The future composition of the AFL

These threads are usually pretty bad, but this one is really bad.
Yep, Got no idea why he thinks Port Adelaide deserve to be in ahead of North. North were one of the most progressive clubs that lead the way for changes in many decades. They lead the way with games in other states in late 70's, tried going on share market, tried Friday night football when other clubs were scared to. Pushed for Good Friday evening football for decades before it happened. Even tried merging when it made more sense in 90's when they and a few others clubs were struggling big time. They might be a smaller club in terms of support like Port Power but they have actually done more ground work in league history than Port that only been in it two and a bit decades and at one time were close to going out of business if they properly paid Mark Williams out. Was not long ago the tarps were out. Short memory has the OP.

I have no idea what will happen in the future as far as how many teams will be in the AFL but I do know that over the next few decades player greed will cause significant issues for certain clubs and that will decide their future.
Like every other big sport the players are going to want more and more money and it will simply get to a point that what TV and sponsors bring into the game won’t be even close to being able to sustain the players payments requirement. The salary cap will just keep going up and up and it’s just natural evolution that will eventually have the big clubs with the money to say we are no longer going to prop up the weak, you can either pay for yourself or you have to go.
Its as certain as death and taxes that money will become the biggest issue in our sport as the decades roll on, there is no escaping from it and I am certain that there will not be some existing clubs playing in the AFL in the next 25-50 years.
Its all good and well for us the spectators to love our clubs and be loyal but the players won’t be and they will just keep demanding more and more.
Money moves the needle more than anything in the world, the AFL is not exempt from that, the worlds biggest golf tour is right now under threat from a world golf tour where the players will get more, where do you reckon the players will play?
I am not suggesting that a breakaway comp will happen but I am saying be prepared that money will drive all changes going forward and if you think the players in the future are going to care what colour jumper they put on to play then you are kidding yourself. It will be their pay cheque’s that will be all they are worried about.

I've worked it out and believe this is the most ideal amount of teams going forward.

There are too many struggling clubs and too many players on AFL lists that don't belong at the level. For the good of the game we need to shrink to amount of teams to suit the amount of actual elite talent.

The proposed changes are as follows:

Gold Coast - fold/move to Tassie
Greater Western Sydney - fold/move to Tassie
Hawthorn - merge
Melbourne - fold
North Melbourne - merge
St Kilda - merge
Western Bulldogs - merge

14 teams would ensure that this is truly an elite competition and the amount of teams per state balances pretty fairly when you consider a combination of factors such as supporter bases, financial self-sufficiency of the remaining clubs and talent produced:

The remaining clubs would be:

Brisbane Lions
Port Adelaide
Tasmania
Merged Vic club 1
Merged Vic club 2

Not to be 'that' guy but...

Revenue - $76,199,406
Net Assets - $56,512,346
Profit - $5,114,857 (it's 24th in succession)

Port Adelaide
Revenue - $59,00,643
Net Assets - $7,211,142
Profit - ($987,321 loss)

Hawthorn FC could buy Port Adelaide FC as an entity 8 times over and still have change to spare

In terms of financial health (like West Coast, Collingwood and now Richmond) Hawthorn could field a second AFL team if it could be bothered...

Revenue - $76,199,406
Net Assets - $56,512,346

Port Adelaide
Revenue - $59,00,643
Net Assets - $7,211,142
Profit - ($987,321 loss)

Hawthorn FC could buy Port Adelaide FC as an entity 8 times over and still have change to spare

In terms of financial health (like West Coast, Collingwood and now Richmond) Hawthorn could field a second AFL team if it could be bothered...

so the OP picked a year his team ran a loss to get vocal

Noice

I've worked it out and believe this is the most ideal amount of teams going forward.

There are too many struggling clubs and too many players on AFL lists that don't belong at the level. For the good of the game we need to shrink to amount of teams to suit the amount of actual elite talent.

The proposed changes are as follows:

Gold Coast - fold/move to Tassie
Greater Western Sydney - fold/move to Tassie
Hawthorn - merge
Melbourne - fold
North Melbourne - merge
St Kilda - merge
Western Bulldogs - merge

14 teams would ensure that this is truly an elite competition and the amount of teams per state balances pretty fairly when you consider a combination of factors such as supporter bases, financial self-sufficiency of the remaining clubs and talent produced:

The remaining clubs would be:

Brisbane Lions
Port Adelaide
Tasmania
Merged Vic club 1
Merged Vic club 2
TBH with population growth long term I think there will be 20-22 teams, so more games per week to incorporate some Sunday and Monday night football, with each team playing each other once and a slightly longer finals series as they will have 8 teams + 2-4 wildcards playing off.

Thats the direction I think the league will go down. It will be largely influenced by the NFL model.

It would also not suprise me at all to see a NZ based team either, as is the case with the NBL, A-league and NRL.

Was actually a serious question.

I wonder if Freo instantly become a financial powerhouse or continue to be a battler

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Are Freo financial battlers?

Unfortunately its about the only area where the club continues to have some success (any club would in WA with two teams). Well behind the Eagles but even at the end of the Lyon era with memberships and ticket sales on the decline they were still easily top half, and most years they've done better again (especially if considering who has and doesn't have pokies).

Any talk of mergers is a waste of time but there woud be a lot of clubs the AFL would sacrifice before they let WA go back to a one-club state and whether its 5 years or 50 years a third WA club is coming eventually.

How hasn't this been closed yet lol.

I reported it but the report got rejected lol.

Chief knows where the clicks come from and it ain't actual quality content, its tiresome threads like this.

TBH with population growth long term I think there will be 20-22 teams, so more games per week to incorporate some Sunday and Monday night football, with each team playing each other once and a slightly longer finals series as they will have 8 teams + 2-4 wildcards playing off.
To be honest the AFL could run a similar final set up to the one you proposed right now with eighteen teams.
I think finishing top four needs more gloss than it has at the moment, top four get the finals bye with the
rest to keep going. Population growth does not equal interest in AFL football growth the soccer has gone
through massive changes with ethnic linked teams being replaced by neutral teams.

Next broadcast deal will be smaller than the current one, that will cause some angst. If the overall finances come under pressure, so will the smaller less wealthy clubs that rely on the biggest AFL handouts.

On a serious note, I'm happy for the Crows to fold, their saturation media coverage here makes me puke! That would open up a spot for Tassie.

Next broadcast deal will be smaller than the current one, that will cause some angst. If the overall finances come under pressure, so will the smaller less wealthy clubs that rely on the biggest AFL handouts.

On a serious note, I'm happy for the Crows to fold, their saturation media coverage here makes me puke! That would open up a spot for Tassie.

It will be the players that feel it, not clubs.

I have no idea what will happen in the future as far as how many teams will be in the AFL but I do know that over the next few decades player greed will cause significant issues for certain clubs and that will decide their future.
Like every other big sport the players are going to want more and more money and it will simply get to a point that what TV and sponsors bring into the game won’t be even close to being able to sustain the players payments requirement. The salary cap will just keep going up and up and it’s just natural evolution that will eventually have the big clubs with the money to say we are no longer going to prop up the weak, you can either pay for yourself or you have to go.
Its as certain as death and taxes that money will become the biggest issue in our sport as the decades roll on, there is no escaping from it and I am certain that there will not be some existing clubs playing in the AFL in the next 25-50 years.
Its all good and well for us the spectators to love our clubs and be loyal but the players won’t be and they will just keep demanding more and more.
Money moves the needle more than anything in the world, the AFL is not exempt from that, the worlds biggest golf tour is right now under threat from a world golf tour where the players will get more, where do you reckon the players will play?
I am not suggesting that a breakaway comp will happen but I am saying be prepared that money will drive all changes going forward and if you think the players in the future are going to care what colour jumper they put on to play then you are kidding yourself. It will be their pay cheque’s that will be all they are worried about.
The AFL players have actually locked themselves in to a rather small percentage of revenue at 28% compared to some sporting leagues around the world and certainly compared with what big name entertainers are making from tours.

They certainly aren't a drain on the game right now. The worst you can say about them is they are complicit in the AFL's plan to commercialise everything but they aren't taking an unfair cut.

If revenue starts to drop and they demand their pay to keep rising then they're will be an issue, but I think fans are going to support clubs over striking players and there's almost no way for players to go out and start a breakaway league unless it's in overwhelming numbers.

The AFL players have actually locked themselves in to a rather small percentage of revenue at 28% compared to some sporting leagues around the world and certainly compared with what big name entertainers are making from tours.

They certainly aren't a drain on the game right now. The worst you can say about them is they are complicit in the AFL's plan to commercialise everything but they aren't taking an unfair cut.

If revenue starts to drop and they demand their pay to keep rising then they're will be an issue, but I think fans are going to support clubs over striking players and there's almost no way for players to go out and start a breakaway league unless it's in overwhelming numbers.

I didn’t say they were a drain on the game now, this is a futures thread and I don’t believe there is any possibility at all that the 18 existing clubs will be in the league in 50 years.
Its just my view and I hope I am wrong but money is going to eventually become an issue I feel.

I would prefer to see the Giants re-locate to Canberra. Maybe play 7 home games in Canberra and 4 in Blacktown.
That southern NSW region that produced the likes of Carey and Hawkins etc is still a strong AFL region.

Suggesting the Hawks merge is ludicrous

I think a 17 team comp could work given there a forced bye anyhow.

I would prefer to see the Giants re-locate to Canberra. Maybe play 7 home games in Canberra and 4 in Blacktown.
That southern NSW region that produced the likes of Carey and Hawkins etc is still a strong AFL region.

Suggesting the Hawks merge is ludicrous

I think a 17 team comp could work given there a forced bye anyhow.

Nah Swans can make the move, not like they haven’t done it before.

Revenue - $76,199,406
Net Assets - $56,512,346

Port Adelaide
Revenue - $59,00,643
Net Assets - $7,211,142
Profit - ($987,321 loss)

Pokies