The furphy that Melbourne has poor crowds

TV ratings and streams matter far more these days than game attendances. That's the AFL cash cow now.
I feel like people watch the 'Scray ro see the Bont. They watch the Pies (and the Blues) to see us lose.

You might put Melbourne on the screen in a waiting room when you didn't want loitering.

Don't even need to read any posts trying to argue against the fact that yes Melbourne crowds are poor, relative to the league. They'd be decent for a Rugby League game which isn't saying much.

Max applauded the spectators for turning up, reckon there was more players on the ground than supporters in the stand today

Melbourne have a very small fanbase, and their games look especially empty because of the mcg. Not sure why people expect Collingwood level crowds when they're playing freo or gws.

Was honestly considering not going today. I’ve never missed a Melbourne (city game). People are pissed off and rightly so.
This team whilst not being top 4 should be pushing for top 8 and their not. There’s so many changes needed and we aren’t getting it. Today was great but doesn’t shy away from anything. If you went for Melbourne you’d probably get it. Hopefully more turn up but sometimes I think when the players don’t show up to play I could be at home with my little boy.

Melbourne v Fremantle, 25,205
Essendon v Port 25,114

Literally a bigger crowd than the last time your club played an interstate club at home. No way are we taking crap from a fellow small drawing club like Essendon

Essendon with a fan boycott ongoing v Fremantle one of the premiership favourites in a certain thrashing win for Freo in Round 21 2024: Crowd: 34,381

So yea literally a bigger crowd. Thanks for pick 1!

Essendon with a fan boycott ongoing v Fremantle one of the premiership favourites in a certain thrashing win for Freo in Round 21 2024: Crowd: 34,381

So yea literally a bigger crowd. Thanks for pick 1!
Can you imagine a Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond supporter coming in trying to cherry pick an attendance from a previous year of football to try and use a 34k to boast?

Face facts. Stkilda, North, Dogs, Dees, Essendon are the small Victorian clubs.

Because unlike you, i didn't go into historical records to try and prove some point. I merely looked at the current season, most recent game....3 rounds ago. Are you somehow trying to make an argument that Fremantle have more supporters in Melbourne than Port?

I repeat....the fact that you trying to boast about a 34k crowd from a previous season, does more for my argument than it does for yours.

Sorry I have family to spend time with and like to use my holiday home on long weekends?
You poor campaigners probably couldn't afford the petrol to drive up the highway, thats why you're stuck at home whinging about 25,000 people at the G.

Good crowd, very good.

Imagine if that crowd ends up being lower than Richmond Vs Gold Coast at Marvel tonight.

What we already know:
  • Richmond supporters don’t travel to Marvel
  • Richmond is playing poor footy at the moment
  • Some supporters are boycotting the game due to Balta playing
  • It’s the same day, so both have Easter
  • Gold Coast have no Melbourne based fans

Imagine if that crowd ends up being lower than Richmond Vs Gold Coast at Marvel tonight.

What we already know:

How many supporters are genuinely boycotting because of Balta lol I imagine maybe 15?

Melbourne v Fremantle, 25,205
Essendon v Port 25,114

Literally a bigger crowd than the last time your club played an interstate club at home. No way are we taking crap from a fellow small drawing club like Essendon

A random Thursday night vs Easter Saturday, what are we doing here?

Richmond supporters don’t travel to Marvel
Melbourne supporters don't travel.
Richmond is playing poor footy at the moment
But Melbourne Demons on the top of the ladder playing electrifying football! highest score this year was like 50 points before today, massive. Absolutely on fire I can't believe anyone would want to miss us play the team that has been routinely slaughtering us for three years lmao

Because unlike you, i didn't go into historical records to try and prove some point. I merely looked at the current season, most recent game....3 rounds ago. Are you somehow trying to make an argument that Fremantle have more supporters in Melbourne than Port?

I repeat....the fact that you trying to boast about a 34k crowd from a previous season, does more for my argument than it does for yours.

Yeah! Unlike you I didn’t use stupid facts to try to prove my point!

😂😂😂

A random Thursday night vs Easter Saturday, what are we doing here?
I'd argue Easter Saturday is worse as many people are away for the long weekend.
That and Essendon are a much bigger club than Melbourne.

But that's not the point, we know Melbourne aren't the biggest club or anything, but the hypocrisy is absolutely insane.

-Geelong got the same against Freo in round 1

-Essendon got 25k against Port,

- Richmond got 18k against Gold Coast last night.

All those clubs have a bigger fanbase than Melbourne yet no-one batted an eyelid when they got those crowds.

What we already know:
18k, significantly less.

To be honest, it's a pass mark. Idk why anyone would expect that to be a big number especially in the middle of a long weekend.

That being said, Melbourne fans would get absolutely shat on for a crowd like that, whereas no one has blinked twice about it cos it's well literally any other club

Essendon are not a big club.
Look at the last 22 years, look at what they have put their supporters through then look st the crowds they bring through the gates, then get back to me. In the top up seasons Essendon outdrew most of the other clubs. These were the years where winning the coin toss was considered a victory.

The furphy that Melbourne has poor crowds