's got no idea as a forward unless the ball is rolling around in the forward line.

Frawley isn't smart enough to be a switch hitter. Looked out of place in defense. Dunn is a better defender atm. Leave him there now, it's too late to change it up again.

If he played permanent full back again he'd pick it up pretty quickly I reckon. JackAttack7 got it spot on with the comparison to Carlisle. Frawley has some attributes that mean he can be handy up forward, particularly leading and workrate but he's clearly a natural defender. Would be interested to see how a permanent swap of Dunn and Frawley for the rest of the year would work.

Yeh but Dunn has been our best defender all year, we do have an excess of tall defenders that's for sure. Maybe Garlo could have a spell up forward so we can send Frawley back - Garlo hasnt exactly been setting the world on fire in defence

I reckon Frawley can match Dunn's output down back but I reckon Dunn is a more natural forward that Frawley or Garland. It's all a bit more makeshift than we really want. No Hogan and Clark has really left a big hole.

Dunns a far better rebounder and more creative user of the footy by foot
Chips best was when he was running and carrying and treating forwards with contempt but he seems to have lost that

How can you say that when he's been playing forward pretty much all year?

He's still a gun full back and rarely gets beat one on one but I don't think we've seen the rebound out of defence from him since 2010. Maybe Bailey asked him to do that and Neeld just wanted him to boot it long to the boundary though.

The size of the compensation is also determined by accolades, including best and fairest finishes.

Dare I say, the coaching staff should throw a few votes Chip's way ;)

Frawley needs to go back.

tumblr_lmhazn20HS1qzv7c2.gif

Sorry.