The Freo List.

• Thread starter Thread starter gungho

Maybe should have grabbed that Adelaide kpf with an early pick.

Haven't seen much but cerra looks classy AF
Right now, if we had the choice of either Cerra or Fogarty becoming 150 game players for us, I would take Cerra. But I do like Fogarty. Cerra seems like he may have elite potential in an area we really need improvement.

We're missing a 5th of our b22 who were first rounders.

Pitt/mora/simpson/palmer... they make up a big part of the hole that we are in, nearly a 5th of the best 22. They should be the blokes at the top of their game, in the age bracket that supports the young uns and gives us a few years more of transition. 4x 1st rounders where only Simpson could possibly be slated as a Ross issue (but was a Simpson issue - or a recruiting issue in the first place). That recruiting is an issue that stings us badly now, but stemming from such a long time ago that isn't Ross's fault - at least though, that bit of the club (recruitment) is better now, or as it were, fixed.

I'm not happy that we are not in the 8. But there are 17 other teams all vieing for a spot, so we aren't always going to be in the 8. If we had no reason and we were just overtaken by better teams, I'd be pissed with that - but having spent it all in a chance at a flag - and now having to restock the cupboards is something I'm happy with, we didn't get the flag but we had a few legitimate chances, annoying that our recruitment used to suck.

Now if I saw our rebuild as a perennial rebuild, well, I'd be pissed with that. But I don't see us being on that trajectory, we're just loading up the shotgun again before killing more zombies. Not that I expect anyone else to see it that way.

Not sure we can consider the recruiting perfect just yet but yeah sometimes I forget how bad our drafting has actually been. Between 2009 and 2015 I only count 7 players that made it and are still in our best 22. You need to be consistently hitting 2-3 draft picks a year if you want to avoid the crash and we certainly weren't.

If you add B Hill, Hamling, McCarthy we have been covering for poor drafting with good trades .

Funny that the "bad recruiting" period stops 3 years ago. We perpetually say we did great the last 2-3 drafts, because they're still new and shiny and haven't been shown to be plodders. Last year's draft is always the best of course.
I remember when we killed the draft in the Sutcliffe/Sheridan year.

The only real way to judge a club's drafting is against the performance of other comparable clubs (similar picks, similar in terms of rebuild/contention mode). I haven't done that (and can't be arsed doing it), but 7 players may indeed be terrible, but also could be the best performed.

The period you are naming here is through the expansion club drafts so is unusual. You would hope most clubs are going to get a decent pick in the first round, but when that first round pick is in reality more like pick 30 that could be quite a different equation and strategy. Is it really a surprise that our club has struggled for KPFs, for example, when there has been little access to the top 10 during that period? It is also perhaps understandable that they take the risk on a player like Simpson in the quest for x-factor.

Next years draft will need to be tempered by the fact we already have Matera and Wilson on the list in lieu of picks.

I also really hope we resist trading the 2019 1st rounder (unless it is for an equivalent 2018 1st rounder). All things equal you take the best player ....praying to the good lord that one of the King boys drops to us or Ian Hill as the consolation.

It will then likely be the draft of rookie upgrades for us and we'll have to have a run at finding younger diamonds in the rough via that path.

Banfield & Duman you would think would be certainties to be promoted and soak up 2 of the picks that we'll be making whilst all the other clubs are on a bus to the airport (I envision Bond & Lloyd sitting there in a semi-darkened room with a cleaning lady asking him to lift his feet whilst she vacuums).

Decisions on Nyhuis & Strnadica too ...could just leave Giro on the rookie list. Also really hope we resist dropping an Apeness type and then rookie listing him.

What do people think about the below Crows players?

Kyle Hartigan
Myles Poholke
Andy Otten
Cameron Ellis-Yolmen
Rory Atkins
Jordan Gallucci
Curtly Hampton

These are examples of players we should look at, fringe players from others teams that we can get for a 3rd rounder.

Obviously you need to pick the good ones, but hopefully are recruiters are up to the challenge.

Major problem is we don't have a 3rd rounder this year, and I'm not sure any of our fringe players are worthy of a 3rd round.

Think we need to consider whether guys such as Apeness, Sheridan and Sutcliffe should survive one more year out of necessity.

I'd cut Apeness, there is no value in holding a player who is unable to get on the park and stay on the park.

Sutcliffe I'd keep but only on the basis that we're going to take out about 8 guys ahead of him and he is at least depth.

No
No
No
No
Yes
Haven't seen enough
No

That said, Atkins aint a fringe player.

Otten would be a good pickup if we were right in the window because he is so versatile. Wouldn't make any sense now.

You wouldn't take Hartigan or CEY?

I was arguing for Hartigan from before the crows took him.

CEY is at the moment playing very good inside footy

Said at the time and it was shot down here that we should have pushed hard for CEY when he got delisted end of last year

Playing better football than Blakely for mine

The problem with both of those boys is to get them over you'd have to be offering them B22 footy, which I wouldn't be willing to give either.

CEY is really an inside mid and haven't seen him do anything else, which I think is a problem. He is not good enough at it for that to be his only string.

Makes sense.

Apart from the fact that he is on the park. Got a fair way to go for the remainder of this season.

I would be far from apoplectic if wrong.

I think you have to take in account that the kids coming through aren't as good as they used to be. For the last few years I watch the draft videos and I'm always left underwhelmed.

2014 draft could be the worst of all time and 2015 doesn't look much better. Early days for 2016/2017 but there dosent seem to be any elite types at all.

Kids are fitter and have stronger bodies than in previous years. They should be showing more than they are. Are kids playing soccer? Or other sports? All I know is I rather trade in players from other clubs than go to the draft.

I think you have to take in account that the kids coming through aren't as good as they used to be. For the last few years I watch the draft videos and I'm always left underwhelmed.

2014 draft could be the worst of all time and 2015 doesn't look much better. Early days for 2016/2017 but there dosent seem to be any elite types at all.

Kids are fitter and have stronger bodies than in previous years. They should be showing more than they are. Are kids playing soccer? Or other sports? All I know is I rather trade in players from other clubs than go to the draft.

Cerra says g'day!!

I think they’re still out there it’s just they aren’t always in the first round anymore (or have they ever been?) Lot of talent being picked up later in the draft/on the rookie list.

Makes it very hard to rebuild when we can use pick 7 on Logue while Sydney use a rookie pick and get Ronke (not to say Logue won’t get over his injuries/improve).

Sheridan, sutty have had too many chances. They have to go. Danyle and mj gone, too old now. If apeness is injured at the end of the year gone. And anyone that has been on the list for 2 years & played 2 games or less then off they go. I would be talking to mature aged picks in the wafl now, tell them what is needed it they want to join the ffc & to keep stum about it. Pick them up late in the draft.

I think they’re still out there it’s just they aren’t always in the first round anymore (or have they ever been?) Lot of talent being picked up later in the draft/on the rookie list.

Makes it very hard to rebuild when we can use pick 7 on Logue while Sydney use a rookie pick and get Ronke (not to say Logue won’t get over his injuries/improve).

Pretty much my point. There isn't many stars coming through dominating junior ranks. Who's the last one Kelly?? Taranto looked better than everyone in his draft year and is showing he's a player. Can't think of many.

This coming draft looks better though. I haven't seen too much footage yet but Blakey and those two Adelaide boys look like they have potential to be top 20 players in the comp.

Apeness is still a chance depending on fitness.

Surely there's 20-24 year old's in the WAFL/SANFL/VFL in the Barlow/Mzungu/Ryan/Silvagni mould who offer much more than Sutcliffe and Sheridan.

Apeness is still a chance depending on fitness.

Surely there's 20-24 year old's in the WAFL/SANFL/VFL in the Barlow/Mzungu/Ryan/Silvagni mould who offer much more than Sutcliffe and Sheridan.
That would be great and if it is the case we should go that way but who are they? Why aren't they on a list already? Why would they still be there at pick 300 odd? Don't see it myself.

Doing their homework until they've finished year 12, instead of dropping out for a labouring job at aged 14?

It's because more players are getting picked up on the basis of beep tests and such bullshit, rather than their footy. I don't dislike the game, but you can't tell me it wasn't a whole lot more fun when a guy like Benny Vigona was running around the WAFL, and I use the word running advisedly

The modern teams might be low scoring, but they'd flog the teams of yesteryear. The greats that I grew up with, Barry Cable etc would be left eating dust and wouldn't often get near the ball. Well, unless they were allowed to include a bit of the biffo of yesteryear, that would even up the ledger in their favour.