The furphy that Melbourne has poor crowds

Imagine if that crowd ends up being lower than Richmond Vs Gold Coast at Marvel tonight.

What we already know:
  • Richmond supporters don’t travel to Marvel
  • Richmond is playing poor footy at the moment
  • Some supporters are boycotting the game due to Balta playing
  • It’s the same day, so both have Easter
  • Gold Coast have no Melbourne based fans
Didn’t sound like they were boycotting Balta last night when he got his first possession, sounded like you all cheered for him, pathetic lol

Imagine if that crowd ends up being lower than Richmond Vs Gold Coast at Marvel tonight.

What we already know:
  • Richmond supporters don’t travel to Marvel
  • Richmond is playing poor footy at the moment
  • Some supporters are boycotting the game due to Balta playing
  • It’s the same day, so both have Easter
  • Gold Coast have no Melbourne based fans
Dees supporters boycotting because Goodwin is coaching

Again, I'd argue that Easter Saturday is worse as many people are away for the long weekend. Myself included.
That and Essendon are a bigger club than Melbourne.

Both crowds are fine, but only one of those teams will get shat on for the same crowd.
Was there, first thought looking around, “ we are going to cop shit for this” I went with a mate, normally have 3-4 kids in tow, not that night. I’m having a hard enough time getting one particular child to school as it is, let alone getting home at 1.00 in the morning and giving him an excuse !!!
I take your Easter Saturday point.

Was there, first thought looking around, “ we are going to cop shit for this” I went with a mate, normally have 3-4 kids in tow, not that night. I’m having a hard enough time getting one particular child to school as it is, let alone getting home at 1.00 in the morning and giving him an excuse !!!
I take your Easter Saturday point.
Oh I agree, Thursday night games suck if you have work the next day as well.

I don't really remember Essendon fans copping it for that, or anyone else but Melbourne copping it for getting under 25k.

Look at Instagram or Facebook comments on both games yesterday. A lot of the comments will be about Melbourne's crowd whereas the Richmonds one won't cop mention. Its just getting exhausting hearing about it all the time.

Oh I agree, Thursday night games suck if you have work the next day as well.

I don't really remember Essendon fans copping it for that, or anyone else but Melbourne copping it for getting under 25k.

Look at Instagram or Facebook comments on both games yesterday. A lot of the comments will be about Melbourne's crowd whereas the Richmonds one won't cop mention. Its just getting exhausting hearing about it all the time.
“Tiger army “ trot out the “we don’t go to Marvel” . Absolutely pathetic. It’s funny, the better a team is going the crowds are up, people find an excuse to go. The worse a team is going people search for numerous reasons NOT to go.

Essendon with a fan boycott ongoing v Fremantle one of the premiership favourites in a certain thrashing win for Freo in Round 21 2024: Crowd: 34,381

So yea literally a bigger crowd. Thanks for pick 1!

lol the good old Vic big 4 rolodex of excuses that no other fan base is allowed to use. It never fails.

Didn’t sound like they were boycotting Balta last night when he got his first possession, sounded like you all cheered for him, pathetic lol

“You all”

I didn’t even attend the game mate, but thank you for making the false assumption about me.

“You all”

I didn’t even attend the game mate, but thank you for making the false assumption about me.
Easy for someone to say “they didn’t attend a game” and just lie tbh 🤷🏽‍♂️.. And as if that’s what you focus on anyway.. The Richmond supporters (I’ll word it better for you this time since you want it be precise) THAT attended the game AND cheered for Balta when he got his first possession should all hang their heads in shame..

So you’re having a second crack at insulting me instead of acknowledging that you made a mistake.

Focus on the topic; not me, mate.

Oh ok, your one of “those” supporters.. Got it, enjoy your night, mate!

You’ve written 55 posts in 9 years, 3 of them attacking me this afternoon.

Is your Easter Sunday that miserable mate, or is this just an alt account you only use when your normal account got banned again?

You’ve written 55 posts in 9 years, 3 of them attacking me this afternoon.

Is your Easter Sunday that miserable mate, or is this just an alt account you only use when your normal account got banned again?
if you were a Carlton supporter, you'd have only posted 55 times in the last 9 years too.

If I was a Carlton supporter I would’ve posted 55 times about how sh*t my club played on the Friday morning of Round 1.

Besides a 5 year stretch, Richmond have been crap and have always outdrawn Melbourne.
Melbourne v Gold Coast
Crowd: 24,506

Richmond v Gold Coast
Crowd: 18,423

Melbourne v GWS
Crowd: 23,278

Richmond v GWS (2024)
Crowd: 19,040

There is nothing sadder than seeing a Melbourne crowd in a home game vs an interstate side. It reminds me of a Sheffield Shield game from the 90's.

Half of them leaving during the third quarter didn't help either.

Saints v Freo
Crowd: 19,265

Saints v Suns
Crowd: 17,992

Saints v Port
Crowd: 18,052

Etc

Did you have fun imagining this?
18,000 to welcome Dimma and Rioli back to melbourne, absolutely pathetic.

Did you have fun imagining this?
18,000 to welcome Dimma and Rioli back to melbourne, absolutely pathetic.

Dimma’s Suns played Richmond in Melbourne last year mate.

So 80,000+ members didn't need to show up then LMAO

That’s not what I said mate; just pointed out that your comment was inaccurate. If you don’t know what you’re talking about, don’t make sh*t up. Simple as that mate

Besides a 5 year stretch, Richmond have been crap and have always outdrawn Melbourne.

1987-1993 and 2005 Melbourne outdrew Richmond in regular season home games. 94-04 very marginal difference. Only with Melb starting to play home games interstate aswell as falling into an onfield death spiral in 2006, and Gale's hype machine starting to galvanise Tiges supporters from 2009 onwards, does Richmond start to markedly pull away in crowd numbers.

No need to talk shisen.

If you don’t know what you’re talking about,
You might want to consider these numbees yourself.

Prime time slot against a rival, and you couldn't even draw 20k after an incredible start to the year.

But apparently "Richmond supporters don't travel to marvel" is a valid excuse?

These are shameful numbers.

Hopefully some of these flakey Tigers supporters show up this week!

The furphy that Melbourne has poor crowds